We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a Single Person”
Review of Belnord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
Ranked #303 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The room would be just right if you are traveling alone and you get a room with twin beds. Otherwise there is nowhere to put your stuff. The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood and it is clean. Shopping, dining and sight-seeing are convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cc1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
There are newer reviews for Belnord Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2011

The hotel has a good location, but the rooms are the smallest I have ever seen, its even smaller than a ship cabin.

Service is poor, with rude reception employees, but the hotel is clean and its 1 block away from a subway station.

So, if you want a cheap hotel in Manhattan, and won't care about the hotel maybe this could be an option.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Spent 5 nights here,yes the rooms are small, but they are clean, got excellent aircon/heating,bath/shower,tv etc. The location is ideal.10 minute walk to central park and for John Lennon fans the Dakota building.we took cabs everywhere so didn try the subway which is close-by.a cab to times sq is around $10 plus tip n that applies to empire state,Rockerfella building,ground zero etc.the staff wer friendly and there is computers to use downstairs and a telephone.apart from the small room i could not fault this hotel at all..... Which didn't matter anyway as there is so much to do and see we only went back there to sleep!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrooney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I really like this place. I have stayed at the Belnord twice. Just a block from the Subway #1 train on Broadway. Upper West Side, lovely brownstone street, tree lined, and CLEAN beautifully kept Victoria charm, with a modern cleanup. The rooms are spotless and smell clean. New lamenant flooring, New shower stalls and windows. Nice bedding a doored closet and television. I must warn you, this is the smallest room I have ever had, the bathroom small as well, but with a window. My room faced a courtyard and was So Quiet is was like I was living in the country. Trees out the window and birds singing how about that for NYC. Amsterdam Ave. on the end of the street, with the BEST DELI called "Barney Greengrass", I have since got to be familiar and a regular customer there while in NYC. I buy all the waiters socks in addition to their tips, ( they are on their feet all day) and they remember me. I love the neighbourhood. The hotel has a grand entrance all in white and gold and makes you feel very special. The dark wood and timeless antiques in the lobby are not haunting dingy and dusty, Everything shines. The elevator is smooth. There is a desk with lots of tour information and phamplets and great city maps. An attendant on duty 24-7. They are very secure and monitered. And helpful. I requested extra towels, and they were delivered right away, white, fluffy , new, and warm just out of a dryer, imagine that as well! I must say the Spanish maids were VERY noisey in the early mornings in the hallways. Yelling to each other while cleaning the rooms. I complained about that and they switched the attendant to Spanish men who were very professional and gracious. ( I think those guys understood what I meant :) I do tend to need a bigger space in the room, so I have moved on from the Belnord, but I was pleasantly surprised, and felt that I was staying in someones historical home, that they preserved and cared for in an updated and professional way. It again did not have the feeling of a flashback to a museum of dust and darkness, you can tell right away, this had been upgrading to the current times. I admired that. No food or beverage amedities, that is all in the surrounding neighbourhood streets. Trendy shops, eateries, Central Park within walking distance and Times Square 10 minutes on the subway. Very safe, a little gem.

Room Tip: the courtyard rooms are very quiet
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Rooms are the smallest we've ever been in, but not that big of a deal since little time spent there. The place was super clean and the employees were very friendly, security cameras throughout the building. Good location. Close to Natural History Museum and Central Park. Recommend if you don't have much to spend on a swanky hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsltr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Belnord for 3 nights. Whilst the rooms are not huge,you get a bed and about a metre squared of floor space, but there is a cupboard to put luggage in, they are clean and the bed is comfortable. The bathroom was small, and the bath could not be used by an adult but the shower had lots of hot water at all times of the day. It was cleaned everyday with fresh towels put in.
The free wi-fi works well, although I don't know why the code was changed every day.
The location is only a few minutes from the subway and there is a 24 hour pharmacy/newsagent/supermarket thing at the end of the road. The walk to central park only took ten minutes.

I would recommend the Belnord and I'm sure we will stay there again when we go back to NY.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel has had a really good restoration. Room price is great for New York. But, if you are claustrophobic it's not for you. The halls are very narrow and the room is very small. There was one full bed and nightstand with room at the bottom for the bed for your luggage. Bath was small but brand new with tile and fake marble. If you are just there to sleep and clean up it's a good choice. p.s. there's a great late night deli around the corner on Broadway.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genemean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#318 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 468 in New York City
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#393 of 468 in New York City
1,617 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#186 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#431 of 468 in New York City
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024-2844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $84 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing