We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but not exceptional”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #95 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Adequate but not exceptional”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We booked the Benjamin after carefully considering our options. We don't much care for the giants (like Marquis Marriott, Sheraton) and don't want to spend the kind of money for the luxuries (Sherry Netherland, Waldorf Astoria) and the other contenders, such as the Algonquin, seemed to have less to offer, so there we were. I sent an email and received a phone call from Gina, one of the concierge staff, who was friendly, delightful and informative. I called ahead and requested a king bed, and the request was acknowledged in such a way that it seemed to be a done deal.
So we travel from JFK to the hotel after our long flight from California and arrive at about 5 pm to a less than warm check in experience with no information or welcome provided, and the response to my reminder that we had requested a room with a king bed was met with "the hotel is full tonight" and it seemed my request had not been noted. A toddler was screaming her head off in the lobby during these proceedings. We made a retreat for the elevator and got ready to race out for dinner and an 8 o'clock show.
That evening I remembered the vaunted "12 choice pillow menu". No such menu or offer of pillow selection ever appeared on our radar. No daily newspaper of our choice was delivered or offered. There were papers available in the lobby, however. We saw newspapers laid in front of doors to other rooms...wondering if we were overlooked for some reason. Oversight?
Uniformly excellent service was delivered every day by the doormen and housekeeping staff. Front desk, not so much. We decided not to bother renewing our request for a king room. We were too busy and too much on the go to contemplate a change of rooms. Our floor creaked but that was the only complaint about the actual room. The size and space were adequate, the bath was fine, and the little kitchenette a real benefit. We just had to push those $7 bottles of water and $24 half bottles of wine out of the way to make room for the orange juice and full size bottles of wine we acquired in shops near the hotel.
We used the adequately equipped gym twice. It is small and stuffy, with no sign of ac--New York was about 78 each day of our visit--and the Bosu was half-deflated. I looked around for an attendant who might have a pump; no dice. The hotel was busy and the two elevators were a little tiresome, although we took the 11 flights of stairs to the gym.
In thinking about the Benjamin I was reminded of the small hotels we stayed in last year in Paris and London, where the dollar is at a disadvantage and space is at a premium. You expect smaller rooms and some creaking and other facets of an older building.
When we walked to the corner nearby to grab a bite from a Metro Cafe, the entrance to the Doubletree was thronged day and night with tour groups wearing nametags around their necks waiting to board their buses. Whew! Now that would have been a mistake. I'm not sure about the Doubletree, but the Benjamin is smoke-free. You need every break you can get from smoke in NYC because people smoke like crazy on the sidewalks and in every doorway throughout the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJHSViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    700
    245
    89
    52
See reviews for
699
812
161
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I had heard a lot about the The Benjamin but i was not very pleased. I had a one bedroom suite which was a good size but the room had very limited natural light and dreary upholstery. I found the service extremely strange!! The doorman/.bell boy was shady and a grouch and outright rude! The housekeeping was not satisfactory either! The best thing about this place is the location if uou want to be close to fifth avenue to shop other than that I am sure you can find tons of hotels like this if you look well enough.

Ohj also i saw a HUGE cockroach in the corridor of my floor!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSHighlight1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Dear PSJ1234,

My name is Andrew Labetti, General Manager of the Benjamin. I want to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay us. It is very unnerving to me to hear about your interaction with our staff, and want you to know that I am addressing this with my Director of Front Office immediately. This type of behavior is not the level of service we pride ourselves upon here at the Benjamin, and is totally unacceptable. I am also working with my Director of Housekeeping regarding the insect in the corridor.

To further research the issues and concerns you experienced during your visit I would like the opportunity to speak with you. Please feel free to contact me at ALabetti@thebenjamin.com at your convenience. I would like to have the opportunity to renew your faith in the Benjamin.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I am a seasoned business traveler, this is a very poorly managed hotel and not recomeneded. I bookes a two room suite and checked in at 7pm. At 9 pm a note was placed under the door that the water in the hotel would be shut off from 9am to 3 pm on the next day Monday. I should have been informed on check in since I came from a different time zone and would be getting up late NY time. How do you shower and shave for a meeting with no water. The night manager was combative and did not offer to comp the room nor did I receive a return call from the general manager but after demanding the night fee was waved.Additional notes: AC did not work in one room, shower head was hanging loose , took 30 minutes to get ice when ordered, q tips were dirty with make up from prior clients. Elevator maintainance in mid morning rush, only two elevators for 27 floor hotel, one shut down at 9 am for routine maintainance. Bad show!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Dear Brad201,

My name is Andrew Labetti, General Manager at the Benjamin. I want to apologize that your stay was so upsetting. I am sorry that the the water shut down was not communicated to you upon check in, we did place notes in all of the rooms on top of that and I am looking into why yours wasn't found. I realize this was an inconvenience; however it is required by law to have our elevators inspected and our water tank cleaned yearly and there simply is no convenient time to do this. Unfortunately the elevator inspector came at the same time. Regarding the unprofessional behavior of our night manager, I am addressing the experience with the Front Office Director, and using this situation as a coaching tool to ensure this does not happen in the future. In regards to the room functionality and cleanliness I want to assure you that I am personally working with my Housekeeping and Engineering team to resolve these issues immediately. I appreciate all of your feedback, and I request that if you read my response, that you reach out to me directly so I may make amends. I never want any of our guests feeling less than fulfilled after a stay at The Benjamin.

I completely understand your frustration and hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for free for one night cuz the hotel i originally booked was full, and got sent over to this hotel..
pro:
1.nice lobby
2.ok service
con:
1.rooms are kinda aged
2.no vending machine in the hotel at all, if u are thirsty during the midnight, u either have to drink their 7 dollars per bottle water, or u have to drink the tap water..im really picky with the water, so i had to go to the nearest 24 hours store, which is not close at all during the night, to get some water
3.not really good location for first time visitors

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I live in the city so I didn't really need to travel for this. Just looked for a nice hotel in the city for Valentines day with my GF. The hotel has a New York feel and is somewhat boutique-y. Out room was clean and quaint and overall pretty nice but it was a little bit small. I typically only stay at 4+ star hotels and this place fits the bill. One nice thing about the Benjamin in the city is that they have a pillow/sleep menu. We were able to have lavendar turn-down service and also pick from an assortment of pillows and other sleep accesories (i.e. slippers, eye covers). I don't think you will be shocked either way. Pretty standard 4-star hotel in NYC. The location - Midtown East, isn't the best area of the city but everything is fairly close so you can take a quick train ride to any place in the city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyp626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This was our second stay at the Benjamin. Warm and attentive staff, from the doormen to the housekeepers. The manager understands his guests and provides the added attention that makes guests feel special. Great bed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val_from_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Dear Val from Mtl,

My name is Andrew Labetti, the General Manager of the Benjamin. I am so happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. I am certainly going to share your glowing comments with my team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I slept on the bed settee in the main room and it was very comfortable.
So quiet for a city centre hotel.
The kitchen with microwave and Fridge freezer was a boon but the breakfast place two doors along was excellent value too.
Staff are so helpful and explain how to get to places very clearly.
Our day marching in the Tartan Day processin was the icing on the cake.
My friend was also handy to get to the theatre, by subway, in Grammercy where she was performing her one woman show.
If I'm ever lucky enough to go again I'd use the Benjamin.
JFK is easy to access from nearby on line 6 - $2.25 followed by an easy walk to the airtrain $5. Took less than 1 hour.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babmacGlasgowUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#42 of 466 in New York City
1,700 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#57 of 466 in New York City
1,398 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 466 in New York City
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 466 in New York City
1,397 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 466 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 466 in New York City
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing