We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but had expected much more”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #95 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK but had expected much more”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had reserved (and fully paid at the reservation, and even quite much, around 400 euros/night/room) via ebookers a deluxe room with king size for our summer trip in June as early as in December it was a gift to my husband who had his 50 years anniversary in February and we wanted celebrate simultaneously our 25th year anniversary of our marriage (early August) during our summer vacation. I had also sent two e-maila in advance to the e-mail address alabetti@benjamin.com (available on the hotel internet site) to make sure that we get a nice room but did not ever receive any response. I was not worried - I just thought that they are perhaps so busy...

After our 8.5-hour flight and 1-hour taxi drive we arrived at the hotel around 5.30 p. At the reception they did not find our reservation. I had a copy of the reservation with the confirmation number and they had to call a couple of times somewhere to check that everything is fine with our reservation. The lady said she won't throw us away though she cannot find our hotel, we just had to wait for a while.

Not a good start...though the lady herself was kind.

After talking to somebody on the phone, she then proposed us a room with twin beds but I told the lady we prefer a king size bed (as paid, too!) . Finally we got a room on the 10th floor with a king-size bed with a small kitchenette (room 1004). Perhaps it was a deluxe room, perhaps not, do not know (as we only got one small minibar invoice when we checked out). The lady also gave us both one breakfast voucher in the hotel restaurant The National (well-known and popular).

The room was quite small but clean (always important for us that the hotel is clean!), kitchenette was very useful. Bathroom ok. No noise from other rooms but from the street the noise was quite loud (ambulances, fire trucks, police cars - it seemed that they were always driving on the 50th St. or on Lexington Avenue, no matter whether it was a day or a night). AC was loud, too.


The pillows were hard but the hotel had different possibilities and I needed to change mine to a softer one and then the nights were better.

In the evening after walking miles and shopping until we dropped... we would have wanted just to relax and see some music channels or good movies (Canal+ or similar) and discuss together but they were not available. It was ok to see US news or sports in different channels a couple of times a day but not all the time. Luckily we could see a couple of European channels too, but we had to find the channels ourselves, no directory in the room.

The ceilings in the room floors were flat but luckily the room itself did not has such a low ceiling.
The hotel had a gym, a basic one but we were happy to use that though it was quite hot there (evenings were better to sport).

We used breakfast vouchers on the first morning - it included one entree, one main something (e.g. eggs, omelette..) and coffee/tee as well as water. Ok but not worth the money if we were supposed to pay it ourselves (expensive compared to the food we got). But the restaurant itself was very nice and comfortable and the personnel very professional and kind. In the evenings the restaurant was full of people.

The doormen were also very kind all the time.

The location is good, you can easily go downtown, you can easily walk to Time Square, to Central Park, anywhere you want to go. We also visited Woodbury Premiere Outlet on one day and were delighted that Hamilton Luxury Buses (if I remember the bus company name correctly, any how it has an advertisement at least in the NY City Guide June/July 2012) and used the bus (AC, water, papers, snacks available, leaving on Lexington Avenue between 46 and 47. Time to shop for 7 hours and back to Lex Avenue. Drive time depends on the rush, in the morning it took around 1 hours, in the evening 1 hour 45 minutes. For us it was ok as we had shopped quite a lot so it was ok to sit in the bus - easier with lots of bags than to use a train etc).

We have been travelling a lot, once before in New York too. This time this hotel was a little disappointment so I rate this 3.5 (not 4 starts). As the review does not have a possibility to give half point, I use rather 3 than 4 in the Benjamin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    689
    242
    87
    52
See reviews for
685
792
158
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were in NYC to celebrate our 1st anniversary. We chose to stay at the Benjamin so that we could bring our golden with us. (She's never been to NYC!) When we arrived (pretty late) we were told that our originally booked room was not available. So we were downgraded, but that they were determined to "make it right" with us and that they did. We were given vouchers for breakfast at The National in the hotel, which was delicious! Then offered complementary drinks later in the evening. Now these offerings were great, but what really made me write this review was that our dog was having a hard time adjusting to the new surroundings so we were thinking about cancelling our anniversary dinner. When I called down to tell the concierge she insisted that we go and that she and some of the staff would take turns checking on our pup! They knew the way to our hearts! We had an amazing dinner and Casa Lever, right around the corner and ultimately an amazing trip thanks to Sara, Christine and Dana! Thanks again all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KER62511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of New York - about 10 minutes walk to 5th Avenue. Great restaurant on the ground floor as well. Staff superb

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were in NYC last week to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary, and stayed at the Benjamin hotel for the second time. Just like the first time we were there, the hotel was "just right"- not too big and not too small! The employees are friendly and the midtown location is very convenient within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, theatre, and subway. The rooms are clean; the beds are very comfortable; and we appreciate the convenience of the kitchenette.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBW1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I really like this hotel. Smaller than the higher end Waldorf Astoria across the street, The Benjamin is a reasonably priced, boutique hotel that benefits from the great restaurants and tourist attractions in the area. The room was clean and very comfortable, although the street noice and air conditioner were a little on the loud side. As a business person I don't like being charged for Internet access.

Room Tip: Get on a higher floor to escape the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel, wel positioned, the elevators are a bit slow. Fitness ok, few recumbents, running machines etc

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Jacques B,

Thanks for your review and positive comments about your stay at The Benjamin. I hope when your travels bring you back to New York, you will choose to saty with us again. Sorry about the elevators, I will look into it to see if there were any issues.

Best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel was in a good location, within walking distance of Times Square. We were on the 3rd floor and could hear the road noise (mostly the beeping which we weren't used too). Earplugs fixed this, but maybe the rooms higher are quieter. The only thing that I wished was included was the Internet. ( $13.95/day). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear paulacf,

Thanks for your review. Sorry about the noise you experienced on the third floor. Please reach out to me directly when you return, and I’ll be sure to block you on a higher floor. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
1,643 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#63 of 468 in New York City
1,351 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#146 of 468 in New York City
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,374 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#99 of 468 in New York City
865 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing