We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort with a price”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #96 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfort with a price”
Reviewed April 30, 2005

My daughter and I stayed at The Benjamin from April 15-21 in a one bedroom suite on the fourth floor. The accomodations were very spacious for NYC, very clean and well appointed especially for business travelers with fax, large desk for working, internet access and good lighting. The closets are big with lots of storage space. The kitchen is great for snacks/breakfast. The bathrooms are all white and updated. There are lots of windows that open for fresh air and natural light. The gym was adequate. The staff is excellent and the lobby has the soothing fragrance of a spa.
The drawbacks were noise from the street even with the windows closed.
The living room was in need of renovation. The walls were too muted in color, and the furniture was very heavy and dark which made the room depressing and unwelcoming, but I would stay again. The noisy street views are preferrable to no views in some hotels or those awful views of another room or the air conditioning equipment. Considering the rates of NYC hotels, I think it was a good value and a great midtown location.

Helpful?
9 Thank lagunatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    705
    248
    89
    52
See reviews for
705
817
161
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2005

We have just come back from 5 nights in NY (the first but definitely NOT the last time).
We stayed in a one bedroomed suite at the Benjamin and loved it. I chose it primarily due to the reviews on 'tripadvisor' and we were not disappointed. The suite was large and had everything we could possibly need during our stay. We had been forewarned of the possible noise (sirens and people tooting their horns) so using earplugs we slept like babies, so much so we did not need to make use of the pillow menu where we could have tried the likes of Swedish Memory or Jelly Neckroll - maybe next time.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful from the doormen, to the maid, to the conceirge, nothing seemed too much trouble.
We drank in the Fin bar in the hotel at the end of each exhausting day before getting ready for dinner and it was a warm, friendly place to hang out for a while.
We used the diner 3 doors down for breakfast each day but there are plenty of other places nearby to choose from.
We had not planned an itinerary but managed to see/do everything we wanted to, including the usual touristy things like ESB (buy the additional audio tour, well worth it), Circle line ferry, Times Square, Central Park etc, etc. We got around using the subway, cabs and our legs and felt safe everywhere we went. We also did what everyone else seemed to be doing and that is shopping! My partner hates shopping at the best of times and Sunday afternoon in Century 21 was probably his worst moment :-), after that we shopped during the week and it was busy but bearable.
The only slightly negative thing I can say about the whole trip is that we used the Supershuttle bus service to get us from JFK to the hotel & back again and it took hours!! When we come back we will definitely choose another way and we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank suzy1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2005

As it is not clearly explained in its Internet presentation, we had not understood we were going to a hotel designed for business. 50% of the bedroom was eaten-up by a kitchen and a business corner that we did not need, but gave us the opportunity to admire a sink, a microwave and a fax machine as we moved around the room... The rest of the space was stuffed with massive and rather ugly furniture and had a dull beige general color scheme. On the whole, a depressing room!

We were disappointed with the style, but the worst was the noise within the room... Every evening, we had to unplug he kitchen's fridge and shut the airconditioning system down in order to be able to sleep! Such noisy systems should be replaced.

The general good level of appreciation of this hotel, which is the primary reason why we chose it, remains a mystery for us. After two days we checked out and moved to the Millenium and loved it!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank PierreParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2005

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Benjamin and just wanted to comment on what a lovely hotel this is. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was spacious and comfortable and the hotel staff were both friendly and very efficient. Make use of the concierge - she was very knowledgable and the restaurant reservations she made for us were at great places. Did not use the gym or spa so cannot comment on that but from what we did experience we would certainly stay there again and will be recommending it to friends who may visit New York.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2005

Just spent a weekend at the Benjamin with my mother and sister. We had adjacent rooms and were pleased with the size and comfort of the rooms, although a bit surprised to find the hotel has NO rooms with two beds in them. Aside from that, the in-room amenities were comfortable and provided more than everything we needed. The decor is very pleasant and the location was perfect for our shopping/sightseeing plans. The one misadventure occurred when we arrived at 2 PM - one room was still occupied, and the cleaning staff must have set a time record for turning the room over, because it was available an hour later. Unfortunately, even though the floor was designated as non-smoking, the previous occupant had clearly enjoyed smoking cigars in the room, because the room, all of its furnishings and even the hall outside absolutely reeked. Of course, by the time we discovered this, there weren't any adjacent rooms left in the hotel, which was fully booked. Housekeeping came back and sprayed, aired the room and set up a HEPA filter in the room. It eventually did the trick, and we accepted that no hotel can control the behavior of its guests. Meanwhile, we had gone to the spa for facials, which were most enjoyable. The fitness center adjoins the day spa, and packs as much equipment into a smallish space as is humanly possible. There are a handful of cardio machines and more weight machines. It seemed to be little used on the weekend, which was fine for me as I didn't have to wait to use any of the equipment. The concierge and other staff were invariably polite and cheerful, and we were overall pleased with the stay and would probably choose to stay at the Benjamin again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bambibina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2005

We spent 2 nights at the Benjamin. Centrally located, very nice and clean room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2005

Having decided on a long weekend break, for four nights, in late March for my wife, daughter and myself, I made on online reservation directly with the hotel - based on the recommendations on this site.

At check-in we were advised that the previous occupants of our suite had decided to extend their stay and we would be booked into a slightly lower category one bedroom suite. I have experienced this before and it appears to be some form of local (or maybe state-wide or even national) ruling where the incumbent has the right to occupancy over those who have made a later reservation - very frustrating. The receptionist was apologetic and offered us a discounted room rate, which is essentially all they can do.

The room was very clean, pleasantly decorated, well furnished and a comfortable size for three people. My daughter slept on a sofa bed - turned down each night by housekeeping - which she advised to be quite comfortable. The bedroom was again well furnished and comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious, well provisioned and very clean. The room also included a small kitchenette equipped with microwave oven and fridge, although rather lacking in cutlery and crockery.

The staff were extremely helpful, attentive and very courteous at all times.

The central location of the hotel makes it ideal for travelling around the city. It is close to a number of subway stations and car hire (Alamo/National) is available across the street - we hired a mid size car for the day at a rate of $81.00. We used a small diner three doors away for breakfast most mornings which was reasonably priced and there are two Starbucks virtually on the doorstep.

Negatives, and there are very few, would be noise (we were on the fourth floor), over-priced food and drink available in the room and or course the rather unfair booking arrangements.

I would certainly stay here again.

Helpful?
8 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#57 of 467 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
1,740 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#154 of 467 in New York City
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
1,410 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
1,270 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 467 in New York City
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing