We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A little jewel near Fifth Ave and much more.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #41 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little jewel near Fifth Ave and much more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Rooms in NYC (especially in this area are not going to be cheap) but Muse was the best value ever. It is cozy without feeling crowded, beautifully decorated and laid out in an easy-to-use way. Can't say enough about the friendly service of the staff who all behave as if doing something extra for you is what they live for (except they do it in such an understated way) Also loved the free wine and beer in lobby in the afternoon.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a corner room. It was bigger than my sister's apt.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are good but discreet. Hate those places that throw the "green" thing in your face constantly.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Linda K,

What is better than being called a ‘jewel’? We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    773
    165
    85
    35
See reviews for
642
1,166
107
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at The Muse for 7 nights. The room and view was fantastic. Staff, especially doormen were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless. Woodnt hesitate to stay here if we were visiting New York again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank strictlysuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear strictlysuzie,

Thank you for the excellent review!

We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I am surprised at the great reviews as I found the hotel very disappointing.The reception area and bar/restaurant were dark and our room was cold and noisy.There is no outside space at the hotel so would not be great in the summer.The reception staff were pleasant but we found the bar and restaurant staff less than friendly.I was looking forward to the Kimpton hosted wine hour but after arriving back to the hotel after a busy day the reception area was packed with people and dogs.You have to drink your wine in the reception and we were told if we wanted to sit in the adjacent empty bar we would have to pay for a drink and we could not take our wine with us.With the broken heating in the room and hardly sleeping because of the noise I certainly would not recommend this hotel.Although it is just off Times Square there are better places to stay.I preferred the Kimptons Eventi hotel and would stay there instead if I visit New York again.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa010165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear vanessa010165,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location; however apologize about the dissatisfaction with your stay. We will look into anything that needs to be updated.

We do thank you for your comments regarding our team. We assure you this is certainly not the service we strive to achieve and will be sharing your comments as to learn from this.

With regards to the wine reception, unfortunately the drinks cannot be taken into the bar however please know we completely understand that the wine reception can be a popular time and be very busy in the lobby. You are more know you are more than welcome to bring the wine back to the room.

We hope we can welcome you back again. . Please reach out to us at tripadvisor@themusehotel.com before your stay so we can show you a great experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I really enjoyed this Hotel, it has the best location in town. The people are very nice in the lobby too.
The only problem is that I had plugged my iPod to listen to some music, but the next day it had vanished. I called the security once back in France where I had double-checked my luggage, but they never found it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Victoire d,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location.

We do apologize about the missing item upon check out. We double checked with our security and housekeeping teams and unfortunately did not locate the item when you departed.

We hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Muse is a wonderful location and is very conveniently located one block from Times Square. The rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean. What makes this hotel terrific is the staff. Everyone that works there was unbelievably helpful from the bell staff to the concierge as well as the housekeepers and the wait staff in the restaurant. The staff truly care that the guests stay is perfect. We were there as a family and our boys cannot wait to go back again! The treated our boys extra special during their first trip to NYC and provided a variety of welcome gifts. We had to tell them that not all hotels are like this one! We would highly recommend this hotel!

Green Features: Had a variety of signs posted on how to help the environment by reusing towels.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyC0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear PattyC0414,

WOW! Reading this put a smile on our face.

We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for the great team shout outs!

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just returned from seven nights in New York staying at the Muse Hotel. This was our first trip to New York and we could not have wished for a better place to stay. On arrival we were told we had been given a free upgrade and our room 1601 had a great view and really comfortable with excellent facilities.The staff were all friendly and could not be more helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel and if we ever return to New York will definitely stay there

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianM186560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear BrianM186560,

Reviews like this make us smile!

We are so happy you enjoyed your room. Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Muse is wonderfully located half a block from Times Square, but when you get inside it is quiet and a world away. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. Loved the free wine every afternoon. The room and all common areas were very clean. Would definitely go back there and recommend it to my friends. Compared to other hotels of similar quality and location, the price was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58DavidAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Davidmidway,

Thank you for your FIVE star review.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us from the location of the hotel to the rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#51 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,759 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#50 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: The Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing