We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Super!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belnord Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
Ranked #304 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    477
    325
    95
    108
See reviews for
128
574
143
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

the room-hotel was a little small and noisy due to the proximity to' the lift.
very clean but unfriendly staff at the reception.
the hotel and 'very well connected with the main stops of metro.linea red, blue and orange

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank giovanni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very convenient location for the subway downtown. Shops locally and close to Central Park, easy walk to theMet.
Staff friendly and helpful. Bed comfortable. Heating system good.
Our room had only one bedside table which was very inconvenient - our onlly criticism.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JohnVH107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had to stop in New York for two unplanned nights and did not have many options as many hotels were booked. I booked this less than a week in advance.

The rooms are tiiiiiiinyyyyyyy, literally no space to move. We had to move the bed right up to the wall so we could find space for our luggage and space to move around. The rooms are not fancy either, but very clean. The walls are thin and we could hear people moving outside. After New York we went to San Francisco, Los Angeles and Las Vegas and this room was by far the poorest yet the most expensive. New York rates are catastrophic. Don't spend much on the room and enjoy the day out in this wonderful city.

The receptionist is extremely rude and unfriendly.

The location was very convenient though. It was a couple of mins away from the subway station and just a couple of streets away from Central Park. It was lovely to wake up in the morning and take a walk in Central Park then hop onto the subway to go sightseeing or go straight to the airport. It was a short ride away from Times Square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I always read Tripadvisor reviews before I book a hotel so I was warned that the rooms were small, but I hadn't quite pictured lilliputian. The bed is the smallest Queen I have seen with room for only one bedside table. The 'wardrobe' area is a small rack sticking out of the wall under the TV and the bathroom was a shower (OK), and a toilet overlapped by a basin making sitting a challenging experience. I'd like to say it was all worth it because it was clean - but the sheets weren't that clean - I expect crisp white sheets; these were old and yellowed. And the view? Haha...we were so close to the building next door I could have passed our neighbours a cup of morning tea (if it was available in the hotel which it wasn't), and the proximity meant we couldn't tell if it was sunny, dull, raining.
On the plus side...the WiFi is free (although codes changed daily); the location is pretty good - lots of good restaurants within walking distance.
Not worth the 'cheap' price. Save up and get a decent hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 221. It was crap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opheliabuttocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

In short, a condensed experience! Bathroom was brand new, clean and well lighted -- just tiny. The room and hallways were relatively quiet, though spaces are narrow -- I can imagine someone who is claustrophobic might not enjoy their stay. Staff were friendly and efficient, and safe neighborhood, with nearest subway one block south on Broadway, offering convenient transportation and shopping.

Room Tip: Upper floor I stayed on (6th floor) was quiet in terms of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room, if you want to call it that. My closet is larger. There were no bureau's. Could not fit one in the rm. The quilt was really worn. I have thrown out better. It was a very challenging experience. You did not even have rm to roll a suitcase. The tub was a foot bath size. The price was way to expensive for a night. I have stayed in the city at other hotels that were considered economical and received a lot more for your money. Not at the Belnord. The only thing on the positive side was that the mini stamp rm was clean.

Room Tip: Avoid going to the Belnord Hotel! I am not an expert in travel, but this experience was the worst on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank candyminusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#260 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#297 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#375 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#388 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Property: Belnord Hotel
Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024-2844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing