We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great location!”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #63 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We stay at a different hotel each time we are in New York and The Muse is definitely one of our favorites! We will be there again in July for a nice retreat and I can't wait!! The staff is wonderful, massages are Devine and the Bartender we had was hysterical! The rooms are comfortable and the beds feel like you are sleeping on clouds, also love the toiletries left for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamaica5195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Jamaica5195,

Thank you so much for your incredible review!
We are thrilled to see the staff and services were to your liking.

We hope to continue to welcome you back to the Big Apple!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,223)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Muse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,230 - 1,236 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel based off of the good reviews it received on this and other travel sites. It was also a better value that many nearby properties I looked at with similar ratings. We wanted a hotel near to the theater where we were seeing a play, and stayed for one night as a romantic getaway. The check in was fast and easy. We asked for a pet free room and I think it was accommodated as the room was very clean and no hint of pets having stayed there. The bed was super comfy! We ordered room service in the morning for breakfast and that was really the only thing that went a little wrong, it came 35 minutes late and wasn't completely correct. The staff was very friendly and explained the kitchen was inundated with room service breakfast orders and fell behind. The valet service worked out well, the website says to allow 45mins for them to retrieve your car but it only took less than 20. I would recommend this hotel for the value given it's fantastic location. It was clean and felt spacious with high ceilings in our room ( we had an exec king room on 8th floor.) we joined the kimpton in touch program and got free wi-fi and a $15 voucher at check in we could use at bar or for mini-bar in room. I'd stay here again if going to see a play, as convenient to all major theaters.

Room Tip: Upper floors in Manhattan always preferable due to all the street traffic and noise all night, esp T...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMwyckoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear DMwyckoff,

Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us for your Big Apple / theater getaway.

We do apologize about the delay in your room service being delivered and will ensure we are paying closer attention to these details in the future.

Thank you for joining the Kimpton Intouch program and we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I reserved three rooms here over spring break; one for me, one for my parents, and one for my sister, BIL, and kids. The location was perfect; as with all Kimpton hotels, the customer service was excellent; and the rooms were great. Ya gotta love the wine reception each night (we definitely took advantage of that on several evenings!); though it would've been great if they had snacks for the kids every night (they only did on the first couple, for whatever reason). The kids *loved* the bathrooms off the lobby... who knew a restroom could be that entertaining?!? The front desk staff made excellent recommendations for restaurants, which was really appreciated. The only complaint I have is that my 8th floor room somehow smelled like sauteed onions and eggs every morning, which was kind of gross... but I'm not sure there's a lot they can do to control the exhaust from the restaurant or whatever that was. Overall, an excellent experience - I'd definitely stay here again when in NYC!!!

Room Tip: Room 813 got some food exhaust smells in the morning, but was otherwise great; and room 801 got ligh...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 16bert16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear 16bert16,

Thank you for the FIVE star review.

We are thrilled that you and your family chose to stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service.

We do apologize about the smell you experienced and will be sure to have our engineering team inspect this.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Ours was literally a last minute reservation to stay at The Muse. Normally, we book at a well known chain closer to 49th. Never again.
The Muse was outstanding. We stayed in Room 1407, which was very quiet. There isn't much street traffic on NW 46th.
With that being said, not many taxis drop-off or pick-up in front of the hotel because of all the construction and rerouting of traffic. After our taxi driver had a fender bender coming into the City, our second taxi ended up dropping us off a block from the hotel and we walked. It was going to take another 15 minutes and more $$$ to negotiate the one way streets and drop us in front of the hotel.
When it was time to head back to LGA, we walked to Avenue of the Americas and caught a cab.
Not an inconvenience. But, don't opt for the black car the hotel offers. It's more expensive than a cab. And, cabs are too easy to catch.
We didn't have coffee and tea in the morning. But, enjoyed the happy hour. I thought the wine choices were very nice.
I can't say enough good things about the staff. So professional, friendly, helpful...all the great adjectives. Preston made last minute reservations for us at Del Frisco's one evening for dinner and we enjoyed dessert "compliments of The Muse".
Room 1407 was nicely appointed, the A/C worked great and there was always lots of hot water and water pressure.
As noted in other reviews, the hotel is a couple blocks from Times Square and the TIKS office. This is where you buy tickets for Broadway shows, based on availability, for 40% to 50% off. We bought tickets for two shows and had great seats. If you buy tickets for a performance, hold onto your used tickets, they are good for a "seven day pass". The line can be long at TIKS and you queue in a shorter line for being a return customer.
Whenever we returned to the hotel, the bellman always greeted us with a smile and a "Welcome Home" greeting.
We loved our stay at The Muse and hope to return in the Fall.

Room Tip: 1407 is a single king and we thought very quiet. Not very big. With two of us and suitcases, I put...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissBonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear MissBonie,

Thank you for the FIVE star review.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service.

We do apologize about any difficulties you experienced with the taxis. The hustle and bustle of Times Square can sometimes be hard to navigate but our bellmen are always here to assist.

Thank you for the great tips regarding the tickets.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I normally could not afford this beautiful well located hotel but got a special rate. It has spoiled my family completely. I am a one touch member so got free Winfield, minibar credit. Staff very responsive and pleasant. Prefer usual white frette bathrobes to animal prints here but it's not a big deal. Hotel restaurant pretty overpriced. Will stay at this one whenever I can afford it

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drosenb722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear labgoreo,

We love you too! Thank you for your review and for being a Kimpton Intouch Member. As a member there are always great offers so make sure to keep your eyes open for more great rates. We would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel was close to Times Square. The staff were wonderful and accommodating when we arrived earlier than expected. They held our luggage and when we came later that day they delivered it to our room. And from 5-6 they had free wine! Would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kriskraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear kriskraft,

We are blushing from the great compliments you gave our team. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our wine reception. Nothing is better than coming back from a long day in New York City than relaxing with a glass of wine.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Visited this hotel with my mum, it was gorgeous! Room was big for NYC standards and the decor was beautiful. Clean, well staffed and had breakfast each morning. It was delicious and it was such good service it made u feel really special. So central to Times Square. The toilets are amazing in the lobby downstairs, visit them all! Would really love to go back some day. No real view as such from the room but it wasn't a problem. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marbet41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Marbet41,

Thank you for the fabulous review!

We are thrilled hearing that our location was perfect for your New York City getaway.

Thank you for the fabulous shout out regarding our Nios restaurant team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#70 of 468 in New York City
4,055 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,392 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 468 in New York City
3,424 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $256 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing