We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service is Number One at The Benjamin!”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #100 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great hotel! our room was not ready when we arrived at 6 p.m. so we received breakfast for each day of our stay, 4 cocktails and late checkout. The doormen were very friendly and the front desk staff professional. The only think that I did not like was the lady who knocked on the door every day to check the mini bar which we did not used. Nevertheless, she still charged us $8.00 for a bottle of juice which we never consumed. The good people at the front desk removed the charge with apologies.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbiemindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Barbiemindy,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of The Benjamin on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations with friendly and professional service. We are always looking for feedback to evaluate ourselves and I will be sure to review your comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back when your plans bring you to NYC again.

Safe Travels,
Jeff Egol
Director of Housekeeping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,747 - 1,753 of 2,803 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was a funny stay. The room I received was of good size, including both a separate living room and sleeping quarters. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was quite small, and seemed to be squeezed in without much regard to layout or function. The living room had a kitchenette at one end, a handy point for those who sought to save time and/or money on brought-in food. The location of the property is quite good, within quick striking distance of several subway lines.

The HVAC system, however, was an annoyance. Although several speeds were indicated on the room-controlled thermostat, it was, by purpose or mechanical error, always set to high. And high, to my ears, at times sounded like being strapped down to a runway at JFK; it was loud, ceaseless and aggravating. I solved the problem, somewhat, the first night by putting every available spare cushion over the noisy output source. I asked that it be checked during the second day while I was out – no change. So, you might want to think about this little item if you’re lucky enough, like I, to be in New York during 90 degree temps.

The other strange thing was probably a matter of timing. Being there in August, I somehow managed to dovetail with enormous numbers of families in the city for full-bore sightseeing. There seem to be only two elevators serving this property, and almost every time I opened the door to step in or out, I was greeted by large numbers of happy faces and chatterers going on and on about sights in the city. I found it odd given the hotel’s supposed emphasis on the business trade. But all in all, it was acceptable for the right price – nothing special..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValuingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear ValuingTraveler,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post about your recent stay at The Benjamin. We appreciate you mentioning many of the value added amenities found in our suites, such as the spacious rooms, comfortable bed and functional kitchenettes. I will be reviewing your feedback on your bathroom and temperature controls as we are always looking for ways to improve a guest's experience. I would greatly appreciate the chance to speak with you directly about your stay and hope that you will contact me. Everyone at The Benjamin hopes that when your travels bring you back to New York City, we get the opportunity to host you again.

Safe Travels,
Jeff Egol
Director of Housekeeping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had a junior suite which had great space vs the normally cramped rooms you routinely see in NYC. Retaurant was good, service was all round good, only small complaint was mini-bar was not refilled after 2 nights but that was a minor inconvenience. Great experience, would recommend this hotel as above the standard you might see in a Westin or Sheraton.

Room Tip: Free wi-fi from lobby works in lower elevation rooms (4th floor an below) I found
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear northstand,

We appreciate your fantastic review of The Benjamin! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on our spacious accommodations and the food at The National Bar & Dining Rooms by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to New York City.

Safe Travels,
Jeff Egol
Director of Housekeeping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Been wanting to do this review since June when we had our 4th girls reunion at your lovely hotel. Once again, you exceeded all expectations. Thank you to the general manager for welcoming us and giving us vouchers for free drinks while we waited for our suite to be ready for us. We four girls, come from all over , different cities to meet up once a year, here. This time we were amazed upon entering the bar/lounge restaurant area to see what you have done to make the hotel even more wonderful. We sat at the lounge area and waited for all our girls to arrive and ordered the most fabulous ginger /vodka drink in a frosty mug. What a way to settle in. Then after reuniting with a nice buzz we went up to our usual requested suite with our amazing terrace, only to see it looking better then ever! We love it so much and appreciate all that your wonderful Andrew Labetti did for us. From the reservation request to the confirmation to the fruit platter to welcome us, to actually finally meeting him in person, we say THANK YOU for another outstanding night with you. We woke up the next morning, went down the street to the greatest bagel place, picked up our breakfast and went right back to our private terrace and sat out there on the perfectly sunny NYC day and ate. Then we jumped in a cab and went down to the Highline in Chelsea, walked off some calories, then went to Chinatown and back to Benjie to check out. We would never stay anywhere else and I look forward to sending my clients to you for a fantastic NYC weekend. Thank you to your friendly, smiling staff. You were all the greatest.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lutece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear lutece,

WOW! Thank you for this tremendous post about your recent visit. We remembered what a special occasion this is for you and your friends each year and we are always looking for more memorable ways to enhance our guest's experiences! We are so thrilled you enjoyed one of our signature cocktails, NTL. Mule, featuring Russian Standard Vodka and Stirring's Ginger, from The National Bar & Dining Rooms by acclaimed chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Helping our guests make the most out of their visit to New York City is our paramount goal and it all starts with a commitment to service from our staff. We look forward to hosting all of your clients, friends and you at The Benjamin soon.

Safe Travels,
Jeff Egol
Director of Housekeeping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for the weekend. From Check in to check out our experience was fantastic. We were upgraded to a lovely room upon check-in. Our first room smelled of cigarette smoke. We called down and within minutes bellman arriced with keys for new room.

The restaurant at hotel, "The National" had great food and we had our room included breakfast. Have the eggs benedict with pork belly!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeGaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear LeGaffer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay with the TripAdvisor community. We loved hearing about how much you loved your weekend getaway at The Benjamin with your wife! It sounds like you took advantage of one of our great package offers available on our hotel website and enjoyed the savory eggs benedict breakfast at The National. My favorite is the Buttermilk Pancakes with blueberry compote, candied hazelnut and honey butter! We look forward to hosting you and your wife again soon.

Safe Travels,
Jeff Egol
Director of Housekeeping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

First trip to NYC with our two dogs. Superb hotel with excellent service. From the front desk to the doorman the service was top notch. Despite finding difficult to locate a patch of grass or dirt for the dogs nearby, this hotel ranks as one of the best in NYC in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xstf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here 3 weeks ago with my mother in a double room. The rooms were big, beds super comfortable, staff fabulous. Location great, near 2 subway stations, close to 5th avenue. It was wonderful to retreat here after a huge day in NYC. Would not hesitate in staying here again or recommending to friends. The kitchenette was great as we could have our own breakfast in the room if we wanted too. We never had to wait more than a minute or two for the lifts. Lovely ambience and the restaurant downstairs has fantastic food.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street which we loved on the 12th floor. The higher up the less traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RebeccaK150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#18 of 471 in New York City
2,019 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#65 of 471 in New York City
1,574 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 471 in New York City
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#178 of 471 in New York City
1,452 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 471 in New York City
1,371 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 471 in New York City
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $212 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms featuring kitchenettes and Signature Benjamin Beds. Originally designed as a residential-style hotel with wind-swept terraces to entertain, the Neo-Romanesque style edifice, a New York City Landmark, exudes the ambiance of a private club. The Benjamin was fully redesigned by Interior Designer Lauren Rottet and restyled in partnership with Benjamin Sleep Expert, Dr. Rebbeca Robbins, to bolster the residential appeal and create an ambiance of relaxed sophistication. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club during their stay. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room per night and provides you with $10 daily credit toward The National, Wireless Internet, 24/7 access to our Fitness Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing