We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #57 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had a chance to stay two nights at the Muse. I am a Kimpton member and have stayed at Kimptons in many other cities. The Muse certainly lives up to Kimpton standards. The location is stellar as was the service. Enjoyed the complimentary upgrade as well as the happy hour and morning coffee.
I will definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PB62757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear PB62757,

Thank you for your review. Thank you for mentioning our team as providing ‘stellar’ service. We appreciate your loyalty with Kimpton and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,026
    821
    181
    92
    38
See reviews for
691
1,246
117
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having previously stayed at two very good hotels in Manhattan we wondered whether The Muse would live up to our prior experiences: it did. What a hotel. Great location (five-minute walk to Fifth Avenue; less so to Times Square; walkable to Central Park, etc), extremely friendly staff (although the blonde receptionist on the last day was a bit icy), excellent service, immaculately clean - I can't praise this place highly enough. And what can I say about the wine reception that hasn't been said a hundred times in the reviews below? It's marvellous. When you get back from shopping at 5pm and are feeling like you need to recharge your batteries, a glass (or, in my case, three glasses) of wine is perfect. A really nice touch, and one that probably tips the balance for us and means that we would choose the Muse again over the other two hotels we stayed in before (although in fairness they were really very good also). Loved this place, though and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLHScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear CLHScott,

Aww you’re our favorite too! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and loved everything about it.

We are so happy that our wine reception was as a great ending to your day.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This fun, somewhat funky boutique off Times Square offers a reasonable price for a good size room, which is what I expect from Kimpton. Comfy bed, great shower, good size room. Restaurant overpriced but lots of options nearby. Street-facing rooms can be noisy. Staff very helpful. Watch out for Eurotrashy crowd during wine reception. Subways nearby.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SIGRAFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear SIGRAFF,

Thank you for your review. We love to be called funky!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and so pleased our staff was of great assistance during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our stay in The City couldn't have been better, in large part because of the convenience of The Muse's location.

Located just half a block off of the intersection of Broadway and 7th Ave, The Muse was close to everything theater & dining. Our two nights in the City were seeing shows on Broadway and we easily walked to our theaters within 10min of the hotel.

The hotel itself was clean, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were upgraded to a "balcony" room which actually had a very large balcony with a table, chairs and two lounge chairs. The downside of the balcony was that the neighboring apartment building was only 30' away with the apartment dwellers looking right over or down on the balcony-welcome to NYC :-) The room had a very comfortable king-sized bed, and the bathroom was a decent size for a City hotel.

There is a bar downstairs off the lobby, and they have a restaurant (NIOS) in-house too. We did not eat there, as one block away was "restaurant row" and a plethora of other fantastic food choices to pick other than "hotel food".

We would definitely go back and stay at The Muse again without a second thought.

One quick tip: if you are looking for a quick bite or snack/water/etc. take a RIGHT out of the hotel lobby and go to the corner of 46th and 6th and pop into the Cafe Europa. MUCH less expensive than any stores in the Times Square zone (7th Ave, Broadway, etc). Great fresh oatmeal and eggs for breakfast and decent sandwiches to take along on your train/plane ride home.

Green Features: The Muse does give you the option of not replacing your towels and sheets every day-a nice environmentally friendly touch.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Architeuthus,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for posting pictures as well!

We hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location great room and great staff. Ideally situated for times square and the majority of the attractions.
Great price and the hotel is kept immaculate. Would recommend to anyone.
Join the free kimpton rewards program before you go and you get free wifi and 15$ to spend at the bar.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for the review.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our location for your New York City stay.

Thank you for your Kimpton Intouch loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed for only two nights but could have enjoyed it for much longer. The Muse is centrally located, just a half a block from Times Square, walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Macy's and many fun tourist attractions. The room was very large, very large by any city's standards but especially so for NYC. We were on the 16th floor with a nice view of uptown. Our room was beautifully decorated and maintained. The hotel offered every amenity you need. They even left mini cupcakes w/blueberries for us to enjoy the first night. Another little touch, a chocolate taxi cab w/chocolate covered pretzels was also waiting for us to share. The front desk was pleasant and efficient. Yes, we highly recommend the Muse!

Room Tip: 16th floor was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear nodan7,

What a terrific review! We are happy to know that our hotel was the perfect location for your New York City getaway and that you also loved all the personal touches.

Thanks for all the recommendations you give us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with friends and had a king deluxe room which was well appointed. It was very stylish with good amenities apart from the fact that there were no tea and coffee in the room and you had to pay for a bottle of water $9 which in my opinion is too high.

Location is definitely the main selling point of this hotel. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted. The subway was close, the sightseeing bus pick up was just down the street and there were plenty of lovely restaurants close by which we used for breakfast and dinner.

Staff were friendly and helpful but did appear quite pushy eg selling bus tour and airport transfers.

Would recommend and likely to stay here again if we came back to New York

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MandMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear MandMUk,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

We are thrilled you loved our location!

Thank you for feedback regarding our team. We will be sure to share your comments.

Please know we do provide complimentary coffee makers and tea kettles upon request and would love to ensure this on your next stay.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,961 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,351 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing