We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location if you love the Times Square”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #68 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We got this hotel at a reasonable deal probably because it was the winter season so overall I would say it is a good value hotel. The location is perfect if you like to watch Broadway shows and shop mid-range priced brands. It's centrally located but not too busy and noisy. The complimentary wine and hot chocolate in the late afternoon was great! We missed it on some days but it was an excellent gesture of the hotel. The corner room which we booked was spacious compared to most rooms we had in NYC before. They have everything you need, toothbrush, hairdryer, shaving kit, etc. Although i'm not totally impressed with the toiletries (shampoo, soap, etc.). It was average.
The service was excellent. All staff were accommodating and efficient. And the lobby smells really nice! We had a great time despite the really cold winter.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Abby T,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review.

We are excited to know that our location was perfect for your visit to the Big Apple and that you were able to enjoy the extra amenities we had to offer.

We hope to have you visit us again…… maybe when the temperature is a little warmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 3,273 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

My first trip for 2014 was to the Muse Hotel in NYC. This hotel and staff so far exceeds all others and I travel extensively for my company. This group from bellman David, Michael and Wacoe to the the incredible Barbara, Lauren and Ivanka at guest registration absolutely make you feel like you just returned home! This group and the service at the hotel is exceptional. Even after a long day of work you step into the beautiful bar you are greeted by Ross who is ready to ask how your day ways and serve you your favorite glass of wine.
The rooms are extremely comfortable with down super down pillows and linen that is so soft to the touch you want it for your own home. You can absolutely order this on line also!
From travels yearly to Atlanta, New York, Miami, Los Angeles, Las Vegas this is my favorite hotel and staff. You are missing out if you have not tried this hotel! LW

Room Tip: JUST ASK FOR A QUITE ROOM AND STAFF WILL ACCOMODATE. Love corner rooms or the ones behind the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Mary Linda W,

WOW!! What an awesome start to the New Year. We are thrilled to know we are your first hotel of the New Year and once again exceeded all expectations.

We are happy to be your home away from home and look forward to seeing more of you this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife & I stayed here for 4 nights in December, 2013 and loved it. We've stayed in Kimpton Hotels in Chicago and San Francisco and they always feel right to us, from the service to the quiet rooms to the wine tasting in the lobby before dinner. We were looking for a hotel close to Times Square and The Muse is about a block away. But not noisy (for New York, that is!). Try for an upgrade to get onto the second elevator bank which services the top floors. We didn't eat in the restaurant, do the Spa or bring a car, so can't comment on those services. However, the front door is not a great place to catch a cab - better to walk a block to Times Square or 6th Avenue where you'll have more luck. There are 3 or 4 other Kimpton Hotels in Manhattan, so if you like them, it's probably easy to find a location that suits your trip. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade when you book or use Magellan Vacations to book and ask for you (a bit cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoCouple763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear TorontoCouple763,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. We are thrilled to know you are a big Kimpton Fan and our location was perfect for your Big Apple trip.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

From Samantha (front desk manager) on...this hotel exceeded all of our expectations. We flew in for three days last weekend to see three Broadway shows. We desired to start the new year right so we searched Trip Advisor for a hotel near Times Square that would facilitate seeing the shows, be within walking distance of outstanding restaurants and present a beautiful setting. The Muse delivered... 5 stars! From the evening complimentary wine hour in the lobby, to great service responses and a very responsive staff we WILL BE BACK!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Gary R,

What a FAB review. We are so pleased you found our hotel as well and it was perfect for your ‘Broadway Show’ trip.

We are thrilled to know our team provided you with such an amazing experience and thank you for this recognition!

We look forward to having you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I were celebrating the arrival of our first child, and we picked the right place. We'd stayed at Kimpton Hotels in the past and loved it, so we figured it was a pretty good bet for our trip to NYC. We were not mistaken.

The front desk staff was fantastic. They all seem to be service-oriented, and everyone from the front desk, to housekeeping, to managers, and valets were all friendly and greeted you with a smile.

A staff member named Sarah made our stay very special going above and beyond. She was very genuine, helpful and actually cared about us. Unfortunately, that is pretty rare in many service industry contexts. She is one of the reasons why we will keep choosing Kimpton and recommending it to others. People like her cause businesses to succeed because they actually care about their customers as people.

Kimpton Hotels has been a sure bet for us, and we'll continue to stay with them in the future. Of course, the accommodations, cleanliness, amenities, comfort and the wine reception all make Kimpton stand out, but the staff and service are the main reason to love this place.

Room Tip: Room 1603 had a faucet that was not located properly over the sink, but we made out alright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Jaker4,

Congratulations on the upcoming arrival of your first child! We are so excited to know you had a fantastic ‘babymoon’ vacation!

Thank you for mentioning our team as the reason for your continued Kimpton and Muse loyalty. We strive to give exemplary service and recognition of this is appreciated.

We hope to see you again… maybe even with your new born!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I never write reviews, but the Muse really deserves one and I am only part way through my stay here. I requested a hair brush from the front desk and after passing this request to the Manager, he immediately agreed to assist me in buying a hair brush and had it delivered to my room within 30 min. This was especially appreciated given the frigid temperatures outside and an early morning meeting the next day. He also waived the cost of the brush, which was an unexpected but a very appreciated gesture. My room is quite stylish too and the bathroom, furniture and decor is relatively modern and very clean. I think I might be a Kimptoner for life.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Max M,

Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy that even a small gesture can go a long way and we appreciate the acknowledgment!

We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and are excited to become your go to place in NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Check in was very poor with no details of the hotel given, just here's your room number , give me your credit card and the lifts over there !! Room was ok but nothing special,bathroom again OK with a shower over the bath and a shower curtain.View was of the hotel opposite and a tiny bit of the Times Square area. We tried the evening drinks one night and enjoyed talking to the other guests but it was so cold we could not enjoy it so didn't do it again. We had booked the New Year party but again were given no information on what was happening so had to ask, told to come down around 8.45. When we arrived we were told they were running late and we would have to wait 15 to 20 minutes at the bar. The first sitting guests were sitting with their coats on and looking glum so not a good sign. We eventually got a table but again it was so cold we could only have the first 2 courses and after complaining I was not paying for the so called party having to almost shout above the noise of the so called music we left only to be chased by the waiter to sign my bill, I must admit I lost my temper with him and the shambles was not his fault. I did receive a whisky from Sarah as we left but the damage was done. We tried to get to talk to the manager only to be told she would be in the next day only to be told on the next day she would not be in that week so we again had to ask to meet a manager and we met up with Restaurant manager Ryan and gave him all the details and we received what I would describe as a half hearted apology admitting that they had " dropped the ball " for ruining our new year. On leaving we had no water in our room for about 2 hours to add insult to injury. We normally stay at Hilton Hotels but decided to try the Muse but this was a big mistake as we had the worst New year we have ever had and I would not return here if they paid me so I do not expect to see a reply from them looking forward to giving them another go.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gasman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear gasman_7,

We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences that presented itself during your stay. From your comments I see you have already spoken to the management team involved with the issues that occurred. Our number one goal is to have every guest feel comfortable throughout their stay. We wish that there was something more that we could have done to make your entire stay more seamless before you departed.

We hope in the future we have the opportunity to welcome you back and truly provide the service and expectations that is anticipated when visiting The Muse Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 469 in New York City
3,472 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 469 in New York City
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
2,429 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#73 of 469 in New York City
2,445 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#45 of 469 in New York City
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $228 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing