We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average in every way”
Review of Dylan Hotel NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dylan Hotel NYC
Ranked #379 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Below average in every way”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

What to say?
Paper thin walls (could hear my neighbor clear his throat)
Room badly in need of a refresh (scuffed walls, chipped furniture).
No working wifi for 2 days and no one at the front desk seemed to care.
Many better choices in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    317
    165
    98
    68
See reviews for
134
309
64
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent a night there after a day in the city. Being from NJ, I never usually stay overnight and just head home after a whole day, but it was nice to have a place to come back to, and relax after dinner and walking around. The rooms were slightly small, however, for NYC, pretty decent. I had request via email for a deep soak tub, and had no problems getting it. They front desk was helpful and courteous and I would definitely stay there again if I decide to crash in NY.

Room Tip: Just request what you want, and they will make it happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I love this very trendy modern hotel.We had a fantastic stay here.Starbucks is just right the corner and the library were few blocks away everything were close to this hotel.Wish I'm still up there in fabulous NYC!Couldn't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJKFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mataró
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is very near at Grand Central Station (just two minute walk) and Times Square, NY Public Library, Bryant Park....
Around the hotel there are few good restaurants or groceries but is very near for subway, trains or buses.
The staff is young but very helpful. If you go for breakfast buffet at benjamin's restaurant go early or you will see an empty buffet and they will charge you the same price without apologies.
The rooms are small but clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreuPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was the first time I visit NY and the location of the hotel was an important item for me.
We would stay 9 days and although it was just to have a place to sleep and keep our belonging some aspects and amenities would matter. So we accepteed travel agency suggestion and it did not disappointed.
In terms of location it is in Madison avenue and lets say we have one feet at 5th Av and the other in the wonderful Central Station, just to not talk of being so close to such a beautiful place like Bryant Park.
The hotel it's small, but cosy and kind of modern. The rooms have good bed size, a good bathroom, nice TV, coffee and tea machine, micro-wave, iron board. Very clean.
The only remark I would do its about A/C, its by season and you cannot control the temperature, which in our cases was solved by turn off the machine because it was really cold in the room if it was on.
The staff was great, they were very friendly, most of them are Spanish or from south America, which in case your English isn't the best and you speak Portuguese or Spanish you don't have to worry.
They have a nice restaurant which is always full.
They have also a Gym which I did not use as the walking miles were enough for me but it has several machines available.

There was no breakfast but Starbucks is 2 doors above and the amazing place called Essen it's just on the corner.

The street it's the 41 so basically we were on middle Manhattan which allow reach most places by walk, but subway it's real close also.

It was not cheap but in NY it's difficult to find anything cheap in that area so I would recommended it at any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafs_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in NYC but the Dylan was recommended by someone I knew. It's in a great location, and partly why I chose it, but could do with a lot of improvements. It took about 20mins to check in, as only one person on the desk who was also dealing with phone enquiries. While I was standing there, it was hard not to notice how untidy behind the desk was and in the area at the back of reception, so didn't really instill confidence.

The room was basic but clean but the whole hotel could do with a makeover - it's dark and shabby, and the lifts feel like they'll give up any minute!

One night is probably a short time to judge it, and it was adequate for my requirements but I don't believe value for money. They also put through two small charges on my credit card after I left, and clearly informing me there were no charges to settle (ie. these were unauthorised by me). I agreed to one (a small tax not paid on booking) but the other I am still arguing and getting little traction from them. If they are doing this to a lot of customers, how much are they making? And there has been little to no customer service in trying to resolve the issue.
Not a hotel I'll be recommending!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDub002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Dylan is at the top of my "short list" of small hotels in Manhattan.

The strongest points of this hotel are:

1. Great location less than two minute walk from Grand Central Station.

2. Superb staff! Both the hotel staff and restaurant staff went out of their way to be accommodating of several special requests that we had with respect to an impromptu five-hour business meeting.

3. The co-located restaurant, Benjamin's, offers outstanding food, reasonable prices, and flawless service. (The restaurant is very popular at lunch and dinner, so it pays to make a reservation.)

The hotel is located in the old Chemists Club building, and has preserved much of the original architectural charm while being nonetheless a very contemporary hotel. This means that the rooms, originally intended for short stays by Chemists Club members, tend to be small, but nonetheless comfortable.

There are no negatives to report.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel NYC

Property: Dylan Hotel NYC
Address: 52 E 41st St, New York City, NY 10017-6211 (Formerly Eurostars Dylan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dylan Hotel NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan Hotel in Manhattan unites tradition and modernity exquisitely and with a contemporary elegance that captivates our guests. The building is very emblematic, first having been the residence of the Welsh writer, Dylan Thomas, and later the headquarters of the New York Pharmacists Club. The Dylan Hotel combines the classical lounges and guest rooms of the period with ambiances and areas in contemporary design. We are a non-stop hotel, because the Big Apple never stops. For this reason, the gym and the business centre are open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dylan Hotel NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel New York City
Dylan New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing