We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good boutique hotel, value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel, value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel, wel positioned, the elevators are a bit slow. Fitness ok, few recumbents, running machines etc

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Jacques B,

Thanks for your review and positive comments about your stay at The Benjamin. I hope when your travels bring you back to New York, you will choose to saty with us again. Sorry about the elevators, I will look into it to see if there were any issues.

Best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,490
    670
    232
    84
    48
See reviews for
654
771
157
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quispamsis, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel was in a good location, within walking distance of Times Square. We were on the 3rd floor and could hear the road noise (mostly the beeping which we weren't used too). Earplugs fixed this, but maybe the rooms higher are quieter. The only thing that I wished was included was the Internet. ( $13.95/day). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear paulacf,

Thanks for your review. Sorry about the noise you experienced on the third floor. Please reach out to me directly when you return, and I’ll be sure to block you on a higher floor. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is wonderful. THe rooms are great and staff is exceptional! Very friendly and helpful! We loved here and walked to most everything

Room Tip: Upgrade to the one bedroom suite... you will NOT be dissappointed! Very spacious with a large balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Renie B,

Thanks for the great review of your stay at The Benjamin. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have stayed in a lot of hotels in Midtown East and this was by far the best experience. I would definitely return. The front desk staff and bellmen are friendly, professional, and courteous, everyone makes an effort and seems really on the ball. The lobby is very pretty and welcoming. We stayed on the 18th floor, the room was clean and comfortable, decent size, and relatively quiet for NYC. It was a treat to have a small balcony where we could step outside and enjoy the view. The TV was a modern flat screen and worked well. I liked the mini-bar and mini fridge. The hotel is in a terrific location, one block from the subway station and Starbucks. The front door guys really went the extra distance to get us a cab. We loved The National restaurant (part of the hotel) for breakfast and a late lunch. Some caveats: The bed was a bit too soft. The air conditioning was loud and the vent was right next to the bed, which made it hard to sleep with cold air blasting in my face, but at least it worked. There was a dog barking in the room next door for a bit while its owners were out. But overall, I would highly recommend this hotel as it is well run and in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suncat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Suncat5,

Thanks so much for the great post. I am happy to see you got a chance to enjoy The National by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian as well during your visit. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

From the moment you enter the lobby you are greeted by gracious staff from the doorman to the front desk, especially, Cora. When checking in, Cora had read that we were celebrating a special anniversary and even though we had booked a beautiful suite she mentioned that she wanted to see she could find us a very special suite. The suite was, indeed,unbelieveable. The balcony surrounded our entire suite which wraped around 50th and Lexington Avenue. We had amazing views that could not be overlooked. It made you want to stay out on this balcony the entire time.
We also enjoyed that they supplied a I pod doc as well so you could listen to your own favorite music while enjoying the suite/balcony. When we returned to our suite after dinner we were surpised to see they sent up and delicious bottle and dessert with card to help us celebrate.
Dinner at their resturant The National was beyond delicious and the presentation was perfect. I had ordered a branzino that had wonderful flavor/taste. I also order ceasar salad which usually is boring but NO, not ths one, the dressing had such wonderful kick to it and I actually ate all of it. They served a nice arrangement of different breads with a sweet butter. Dessert was the top, Mocha Praline sundae- oh- my- god- so good!!!! We had breakfast here the next day and they again surprised us with a nice and not boring choices for breakfast. Service 10 again! We will return here even if we aren't staying the night!!!
Our suite was great, extra large, which we are accustomed to and clean. The bed was so comfortable and the pillow menu was wonderful! So between the bed and pillows we slept so well...... We ended staying up enjoying our views on the patio while enjoying that special bottle they had sent up to us into the early morning hour. We wanted to see if the suite was available for the next night but it had already been booked. We were sad to leave but know that well be back here very soon for the quick getaway!!! Thank you all at The Benjamin and especially to you "Cora". You help make a very special night more special!!!! We wil be back to stay with you as your are in our top 10 hotels!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myblkvette99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear myblkvette99,

Thanks for the great review of your stay at The Benjamin and The National. I was so pleased that my staff and our property made such a positive impression on you. I appreciate the amount of detail you went into as well so other trip advisor readers can get a great sense of what we are about.
I hope when you come back to New York City, you choose The Benjamin again.

Best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
373 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Came here for a 2 night weekend stay in June. The room was large and well appointed with a mini kitchen and smallish bathroom with a large size sitting room. The bed was very comfortable and there were ample towels. The room was not fancy but clean and a nice size. The staff is very helpful when needed and it is great to have a good restaurant attached. The location is great and is good value for the money as this is an expensive neighborhood.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank suzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear suzeyes,

Thanks for your positive review of The Benjamin. I am glad that the service my team provided made an impression as well as The National Bar and Dining Rooms. We are proud of our restaurant by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian and I am happy to report all of our guests feel the same way as you. I hope that when you make the trek across the Hudson again to stay in New York City, you choose The Benjamin again.

My best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, CT
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed at The Benjamin for two nights during Fleet Week over Memorial Day weekend. We stayed in a one bedroom king with balcony. The room was in good condition, the bathroom was small but adequate and the balcony was small but a nice respite to sit and enjoy a cocktail. The lifts (only two) were very slow at times but not a big deal. The staff was very attentive and polite. The location is excellent close to shopping, subway, food, etc. This is a very good hotel for the money and would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear stonecroft,
Thanks for posting your review and staying at The Benjamin Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and that my staff made such a positive impression on you. I hope that your travels bring you back to New York and The Benjamin in the near future.

My best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing