We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Muse Hotel New York
Ranked #46 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in the hotel Sunday - Wednesday. The hotel has a perfect Times square location and is very convenient for theater visits and the Times square area. The lobby is very small but the staff is very friendly and go out of their way to assist you. The rooms are good sized for manhattan. Our bathroom in room 711 was a little tight. The commode was so close to the wall and the door that is was uncomfortable to use. The air conditioner rattled a bit and bothered me on the first night. The biggest problem is the elevators. They are slow and we waited several minutes both up and down. Love the happy hour. They served both wine and Sangria and was a nice touch. This is our 3rd Kimpton property and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnsadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed our location in Times Square.

Thank you for the comments regarding the AC. We will make sure our engineer takes a look at this unit.

We are nearly finished updating our elevators to be efficient for our guests and will be complete in a couple of days.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,819
    744
    160
    82
    35
See reviews for
599
1,112
102
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Service was excellent but a bit cooler than other Kimptons....maybe because it's NYC. Nice sized room for myself and my 3 kids. Location is great for tourists. Didn't love that the bar area seemed like it was not a seamless part of the hotel, as the lobby is tiny. I wasn't allowed to take my famous "Kimpton happy hour" glass of wine and sit in the bar area when the lobby was full.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear efie30,

Thank you for your review.

We are so happy you enjoyed our location and that the room was perfect for your family.

We appreciate all of your comments and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at The Muse this past weekend. This was our second time staying at The Muse and again, all the staff did all they could to make sure we had an excellent trip. We were in NYC to celebrate my son's 13th birthday and we were so appreciative of the cupcakes delivered to our room to celebrate this special birthday. Hopefully, we be able to visit again soon!

Room Tip: We loved that though this hotel was in Times Square, its location on 46th Street, made it possible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear marieshannon,

Thank you for the continued loyalty.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to help celebrate your son’s birthday!

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There is really nothing negative I can say about this hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful from the moment we walked in. They were informative and told us about events happening in the area. The room was clean as it should be. The bed was super comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was absolutely perfect .We forgot some things (toothpaste, etc.) and the hotel provided them for us free of charge. The location can't be beat. You're steps away from Times Square and Broadway theaters as well as countless restaurants. There is also a complimentary wine hour which is awesome for guests!! I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jessica A,

Thank you for the amazing review.

Great bed and shower… what more could you want?!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the extra amenities we had to offer.

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I love the Muse and always stay here in NY. The staff are extremely helpful - my agent didn't specify the type of room and we were initially given the wrong one (King rather than two double beds for my daughter and I). It was immediately and politely corrected even though it was very full and busy. The morning coffee / tea bar and evening wine tasting just add to the pleasure. Although Times Square is busy, it's very quiet in the room. Sometimes, I don't want to go outside to face the crowds! We also had room service and found the food to be excellent - Thai chili shrimp were particularly fantastic.

Room Tip: Wifi is free if you are a Kimpton member and you get a raid the minibar pass then as well. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnfamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear cdnfamilytraveller,

We love you too!

We do apologize for the issues with the room type however so pleased we were able to get this rectified immediately.

Yes, sometimes the hustle and bustle of times Square can be daunting however we can be a nice serenity away from it all.

Thank you for mentioning Nios… thai chili shrimp. We know what we want for dinner.

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

In the concrete jungle of nyc the Muse is a gem. From our entry to the hotel on the muse was a awesome experience. At the front door there is a dog shaped chalkboard welcoming their furry friends by name at the reception desk there is a adorable little dog sitting on the counter that is so well behaved I first thought it was a stuffed animal! The staff was great, very accommodating, friendly and personal. They wished my granddaughter a "happy birthday ". That made her day. The room was large on nyc standards and the bath was large and beautiful. When we can back from the theater at 1am there was a gift for my granddaughter. 8 mini cupcakes a chocolate taxi cab filled with cookies italian water and bag of goldfish. David the concierge took awesome care of our needs. He also wore many hats as he personally cared for our luggage for the afternoon after we checked out. Did I mention the free wine tasting?? I won't stay anywhere else but the Muse. Actually will stay at other kimptons next time I travel. Hope they open in more cities

Room Tip: Not sure. Buildings around it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear ggharrison,

We loved reading this review. We are so happy our team was able to assist in making yours and your granddaughters stay so memorable.

Happy Birthday again to her and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I recently stayed at the Muse Hotel. It's a typical Kimpton Property - a small boutique hotel with excellent service and perks.

The hotel lobby is modern and chic. Kind of feels like a W. When we checked in, we received a $15 bar credit - nice! Our room was on the 8th floor. It was large for NYC. The bathroom had plenty of counter space and decent water pressure.

My wife and I took advantage of the nightly happy hours and drank a few free glasses of wine.

I would give the hotel a 5, but it's just too close to Times Square, which is a mad house. There are just way too many people all hours of the day and night. I would recommend the hotel - just avoid 7th Ave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayesBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear HayesBarton,

Thank you for being part of our Kimpton Karma rewards program. We are so happy to know you enjoyed the perks that come with this.

Times Square is definitely a busy place but we are just off the beaten path and with a close proximity to lots of the great sites of New York City.

We hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#39 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,612 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#51 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,413 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,084 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,631 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection...
#37 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Property: The Muse Hotel New York
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing