We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in NYC for work or fun”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #101 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a great hotel, the service is awesome, they make you feel welcomed. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Some have balconies. The bathroom amenities are great. The location is very convenient. There is a lounge on the second floor perfect for meetings or working inbetween meetings. Very close to everything, many nearby dining options both inexpensive & culinary excellence.

Room Tip: The diner next door has good food for breakfast, & lunch at a reasonable price. There is a Fede...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,879 - 1,885 of 2,803 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife and I decided at the last minute to spend the weekend in NYC. The Benjamin delivered a great stay! From the friendly doormen to the pillow concierge, we were very happy with the service provided to us. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival. Our room was spacious, clean, and VERY quiet. The location is stellar. It is located only 1 block from the 6 & E trains. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pschneid221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Got a great deal at the last minute on booking.com and was blown away by the caliber of hotel for what we paid. The rooms are large and well appointed. The location is great and the staff cater to your every request.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahbarah1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My second experience in NY for the holidays @ small boutique hotels in a superb location in Manhattan. First the Affinia 50 last year, and the Benjamin Hotel - just down the street - this year. The Benjamin was more than comfortable, good experience with room service, more than adequate suite and adjoining room, comfy beds and furniture - even a balcony! Walking distance from Times Square, train access, restaurants, grand central station, 30th floor rooftop bar right down the street @ the Kimberly Hotel with a great view of the Chrysler Building.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have stayed at this luxe little boutique hotel for years, and really enjoy the professional staff and clever, thoughtful room design. The beds are super comfortable and there are creative and fun touches like the pillow menu. Our last stay, however was problematic due to numerous housekeeping issues. The shower head, the bathtub drain, the iPod docking station....even the ice maker in the room, in disrepair. We had to call maintenance just to take a bath! The personable front desk staff can only be successful at their job when housekeeping is taking charge upstairs. All in all, the price was right and you're only blocks from the theater and great shopping. Worth a try for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed a whopping (for us) 10 nights, so got to know the hotel very well indeed.
Location is midtown, so close to many NYC favorites - Grand Central Station, MoMA, Top of the Rock etc.
Hotel lobby is unprepossessing to say the least. Hotel greeting was very warm (Christine), and our room was fine - comfortable and spacious-by-NY-standards lounge room and small-but-quite-ok bedroom. The bathroom was tiny - we alternated! Oh, I nearly forgot, we also had a generous kitchenette, with a large refridgerator; we could have, but didn't, prepared meals in our room.
There are only 2 elevators serving the entire hotel, which is nothing like adequate - we were on the 20th floor, so had a lot of waiting to do, both coming and going.
Internet is available at a price, though I noted some rates where it was free.
Catering was a letdown, mainly because of its unpredictability. The National, a street-fronting restaurant that is nominally part of the hotel, is the sole option for in-house dining. They also provide the room service. It is a weirdly inconsistent restaurant; some of the staff are as good as you will find in NYC or anywhere else for that matter (Robyn and Ronnie embody warmth and professionalsim), while others act like they just don't want to be there.
And they have odd rules, closing off certain areas at certain times for no apparent reason. That said, the place does a roaring trade, so they are clearly hitting the spot for a lot of punters.
The hotel's hidden treasure is the concierge desk, tucked away at the right hand end of the reception desk. We took a while to find them, but when we did, they - Gina and Anya take a huge bow - they were incredibly helpful (and funny, which we liked).
Almost next door to the hotel is a great convenience store - we stocked our refridgerator with snacks and beer, but shopped elsewhere for wine. And just down the hill is a diner which provides a good breakfast.
We enjoyed our time at the Benjamin probably more than this review indicates; the trouble is that the downsides - lack of elevators and patchy experience at the National for example - take the place down a tad.
So I'll close by saying again that the best of the Benjamin - people especially - is elite, joyful and warm - I hope that's what you get most of if you stay there.

Room Tip: Inner facing rooms (we had one) are quieter than those that face Lexington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFLonergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I am from Vancouver,BC,Canada. Stayed at hotel in 3 rooms with family.Hotel staff was excellent.Very informative.Helped with all our touring needs while staying in New york. We were able to check in our bags and car 4 hours before check in time. Location was perfect for our ringing in of the New Year.Hotel restaurant is very good.desk recommendations for dining was perfect.Directions to venues were printed out for our use. By hotel staff.I would stay at this hotel again on my next visit to the Big Apple.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbfcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#18 of 471 in New York City
2,019 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#67 of 471 in New York City
1,573 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 471 in New York City
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#178 of 471 in New York City
1,451 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 471 in New York City
1,371 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 471 in New York City
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $210 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms featuring kitchenettes and Signature Benjamin Beds. Originally designed as a residential-style hotel with wind-swept terraces to entertain, the Neo-Romanesque style edifice, a New York City Landmark, exudes the ambiance of a private club. The Benjamin was fully redesigned by Interior Designer Lauren Rottet and restyled in partnership with Benjamin Sleep Expert, Dr. Rebbeca Robbins, to bolster the residential appeal and create an ambiance of relaxed sophistication. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club during their stay. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room per night and provides you with $10 daily credit toward The National, Wireless Internet, 24/7 access to our Fitness Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing