We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, quiet and large room”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #66 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked our room at the Muse Hotel for an extended weekend over Thanksgiving without having much information about the property. We have been very positively surprised by the concept of the hotel as well as the size and quietness of the room. We could not have imagined a better location for our stay.

We asked for a quiet room and were given a very quiet and large room on the 14th floor.

Excellent quality of bedding.

As we were celebrating my mother's birthday, a bottle of sparkling wine and a handwritten card were waiting for us in the room... Very nice touch...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1412 (twin) and really enjoyed it (large and very quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_in_style1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Traveller_in_style1,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are so pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us over Thanksgiving.
Happy Birthday again to your mother!

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 3,272 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have just got back from a stay at The Muse hotel in New York and what can I say.... it was amazing!

We arrived quite late on Thursday 28th November/Friday 29th November and was greeted by a very friendly and helpful man on the front desk. We were checked in effortlessly and within minutes was up in out beautiful room. As there were 3 of us we were staying in a double room. The room was spotlessly clean and because we have joined the Kimpton loyalty programme on their website we got free wifi and also $15 free from the bar downstair or the mini bar. Every day the room was cleaned to a high standard, every day we were greeted by very friendly staff on reception and also we were given advice and helped with getting cabs etc. I cant say anything better about the staff.

The location was also amazing, normally when I go to New York I stay in Midtown however decided to have a change and to be honest Im glad I did. This hotel is less than a minutes walk from the tickets booth on times square. Great location.

Whilst we were there it was my mums birthday and they sent up a lovely chocolate frame and some milk for us, they were going to send up wine but they changed it as they knew I was pregnant and my mum doesnt drink. Was a really lovely touch and my mum was very happy.

This hotel has so much going on, every evening they have free wine for all guests and there is such a great atmosphere downstairs. They even had ladies gift wrapping presents for a small donation downstairs in the lobby!

If i was to go back to New York I would definitely try and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemmagems777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Gemmagems777,

Thank you for the fabulous FIVE star review.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team provided exemplary service during your stay in all aspects.

Happy birthday again to your mother, and we hope to see you all again! (Maybe even with your new bubba on the way?)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The room we had was of a good size, in a "L" shape with the bathroom being perfectly distanced from the sleeping area. Very clean. The bed is extremely comfortable, so comfortable that I did not want the get up. We stayed 5 days. They have a great service and nice bar. I did not have a chance to try the restaurant. My only complaint are the bathrobes, as they are hideous and does not go well with the decor. Leopard, tiger or zebra skin resemblances, really? Very tacky; it needs to be changed to a solid color and I think that white would be perfect. They offered complimentary wine everyday at 5PM at the lobby. The location is perfect if you don't mind the crowd (as we where there during Thanksgiving weekend the city was extremely packed - but I loved it anyway). It can be noisy, sometime, but we kept the fan or heater on, which helped to block the sound.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NiltonTeixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear NiltonTeixeira,

Thank you for the nice review.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us and even more had a great night’s sleep…we also feel as though our beds are like sleeping on clouds!

We are also very happy to know that the location was perfect for your stay and hope you and your family had a great Thanksgiving!

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is my compaby´s preferred to I have to stay here whether I like it or not, but I must say it is not MY preferred choice. Rooms are nicely decorated ' sort of Versace over the top look´but customer service is deplorable, is extremely noisy and because is close to Times Square you always get the party crowds that make noise until late at night.
Restaurant NIOS has ok food but the service is even worst - my waiter was not friendly at all, I would say his answers were quite rude- when I complained, they just apologized but did not change the waiter or try to improve service at all.
A forgetable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmogirlAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear cosmogirlAtlanta,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to know you liked our room décor however very sorry to hear about the noise you experienced. We would be happy to ensure a quieter room on your next visit.

We do also apologize about the service you experienced during your stay. Please know this type of service is certainly a rarity and we have shared your comments with the team.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future so we can roll out the red carpet to ensure a 4-diamond experience that I know we can provide. Please feel free to reach out to one of the front desk managers so we can personally welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Beautiful, pleasant staff. Great place and location. Even the maids say hello when you meet them in the hallway. Staff are always pleasant. Front desk, nothing is ever a problem. They will accommodate efficiently and effectively. Barbara and Lauren are the best. Hope the homeless got their good meal and desert girls! You guys were great. Thank you for working with me in making it a birthday to remember. Whoever gives this hotel a 3-star rating, and I've seen a few, needs their head tested for madness!! The staff are great and make you feel welcome and special. End of.

The decision to stay there was based on the very reviews you see here for the hotel, so that says a lot. The experience didn't disappoint, in any way, shape or form. The receptionists KNOW NYC; their recommendations were spot on. No regrets going to anything that was recommended: the Dutch, Le Cirque, Minetta Tavern, Red Flame Diner, Thalia...all great places

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Jason_Simon,

Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled to know the staff provided you with exemplary service and assisted with making your stay a great one. Thank you for the shout outs to some of our members of staff that gave you great recommendations on the “must dos” in New York.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our first time staying at The Muse and we were happy with our stay. Clean, comfortable rooms and the king bed was super comfortable! The bathroom was quite big (for NYC) and it was great to have the little amenitiesoffered .... lotion, shampoo, magnifying mirror, etc... I was a little nervous being so close to Times Square (tourist trap) but you didn't feel the effects. Work out facility was good and the hotel was close enough to Central Park for decent running. When I called the hotel ahead of time to give them our Kimpton number, I did mention that we were visiting for my husbands birthday/NYC Marathon. They said they would "do something special" for him. That never happened - even after a couple of reminders. Not a crisis, but my only disappointment.

Please don't increase your hotel rates based on the great TripAdvisor reviews :)

Room Tip: King beds are very comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Brenda A,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so happy we were able to welcome you to the Big Apple. Although, so close to busy Times Square, we glad to see you had a quiet and relaxing visit.

We are so sorry we missed celebrating for your husbands birthday. We will make sure to make it up to him next time.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Muse many times and the experiences always exceed my expectations. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I have made special requests and have always gotten what I have asked for. The manager is so nice. The staff are so friendly and helpful, from the doormen to the front desk staff to housekeeping.
On one of my trips I left some personal items in the safe in my room. I was afraid I would never see them again. I called and talked with security. He FedExed them to me and I had it the next day, all intact. I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel.
The location is great too.

Room Tip: I request rooms on higher floors to avoid any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fdm189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Fdm189,

Thank you for your amazing review! We are ecstatic to see after you many times traveling to us, we have continued to exceed your expectations.

We are always eager to assist, even after you depart the Hotel. We are happy to see we were able to locate your items and send them back to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 469 in New York City
3,472 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#70 of 469 in New York City
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
2,428 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#74 of 469 in New York City
2,437 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $228 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing