We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“first-rate hotel and an even more first-rate staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Muse Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Muse Hotel New York
Ranked #47 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Plainview, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first-rate hotel and an even more first-rate staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My most recent stay at a Kimpton Hotel did not disappoint. My husband and I were in NYC for fashion week and a wedding so I booked a room at The Muse. The hotel is decorated beautifully, the staff is exceptional and the amenities are first rate. From check in to check out, we felt like a valued guests. The extra touches the hotel provides made the experience excellent. Since it was fashion week, the hotel had a mobile fashion boutique parked outside the front entrance. It made shopping extremely convenient and pleasant. The beverages provided in the lobby, included in the room rate, are a great touch. The concierge staff, especially Lauren Vitale, went above and beyond her job description to get us dining reservations, handle all our special requests and accommodate us with a late check out. Her supervisor Sam, has a great talent for arts and crafts and assisted Lauren with our fun special requests. This is all before we got to our room. The room was divine. The Muse does not skimp anywhere. The mattress, linens and pillows were heavenly and the toiletries are abundant and luxurious. The restaurant/lounge has a fabulous vibe, and diverse drink and food choices. All of which I tried, were excellent; and the staff, equally excellent. Our stay could not have been better, I highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downtimeprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear downtimeprod,

Thank you for the thorough FIVE star review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over fashion week! How awesome was that fashion truck? I know we all loved it as well and so pleased you were able to have a cool shopping experience.

We are thrilled to know our staff gave you exemplary service and provided assistance to ensuring your stay was one of a kind.

We look forward to having you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    740
    160
    81
    35
See reviews for
595
1,108
102
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Once again our stay with your New York hotel was nothing short of excellent. I constantly tell my friends that the beds and linen within your group of hotels in by far the best in the industry (I've stayed The Muse Hotels in LA, Washington DC and New York). But the exceptional thing about these Kimpton Hotels are their service staff. In the world of big corporate and indifference Kimpton/Muse has managed to make each of our visits feel as we are staying with family. Extremely accommodating and exceptionally professional. Shout-outs especially to front desk staff Tony, Lauren, Barbara and once again big thanks to the manager Sarah for leading from the front and her hospitality. No second choices for me .. if there is a Muse in the city I visit, I will be sure to be staying at The Muse ... especially in New York where I travel often. Happy Chanukah and Merry Christmas to all staff.

Room Tip: I didn't click pool as I wasn't aware their may have been a pool but the gym helped get my g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBear1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear BigBear1956,

Thank you for the AMAZING five star review.

We are so pleased to know how much you love our beds….we also thinks it’s like sleeping on clouds!

Thank you for mentioning our staff in giving you exemplary service.
We love that you are now a huge Kimpton fan and hope you are able to travel to many more of our hotels… but don’t forget to come back and see us again.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I booked the Muse several months in advance for Thanksgiving. As can be expected the rate was expensive due to long holiday weekend, but given the reviews on tripadvisor and other sites, I expected a fantastic experience.

The good:
- The hotel is a beautiful little boutique right off of Times Square
- The beds are fantastic - great mattresses and sheets
- The rooms are up to date and pleasant
- The front desk is attentive
- Every evening they have a complimentary wine cocktail gathering in the lobby
- The bellmen are also attentive and helpful

The bad: Noise and Housekeeping
- We were given two rooms on the 4th floor. The noise down on the street level and out in the hallway was so loud it woke me up about once an hour the first night.
- The real issue we had - housekeeping. Housekeeping would come by at 8 AM and if we were in the room, they would put us on a "do not service" list. The first day this wasn't a problem because we got up early to see the Macy's parade, but after that they kept putting us on the list. On Friday we were able to get serviced via the front desk, but on Saturday they totally skipped us. We came back to our room after being out all day and the night housekeeper said it wasn't her responsibility to clean the room - so she offered some clean towels and that was it. We were too tired to argue the point - but really disappointed with both the policy and reaction given the class of hotel.

Overall, we did like the hotel and would consider it again, but it won't be an automatic for our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - the noise on the street makes it difficult to sleep. Make sure you haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasfamily98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Texasfamily98,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our location and especially enjoyed our beds.

We do apologize about the noise you experienced from the street. Please know we do have rooms which face the back of the hotel and would love to ensure one of these on your next stay.
Thank you also for the feedback regarding the housekeeping service. We have shared your comments with our team to ensure following up on all guest rooms which have the do not disturb signs on the doors and ensuring service is extended to them.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back. Please reach out to one of our front desk managers so we can ensure you have a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We booked with this hotel which was recommended by a friends brother who lives in NY. We went to celebrate my wifes special birthday as it was our wish to see NY. It was a fabulous location and the Hotel staff were so very friendly and helpful. The suite was fantastic and had every facility you needed. We arrived on 28th November through to 3rd December 2013. Thanks especially to manager Sarah for making this so special and the reception champagne in our room. Would not hesitate to stay here if we return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Don G,

YAYYY!! What a great review!

We are so pleased your friends had recommended us and we followed through and exceeded those expectations for your wife’s birthday.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked our room at the Muse Hotel for an extended weekend over Thanksgiving without having much information about the property. We have been very positively surprised by the concept of the hotel as well as the size and quietness of the room. We could not have imagined a better location for our stay.

We asked for a quiet room and were given a very quiet and large room on the 14th floor.

Excellent quality of bedding.

As we were celebrating my mother's birthday, a bottle of sparkling wine and a handwritten card were waiting for us in the room... Very nice touch...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1412 (twin) and really enjoyed it (large and very quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_in_style1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Traveller_in_style1,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us over Thanksgiving.
Happy Birthday again to your mother!

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have just got back from a stay at The Muse hotel in New York and what can I say.... it was amazing!

We arrived quite late on Thursday 28th November/Friday 29th November and was greeted by a very friendly and helpful man on the front desk. We were checked in effortlessly and within minutes was up in out beautiful room. As there were 3 of us we were staying in a double room. The room was spotlessly clean and because we have joined the Kimpton loyalty programme on their website we got free wifi and also $15 free from the bar downstair or the mini bar. Every day the room was cleaned to a high standard, every day we were greeted by very friendly staff on reception and also we were given advice and helped with getting cabs etc. I cant say anything better about the staff.

The location was also amazing, normally when I go to New York I stay in Midtown however decided to have a change and to be honest Im glad I did. This hotel is less than a minutes walk from the tickets booth on times square. Great location.

Whilst we were there it was my mums birthday and they sent up a lovely chocolate frame and some milk for us, they were going to send up wine but they changed it as they knew I was pregnant and my mum doesnt drink. Was a really lovely touch and my mum was very happy.

This hotel has so much going on, every evening they have free wine for all guests and there is such a great atmosphere downstairs. They even had ladies gift wrapping presents for a small donation downstairs in the lobby!

If i was to go back to New York I would definitely try and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmagems777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Gemmagems777,

Thank you for the fabulous FIVE star review.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team provided exemplary service during your stay in all aspects.

Happy birthday again to your mother, and we hope to see you all again! (Maybe even with your new bubba on the way?)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. The room we had was of a good size, in a "L" shape with the bathroom being perfectly distanced from the sleeping area. Very clean. The bed is extremely comfortable, so comfortable that I did not want the get up. We stayed 5 days. They have a great service and nice bar. I did not have a chance to try the restaurant. My only complaint are the bathrobes, as they are hideous and does not go well with the decor. Leopard, tiger or zebra skin resemblances, really? Very tacky; it needs to be changed to a solid color and I think that white would be perfect. They offered complimentary wine everyday at 5PM at the lobby. The location is perfect if you don't mind the crowd (as we where there during Thanksgiving weekend the city was extremely packed - but I loved it anyway). It can be noisy, sometime, but we kept the fan or heater on, which helped to block the sound.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NiltonTeixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Muse Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear NiltonTeixeira,

Thank you for the nice review.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us and even more had a great night’s sleep…we also feel as though our beds are like sleeping on clouds!

We are also very happy to know that the location was perfect for your stay and hope you and your family had a great Thanksgiving!

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#37 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,608 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#50 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,077 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#35 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,622 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection...
#39 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muse Hotel New York

Property: The Muse Hotel New York
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Muse Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Muse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing