We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay over Christmas was fabulous”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #98 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a one bedroom Junior suite which was very comfortable for us traveling with teens. The sitting room was spacious and the 2nd tv kept everyone happy. The kitchenette let us have snacks, and drinks for after our forays into the city. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful Cora at the front desk is awesome. The beds are very comfortable, the pillow menu is always fun. The elevators get crowded but they were fine. The location is perfect for Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave Times Square all an easy walk, the subway is across the street as well as a National Rental Car. We had a great time, the housekeeping was efficient the decorations in the lobby were beautiful. We have stayed many times before and this was another great stay at the Benjamin. The National restaurant & bar was good, the bar was perfect for a drink. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,709)
There are newer reviews for The Benjamin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,710 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed in numerous hotels in NYC and the Benjamin was the nicest place and the staff was the friendliest I have ever seen. Especially the concierge, Sarah Pesek went out of her way to make our stay so special. Thanks Sarah, your'e the BEST!!!

Frank C

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuc977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very nice, clean and convenient hotel in the heart of midtown. Nice suite size room with galley kitchen, which is unheard of in NYC! The bed was very comfortable and the city noise wasn't an issue at night. The elevators are slow though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pinkflamingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location on the east side at Lexington was great for us.

The hotel is an older property but seems to be in good shape.

Check in was quick and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable. It was smaller than some but very comfortable. We were on the "back" which was quiet. The restaurant on site was very good.

The room had a little kitchenette which was a nice amenity. It included a sink, a fridge with space for not only the hotels bar items but for the guests drinks too, and a microwave along with a little china, etc.

Room Tip: There are two sides to the hotel - the back which is quiet and the front (2 sides) which look on the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VG109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for one night in January 2013. I would rate this hotel about average.

The Cons:
The hotel lobby was small and the room itself was dated (ie flatscreen TV about nine cm wide, toilet came from my middle school years, etc).
They charge $14 a day for wifi, which is almost unbelievable since Starbucks offers this for free.

The Pros:
The staff was polite and helpful.
The condition and shampoo were a nice touch and the balcony was a sweet surprise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trangphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at this perfectly located boutique hotel. Cora, the guest service agent made the trip even more special, helping us with every detail of our stay. The rooms do need a bit of an upgrade - I used to stay here a lot on business in 2003-2004 and it is clear not much has been done since then. The beds are very comfortable and the pillow menu is heavenly. The rooms are large by NY standards and the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate you.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room not facing the street.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahJofreBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend, toy poodle, and I booked this hotel last minute for New Years Eve. The fee for a pet was only $25-which they didn't even charge us for. The checkin process was quick but wasn't done with a smile. The gentleman at the front desk was very uninterested, but that didn't bother me as much as it would have bothered some. Overall the Benjamin was a nice hotel. We rented a studio with a kitchenette. The size was nice for a NYC hotel (approx 350 sqr feet). The room appeared clean however I was disappointed to find that when my toy poodle came from under the bed he had a choclate ball in his mouth. I immediately threw it away and he came back with another one. I searched the room and found an open package of choclate balls under the bed. If my dog would have eaten the whole pack- I would have been FURIOUS. I didn't have time to complain b/c I had a tight tight schedule and was already late for an appointment. I'm unsure if my boyfriend said something to the front desk as we were in and out of the room and didn't run into each other until late night. The products in the bathroom were standard. Shower pressure good. We were on the 4th floor and didn't hear any outside noice. I would probably stay here again b/c of the convenience and price-but I expect not to find anymore choclate laying around unless its a Godiva gift from Management.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#32 of 468 in New York City
1,828 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#59 of 468 in New York City
1,485 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#165 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 468 in New York City
1,428 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 468 in New York City
1,289 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 468 in New York City
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $268 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing