We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Manhattan”
Review of Dylan Hotel NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dylan Hotel NYC
Ranked #371 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed only a night. Got there before check in time and they didn't have a room ready so I dropped my bags to return later. When I got back later that night, they had the room ready. It was comfortable. The bathroom was quite large for a room that size. The sink was very small, though; very uncomfortable even to wash hands. Didn't use any other services, so cannot comment on the amenities. Just a block from Grand Central.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrynight144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 937 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nothing spectacular and had no rooms with two beds. Vanity was broken and TV remote didn't work. But to there credit, they brought a new remote and waived the fee for a rollaway bed but nothing special about this hotel

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you want to stay in middle of Manhattan only a block away from Central Station, this is the hotel for you. The room is average in size with nothing really special to report. The full sized beds were fairly uncomfortable, especially considering the high price of the room.
The room temperature is controlled by a central air system so you have to live with whatever temperature the building is set on. The room was quiet which is a real plus in NYC.
The restaurant on the 1st floor, The Benjamin, is excellent but you will need reservations.

Room Tip: The higher up the room, the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDDSSS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Coming here on business on regular basis.
All rooms I had are big, clean with a minibar and a coffee machine.
A/C is cold in summer and hot in winter so sometime challenging but you can always open a window.
Staff is great and helpful. Resturant downstairs is expensive so for a light breakfast go to Starbucks up the block.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Islb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Location very closed to central Station is exellent. For new York a good value. Breakfast coold be better. Staff at the reception did e great job. room Service was different every day, sometimes it was o.k, next day they forgot to refill bar and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Dylan for five nights in early November. Overall, it was quite acceptable. Yes, it was very expensive, but not for the location. In another city, I would be distraught that we did not receive a much nicer room and experience for the amount we paid. However, Manhattan is expensive. When we go back, I would consider paying an additional $50 per night for a slightly nicer hotel; however, in this price range, this was fine.

Cleanliness. Our room was very clean. I tend to be obsessed by cleanliness so, if I say it was clean, it was clean.

Room Size. We had an Executive King room. Although no one would mistake it for big or oversized, it was a standard-sized hotel room. That is unusual for New York. If you want a place to hang out, this is not the room you want. However, if you are looking for a place to sleep and shower, the room is fine.

Bed Comfort. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bedding was adequate, clean and comfortable. The pillows, on the other hand, were somewhat hard.

Bathroom. The shower was spacious, clean and had a great showerhead. Plenty of hot water. The toilet is an off-brand and had flushing problems for part of our stay. The staff attempted to fix the problem promptly upon request. There was no counter on which to put a shaving kit or make-up bag. The bathroom is attractive.

HVAC. We were on the 14th floor facing the back of the building. The outside temperature was in the 50s during the day and low 40s at night. Our room was too hot, and the air conditioning shuts off in the winter. With the window wide-open day and night it was still a bit too warm.

Room Décor and Furnishings. Nothing interesting. Although the mattress and television are new, the rest of the furniture and carpeting are a bit old. There is a safe and small refrigerator.

Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi is free and, although it was not perfect, it worked as well as it does in most hotels.

Service. This is a no frills hotel. No doorman. No porter. However, the desk people and the cleaning people, in our limited experience, were pleasant and helpful. The desk clerk printed a document for me, and sent a signed document by email for me, without charge. They held our bags for four hours after checkout without charge.

Building Condition. Worn. The owners should do something to make the lobby more attractive.

Building Amenities. Not much. There is a computer but it did not work much of the time we were there. There is a workout room, but it is a waste of space.

Restaurant. We had one meal at the Benjamin Steak House. It was excellent. I have no idea about breakfast. Food is not included in standard hotel prices.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel and upper floors are quieter, but the elevator is slow and the the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night. The hotel decor tries to be modern. However, it so simple and colors are bland. The room had a king bed, and that is not easy to find. The bathroom was very nice. Yet, not enough room to put toiletries. The biggest complaint was the room temperate. It was way too warm. AC was not an option and we were both toasting. This heating situation will probably make me think twice about staying here. But overall it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nani1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#318 of 473 in New York City
1,902 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#300 of 473 in New York City
1,691 reviews
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#376 of 473 in New York City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#137 of 473 in New York City
1,684 reviews
Chelsea
Hotel Hayden
Hotel Hayden
#292 of 473 in New York City
240 reviews
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#343 of 473 in New York City
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel NYC

Address: 52 E 41st St, New York City, NY 10017-6211 (Formerly Eurostars Dylan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $141 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dylan Hotel NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan Hotel in Manhattan unites tradition and modernity exquisitely and with a contemporary elegance that captivates our guests. The building is very emblematic, first having been the residence of the Welsh writer, Dylan Thomas, and later the headquarters of the New York Pharmacists Club. The Dylan Hotel combines the classical lounges and guest rooms of the period with ambiances and areas in contemporary design. We are a non-stop hotel, because the Big Apple never stops. For this reason, the gym and the business centre are open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dylan Hotel NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel New York City
Dylan New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing