We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous NYC getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fabulous NYC getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at the Benjamin for a long weekend between Christmas and New Years with our teenage daughters. We loved everything about it. Great location. Had a suite with a pull out couch for our daughters. Rooms were impeccable, well stocked and the service was amazing. Accidently left a silver ring in the bathroom on the morning we checked out and realized it once we were already on the train home. I called the hotel and they located it and mailed it back to me immediately. Had dinner at the National restaurant one night. Food was very good and the ambiance superb! Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redsoupgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear redsoupgirl,

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed such a wonderful experience at The Benjamin. Your recommendation is the best gift we can receive and I am so glad you will be keeping us as your destination of choice in NYC. The National Bar & Dining Rooms features the culinary inspirations of Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian in a European style café setting. I am so happy you got your silver ring back! Our staff is here to make sure your stay goes perfectly and when something unexpected happens we are here to help in every way we can.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,490
    670
    232
    84
    48
See reviews for
654
771
157
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I spent a week at this hotel. Everyone was fabulous. I had an awesome corner room. A special thanks to Paula (I'm sure I've spelled her name wrong, so sorry!) in housekeeping who went out of her way to be caring and friendly and gracious. She was like the star on top of an already beautiful Christmas tree!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear CaliMan2,

Your splendid review gives our team a great reason to celebrate and I appreciate the time you took to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor! I am thankful that your weeklong stay was filled with so many fond memories. Our team is passionate about customer service and I am thrilled that you mentioned Paola, from Housekeeping, in your review by name. By doing so, you have generously acknowledged her and all her colleagues' efforts in a very rewarding way. Our 209 newly redesigned rooms are generously sized and we feature many spacious one bedroom suites that offer a corner room configuration.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

All the staff are exceptional from the door man to the porters.
I requested a DVD player and it was set up immediately, I asked for a number of things and they were all done on time.
I came in for my sisters birthday and the staff at the front desk treated her special and wished her a Happy Birthday which set the tone for a wonderful day for her.
This hotel found the hidden formula on customer service saught by most companies.I can also recommend eating at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs. Sandra A. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mrs. Sandra A. M,

I am elated that you were able to generously share your stay experience on Tripdavisor. A positive review is your best gift back to us. Our team appreciates your kind recognition of their efforts to make your sister's special occasion so memorable. Our team has a wonderful ability to make your priorities our own and deliver service that genuinely reflects how much we care about attention to details. The National Bar and Dining Rooms features the culinary inspirations of Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian and I am delighted you had a chance to enjoy a meal there during your stay.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

A very nice Hotel with good service and staff. The room was excellent with a very good bed. A little kitchen with microwave and refrigirator. The Hotel is situated at the corner of Lexington Avenue and 50 St. In walking distance to many stores, good restaurants and 5th Avenue.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Johnny_Soleng,

You've made our day with your terrific comments! Our location is incredibly convenient on 50th Street and Lexington Avenue in the heart of Midtown. We are within walking distance of premiere shopping, world famous sights like Rockefeller Plaza and the United Nations. All 209 of our newly redesigned rooms by Rottet Studio feature a kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and tableware. Our staff will delight you with their with genuine and attentive service.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

A big thanks to the team of the. Benjamin for making my recent 4 night stay a real treat. I normally struggle to sleep when in NYC and having stayed at a string of other 5 stars hotels in recent years, this was a great find.

We spent a kings ransom on our Vi Spring bed at home, it was great to find a bed and bedding to meet my needs. I enjoyed it so much I have just booked a return trip, this time with the family in July this year.

I Must also say thanks to barman, Michael, who guided me through the unfamiliar craft beers in the fab bar, eventually finding a cracker from California and the friendly giant of a doorman (sorry forgotten his name) who sorted out a bargain ride back to JFK for me.

One very small criticism. I did try to book the return trip whilst I was staying but was told by the reception team that I had to call their contact centre!! Not ideal,as I wanted to secure specific rooms due to traveling with the children.

That aside, this is a great hotel in a very central location. Enjoy if you are fortunate to visit.

Room Tip: 1205 and 1206 if you have children as they have a single entrance option. A great find if you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mike D,

Thank you for your glowing remarks! I am delighted that you enjoyed our Rest and Renew Program so much and everything that makes it so rejuvenating like our supremely comfortable beds. We want to be your destination of choice and so I am elated that you have already booked a future stay in July to return with your family. I appreciate your compliments of Michael at The National and our Bell/Door crew. You can expect our team to consistently provide genuine and attentive service. I can appreciate your desire for a specific room configuration for your upcoming stay so please contact me directly prior to your arrival so I can personally assist you, 212.715.2500 or jegol@thebenjamin.com.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiscardo, Greece
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to like this hotel as I prefer boutiques. For starters my bathroom toilet on arrival was full of hair which was disgusting. But the room was lovely.

But my complaint is that there was a huge snow storm and my flight was cancelled. I asked in the evening if I could extend and they said they would check and call me. They did not. The next morning they said I could extend at double the rate. It felt like gouging. I protested and the woman at the desk said her hands were tied. She had not one ounce of empathy.

I checked out and sent an email to the manager. He contacted me later that day and offered to extend the room at my earlier rate and asked me to give them another chance. I appreciate that he tried to rectify the situation but it was too late to undo how I felt. When major storms hit rather than gouging it is a time to extend a hand to a guest already checked in.

I walked across to the Waldorf with no reservation and got a lovely room at a fraction of the cost.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank esemmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear esemmes,

Thank you for sharing a review on Tripadvisor. Our customer feedback is very important to us and we place great value on listening to our guests. I would very much like to speak with you in greater detail about your comments. The disappointing remarks you described are highly irregular and do not reflect the high standards of care we promise to deliver. I know you have already spoken with our Director of Front Office. I appreciate your time to speak with me further. My phone number is 212.715.2500 and my email address is jegol@thenenjamin.com.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had read a lot about The Benjamin and walked past it when I was in New York in December 2013 on my way to Canada and decided that I would stay there on my way back. I was expected a lot I guess because of some of the reviews but overall found it a bit average. So, some of the pros - on arrival the doorman was very welcoming and helpful as were the reception staff and they offered me an upgrade which was nice. I had a larger room which was very tastefully appointed - nice furnishings, bathroom and little kitchenette. The air conditioning was so loud, that I either had to turn it off completely or sleep with earplugs. The lobby is so small and is the main place where you can get free wifi but is not really conducive to sitting and relaxing. The location is great - a number of blocks from Times Square (15 mins walk) and lots of cafes and restaurants in a nice part of the city. While the restaurant connected to the hotel looked quite lively, I found as a person travelling by myself that the service was not that good and it was quite expensive. The staff do go to lengths to improve service and contacted me after I wrote review of the restaurant. If I was to go back to New York I would probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Heather M,

Thank you so much for sharing about your visit on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you had an overall positive experience with us. I appreciate your radiant remarks about our friendly and accommodating service. Our team is focused on providing genuine and attentive service to each and every guest. I enjoyed reading that our team was able to situate you in one of our spacious and newly redesigned rooms that all feature a kitchenette complete with microwave and tableware. I will absolutely resolve your feedback about the in room heating as it does not reflect our high standards of comfort. I invite you to return if your travel plans bring you back to NYC.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing