We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet service the worst!”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #66 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We called down for the carb45 min before coming downstairs and the car still was not there. No sense of urgency at all when we approached the hotel manager he simply did not care. As a result we missed our flight and the cost associated with this whole experience was unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Marissa W,

Thank you for the review.

We do apologize about the dissatisfaction with retrieving your vehicle from valet and any frustrations that occurred from this. We have shared your comments with our team so can learn from situations like this.

We hope we can welcome you back again. Please reach out to us at tripadvisor@themusehotel.com so we can personally welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 3,247 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. The beds are super soft and comfy. Great location to see broadway shows, lots of nightlife, and a fun lounge located on the first floor. Very accommodating. The only issue is the cab drivers not wanting to go down the street as it is a one-way and I have been dropped off at the corner a few times. Not a long walk.

Room Tip: Get a higher up floor to not hear so much of the traffic and taxi's honking their horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Lori W,

Thank you for the review and your continued loyalty.

We are so happy we are your #1 choose in NYC.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next stay in NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Muse is a Kimpton hotel....absolutely my favorite when it comes to my little ones. In this case I had a Chihuahua and Beagle with us and stayed in a Premiere Suite (one step down from balcony suite, which was not available). There is always room for improvement, but when it comes to staff, I just can't imagine how they can get any better. Friendly, professional, quick, always with a smile. These are just a few of the attributes of the Muse team! They are amazing. As far as the room it was very nice; it was a little dark and could use some additional lighting and a larger table in the living space, as it is difficult for 2 to eat room service in this room. We were on 3rd floor which is low and has no view or light coming in the room, due to pipes and service equipment outside the window. However, for the location (steps from Times Square), service and excellent food...and did I mention AMAZING SERVICE...this place is perfect.
Only other suggestion would be to have the Pet Concierge perhaps prepare a little map and description of the major parks and whether they are dog friendly...many in NYC are not. A walking map for dogs that might take you around planted areas (not necessarily parks, but just some green areas or streets with trees nearby) would be helpful.
ABSOLUTELY WILL STAY AGAIN!!

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor, I would try for a higher floor next time, to get more light in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VATravel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Todd W,

Thank you for the five star review.

Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service. Reading this really put smiles on our faces.

Thank you for the pointers for the pets. We actually do have a “Doggie Times Brochure” which we have made and will ensure we are providing this to all guests on arrival that are traveling with their four legged friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I have not been to the Muse for several years, but was pleased with my most recent stay -- and have never had a bad one. I went for a double room - two double beds. I got room 912 -- which is a bigger room (thank you, Front Desk). My welcome was terrific -- two pleasant staffmembers at the front desk clearly happy to be working at the Muse. That first 3 minutes of interaction can set the tone for your stay, especially in New York City. The Muse has none of the hubbub or insanity of the crowds outside.

Sleep quality is excellent. The room had double shades (thank you) for the light sensitive. Room 912 was not on 46th Street, but seemed to be off the block protected from the street. It was very quiet.

Room was clean, shower pressure excellent. Bathroom etc. was immaculate. And I have always like the Kimpton chain's soaps, etc.

Overall, this was a 4.5 on a scale of 5. I'll reserve five stars from something extraordinary but the Muse would be very good for business or pleasure travelers to NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear FredTravelVa,

Thank you for your review and continued loyalty over the years.

We are so pleased you had a great nights sleep…. we understand the importance of a good rest!

We hope to see you again soon and show you an extraordinary experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I always read the reviews on tripadvisor but rarely write one.
The Muse inspired me to write a review.
If I can, I love to stay at Kimpton Hotels. I find the staff accommodating, not pretentious and very welcoming. The Muse did not disappoint. From the moment we walked into the lobby I could tell we would love the hotel. It was serene and peaceful, even during wine hour.
The front desk was very friendly, and acknowledged our 30th anniversary by upgrading our room into a suite and leaving us a bottle of champagne. Although the room was wheel chair accessible, it still was a suite with two tv's a pullout couch and a bedroom.The hotel was immaculate as was the room. Thank you Kimpton, I will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor facing 45th street. It was quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Diana T,

We are honored that you took the time to write us a review and a great one!

We are thrilled we were able to help celebrate your 30th anniversary and make it a memorable one.

Come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and great service. Located close to Broadway, Time Square and Rockefeller square. Room was spacious and very comfortable after long days walking the city. Fun happy hour and nice bar. Highly recommend this hotel for your next weekend in New York.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Cucmmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Cucmmac,

Thank you for the nice review! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I never write reviews, but the people at this hotel were so accommodating that they deserve a great review! I was celebrating my birthday, the girls at the front desk were very helpful especially esprit. Will definitely stay there again!!!excellent service by everybody

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Shelley L,

Thank you for the great review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to be part of it!

Thank you for the shout outs regarding our team members!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#70 of 469 in New York City
4,071 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,406 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,436 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#63 of 469 in New York City
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $239 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing