We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD LOCATION AND CHEAPER THAN OTHER HOTEL IN NY!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belnord Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Belnord Hotel
Ranked #300 of 467 Hotels in New York City
español en ca
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION AND CHEAPER THAN OTHER HOTEL IN NY!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

It´s a very small hotel, located from a walking distance of the Central Park and the Museum of Natural History, and it also has a subway station close, that in 15 minutes takes you to Times Square and the main attractions of Manhattan. Around the hotel you can find a Starbucks, a walgreens, that is very useful. It is located in a nice neighborhood, and around the hotel there are some nice restaurants and bars with latin and dominican republic food. It has free wifi, and has two computers that charges US$5.00 per 10 minutes in Internet. The rooms are very small, but clean. The only thing I didn´t like is that we need to take a taxi to the airport, they don´t get yellow cabs, and the cost is US$60.00 and tip (optional). It is like a line of taxis for executives, but when we got to the airport, the driver asked us for US$65.00 and a obligatory amount of tip....So, if you need to go to Manhattan, looking for a room to sleep, this is it...because it´s cheaper than the hotels in Manhattan..The people in the front desk are not very nice, though...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tusita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    503
    330
    99
    108
See reviews for
137
597
150
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Great location just off Broadway with an underground station one block away. Functional place but really tiny rooms, with even tinier bathrooms and a closet good for a couple of shirts. Expect no views of amenities, but it suffices as a place to sleep.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

spent one night last week at this hotel with my gf.

the room is tiny and basically just has space for the bed which was comfortable.

bathroom is tiny and there is no room for 2 people at the same time.

view was a brickwall of the hous next door.

however this is nyc and the room is clean and had no complaints. tv has enough channels and i liked that there was a wood floor instead of a dirty carpet.

location is great whit it being just one block away from a subway station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I really think that one should ignore the reviews dating back to 2005 that showed some prices ridiculously low in today's context, and also those of 2009 or 2010 when the Upper West side was plagued by bedbugs in hotels from the highest to the lowest. We stayed there in August/September of 2012, for 8 nights and paid an average of $216 per night including taxes (booked through Expedia). This was a Belnord different to many previous reviews. In fact, most of it looked as if had recently been refurbished. It did have an elevator. It had wooden floors. It had an adequate reception area. The room we were given was small, but not too small, apparently one of the largest they have: not enough space to hang clothes or put them in a wardrobe, so we had to live out of our suitcases. Partitions were made of some sort of plywood so that every word spoken outside was well audible inside. But it had a 26 inch TV set (HD, as all are now in the US) with the Time-Warner set of channels. These do not carry a single foreign language (Spanish can no longer be considered a FOREIGN language in New York, like in many other US locations), so that some of the other guests we spoke to were disappointed. It also was so superclean that we had to abandon all thoughts of how to avoid bedbugs, thoughtfully provided to us by Yahoo Travel. All bedclothes and utilities were changed every day, which led to an experience unheard of in the more than a hundred hotels that I have visited over the years: I put my undercover billfold (flat and plastic) in the pillowcase, as I am used to in my travels. But I forgot it there… In the evening I was sure that I had lost the several hundred dollars of spending money that I had put there. But the next morning the reception clerk to whom appealed called the head of the maids, and when my wife produced its exact twin the lady handed my billfold over. All the money was there, although it had gone to the laundry and made its way back from there washed. Needless to say – we were overjoyed. As for the rest – the Upper West Side is a pleasant and safe part of the city and has many attractive shops. Bus lines and the Underground are a stone's throw away from the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rate was far lower that that of other hotels in New York, especially since we could not book far in advance. Places to eat are nearby – three in the same bloc. And the other guests, who spoke a Babel of languages, were all quiet-spoken and courteous, meaning there was no noise to complain about at all. Definitely value for money. Three cheers for the Belnord! AmosH Jerusalem

Room Tip: Try not to be too close to an elevator, as it features a very noisy bell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmoshJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is very clean with no moquette, but parquet on floor. Restrums are clean and towels are changed every day. It is near Caffe' Lalo a good place to have the breakfast avoiding starbucks and having the possibility to choose between many cakes and a perfect italian capuccino. To reach the hotel you have to use the 1 metro red line stopping at 86. It is near the central park. If I have to write a drawback it is the room dimension. I first had the number 104 (ground floor) with the promise of a change because too small for two, but we waited two days to change the room. The second one was better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dilanste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here recently for 5 nights, it was my first trip to NYC and we were just looking for an affordable base from which to see the city. The hotel is very clean, with good air conditioning but rooms are so tiny, the shower was hot and cold, and front desk staff (bar one guy, who was pleasant) are SO unfriendly. I've never stayed in a hotel where I didnt receive a warm welcome, I also used to work in hotels so I know how important these first impressions are! We used the hotel as a base for our sightseeing, and it served its purpose as that. The room was so small, but we didn't spend much time in it so we were not too bothered by it. The location is good with plenty restaurants/cafes nearby and central park, and natural history museum within walking distance, and a subway station literally round the corner. We didn't have a bad experience, but it could have been better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78Saz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Arriving at a hotel, even a budget hotel, l expect a few things...pleasant staff and a nice pest-free room. Didn't get that here. Instead, I got rude staff and a GOD AWEFUL small room with cockroaches!!! Horrible experience that I hope no one else will ever have to go through!

Helpful?
3 Thank swatson1979
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#302 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#385 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#428 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Property: Belnord Hotel
Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024-2844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing