We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“1st Trip to NYC--So Glad We Stayed at The Muse!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Muse Hotel New York
Ranked #47 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“1st Trip to NYC--So Glad We Stayed at The Muse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

My husband and I just returned from our first-ever visit to NYC. I did quite a bit of research before we left, including alot on where to STAY! We settled on Times Square for its mid-town location, and then went from there. I checked numerous hotel reviews of various chains on TA, but having been a guest of the Kimpton chain before (in DC), I checked to see what hotels they had in the area. The Muse Hotel sounded terrific. We got a terrific rate for a large suite (Room 1802) which had a door that shut off the bedroom from the "sitting room" area. Nice for couples like us when one or the other may retire to bed earlier than the other. The front desk staff (Cory in particular) and door staff was top notch, always offering friendly greetings and eager to help. Concierge service was good too, they helped us book a helicopter flight over Manhattan on Mother's Day (my gift idea for myself - and far more fun than brunch, haha--it was AMAZING!). Top all that off with LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION and this is the perfect place to stay! Just off Times Square, between 6th and 7th. We could see the lights of Times Square from our window. We will definitely return to NYC and will only stay at the Muse Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi-Rosevile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,820
    745
    160
    82
    35
See reviews for
600
1,113
102
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

I've been staying at The Muse on and off for several years, even prior to Kimpton's acquisition. All the rooms have been redone in the past two years, and they recently unveiled a completely renovated lobby and restaurant. My most recent stay was just last week.

I am often greeted by name by front desk staff which is RARE in a city like NY. The rooms are generally spacious and well thought-out. The suites are generous and typically have two large flatscreens and a sizable bath. All hotel services I've used have been efficiently and pleasantly delivered. Food, which had been getting a bit long in the tooth, menu-wise with the old restaurant, The District, has recently been revitalized with the new restaurant, Nios. I've noticed that they even change/update the room service menu much more regularly than they used to. The have both wired and wifi internet, both are good, and are free with a Kimpton InTouch membership.

The location is stellar. While there aren't many exceptional views from the rooms (there are a few, though), being on 46th right between 6th and 7th puts you in the heart of everything for business or pleasure.

A great boutique contrast to the megahotels that are rampant in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobinBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 14, 2009
Dear BobinBaltimore,
Thank you for sharing your review of the Muse New York with our Trip Advisor readers. I'm glad you've come to find us as your hotel of choice in NYC and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Took my spouse into NYC as a surprise birthday present. We got a surprise but not what I was expecting (or paying for). The hotel lobby is completely gutted. I understand they may need to renovate but they should have told me when I made the reservation. The view from our room, hyped as a breath-taking view of NYC's theater district, was nothing more than the back of a few run down buildings. I have written them 4 times to complain and they have not yet once responded. I've gotten better treatment at a Day's Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liamoco43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseManagerNewYork, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
Dear liamoco43,

Thank you for your review on the Muse New York. On behalf of the Hotel, I am sorry that you did not know about the renovations scheduled from January through to the end of April. The renovations were completed on April 1st and all areas of the hotel are open for business. I do hope that you will give us a try again. I have emailed you directly through Trip Advisor and hope that you will respond.

Best Regards,
The Muse New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in April on honeymoon the hotel was wonderful small and very very good customer service.The room was smaller than we are use to but we were in New York th erooms were clean modern and had loads of lighting with a well equiped bathroom and nice soaps etc. Highly recomend excellent cocktails and also a wine and champagne reception free at 5pm cant beat it ...Would def stay again

Helpful?
Thank BLINGSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

My husband and I met friends for a weekend in New York. I am a big fan of Kimpton hotels and the Muse is no exception. A great, boutique hotel. The room, while not large, was big enough since we weren't spending much time in our room. Every single staff person we encountered was friendly and helpful. Even fellow guests on the elevator were friendly which is somewhat unusual for New York. We appreciated that the hotel was "green." Our room was very quiet--no street noise.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyProvidence_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Didn't know what to expect when I got a great deal trhough AAA for The Muse, but when I got there I was more than satisfied. The check-in was quick and courteous. The room was clean and somewhat spacious for New York. I wanted to go running, so they even had a small jogging map to take me through Central Park and back. Nevermind that the hotel was mere 100 yards to Times Square. I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissionBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We stayed 9 nights at the Muse Hotel. This boutique style hotel is located just off Broadway, about a 2 minute walk from Times Square. A very funky foyer greets you as you enter the hotel. A video projected fire over fake logs create the fireplace, electronic video art and a bar/restaurant located just of reception. We stayed on the 15th floor, the only floor to offer larger rooms with a HUGE balcony. Decor is clean, funky and modern. Bathroom, while updated, still feels old if you look beyond the nice fittings. Limited room service but of a extraordinarily high-quality; coming form the kitchen of the hotels restaurant Nios. Free morning coffee and nightly wine tastings are a nice touch. Central to all Midtown has to offer the Muse Hotel is for those who enjoy the smaller, intimate style hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
Dear dazman69,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Muse New York. I'm glad you found our hotel and amenities enjoyable. The wine reception is always a big hit! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#39 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,615 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#52 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,416 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,086 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,634 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection...
#36 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Property: The Muse Hotel New York
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing