We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Benjamin is very good overall”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #98 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 7, 2005

I stayed at the Benjamin for five nights with my wife and two children (ages 3 1/2 and 21 months). Overall, I found it to be a terrific hotel. We had a 1 BR suite, with kithenette. The rooms were reasonably sized - not huge, but big enough. We were arriving late one eveing, and so asked the hotel to make the pull-out bed and also set up a crib. Everything was taken care of by the time we arrived, allowing for a smooth transfer of sleepy kids from car to hotel room.

The rooms were clean, nicely furnished, and all in working order. I thought the bed was quite comfortable.

The staff is very professional and very nice. When we called the front desk for a weather report, she said she would check online and call back. Within 60 seconds I had received a call back. Similarly, we called the concierge one morning before he had arrived on duty. The hotel operator promised she would call us as soon as she got in. Five minutes later, she was on the phone. I just think the place is well run.

We had breakfast in the room most mornings, and I have to say the food was expensive but pretty darned good. Our kids loved the unbelievably good pancakes. We also had dinner one night, also good.

They have a small but reasonably equipped gym, and a very nice spa for those interested in massages, etc.

All in all, a very good hotel. I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Granite_Stater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,514 of 2,772 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
426
Reviewed August 6, 2005

Visitors to NYC hotels often must choose between lowering their standards or rasing the limit on their credit cards. The Benjamin is an excellent compromise. It isn't the Four Seasons or St. Regis, but for only a little more than a standard room in a Manhattan chain hotel like Hilton, Hyatt or Marriott, the Benjamin provides a room that is appointed at least as nicely, and is much larger. We stayed in 1BR suite with a spacious living room, kitchenette, and a bedroom as large as most hotel rooms. The bathroom is small, and has very little place to put your things, but it was clean, functional, and finished with nice white marble. Ask for a room on a high floor and/or facing east; the Lexington Ave. side of the building can be noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2005

My husband and I spent three nights at The Benjamin July 15-July 18, enjoying their B.C. package ("Before Children"). It included full breakfast (TOP notch!) and cost $259 per night, although for $30 more we upgraded to a one-bedroom suite.

The accommodations were spacious, attractive and comfortable and the staff was helpful and cheerful. We enjoyed the pillow menu (I liked the 5-ft. body pillow!) and the Aveda products.

As some have mentioned before, street noise could be an issue for those who are sensitive to it (we enjoyed the view, and the street noise didn't bother us). I would have liked free internet access (it cost $10 per day.)

Our only confusion during the stay was that the desk staff did not explain the details of our package when we checked in. We called to ask, and the staff member who handled the call was cheerful but not knowledgeable. Because of this, when we checked out, they put our breakfast charges on our bill (they were supposed to give us vouchers but didn't). What impressed us, and what will keep us coming back, is that it took only one call to have them removed completely. The service at The Benjamin is EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Nerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

July 2005. My partner and I just returned from 7 nights at the wonderful Benjamin Hotel. After a search on Expedia, Orbitz and the Affinia web site, we reserved a 1-bedroom suite for $279 a night, by calling the Affinia 800 number.
We requested a quiet room on a high floor (there are 20+ floors) and were very pleased to check in to room 1209, a corner room at the back of the hotel. Our very quiet bedroom had two windows, one facing east and the other facing north – lots of light and the most comfortable king size bed, pillows and linens ever!
The living room was a little crowded with the oversized furniture with an east facing window, but comfortable. The kitchen with its microwave, wet bar-sized sink & refrigerator with ice maker was perfect – after we called the front desk and requested that all the mini-bar set ups and snacks were removed. The refrigerator was totally overwhelmed by the overpriced water, sodas & spirits.
Our only gripe was with the bathroom. The shower/bath combo was narrow and crowded with metal shelves and shaving mirror – not to mention the shower curtain that seemed to always be touching some part of your body during the shower. The lighting could also be improved upon, shaving was a challenge.
Since we flew into JFK, we took the Airtrain to the Jamaica Station for $5.00 then the E subway line to 53rd and Lexington for $2.00. Our travel time from the gate to the hotel was just 1 hour.
Be forewarned, the hotel taxes were a whopping $44.82 daily, adding $313.74 to our hotel bill.
We loved the Benjamin and will definitely stay there whenever we visit NYC!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
41  Thank ymoart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

We recently spent a long weekend at The Benjamin. I have to agree with all the previous positive posts. The location is good, the room was great, the bed comfortable, the staff friendly without exception. The only problem was that our refrigerator did not work properly and they were not able to fix it during our stay. We plan to stay at The Benjamin again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank east12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

Perfect location; lightning-fast check-in and check-out.
Room just average; very comfortable bed; desk with fax machine/printer; nice bathroom; tiny kitchenette.
Cord for high-speed internet, but prices and rates for the use nowhere to be found.
Thermostat broken in the room; AC blasting on high throughout the night; 60 degrees in the room (windows cannot be opened; could not turn off the AC beccause it would get too hot).
Old tube TV with crappy quality.
Regular check-in at 3pm; arrived at 1pm and had no problem cheking in.
Did not complain or had any interaction with the staff except for arrival/departure; therefore cannot comment on how problems are handled.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank thedyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2005

I have stayed at more than a few NY hotels for wkend trips and the Benjamin has been the best for the price by far. Great Midtown location (if that's what you want); impeccable service; clean, modern room; easy check in/check out; and did I mention great service? To get a decent room these days, it's going to cost between 200-300 per night - at least that's what I have found. Decent to me is: clean, fairly quiet, up to date facility, quick, efficient service, no non sense. I got a last minute rate for $249 and it was worth every penny. Do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank evn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#24 of 470 in New York City
1,957 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#63 of 470 in New York City
1,545 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#174 of 470 in New York City
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#104 of 470 in New York City
1,250 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#78 of 470 in New York City
3,605 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 470 in New York City
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $234 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing