We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Nice - will return”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #62 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quite Nice - will return”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our first time staying at The Muse and we were happy with our stay. Clean, comfortable rooms and the king bed was super comfortable! The bathroom was quite big (for NYC) and it was great to have the little amenitiesoffered .... lotion, shampoo, magnifying mirror, etc... I was a little nervous being so close to Times Square (tourist trap) but you didn't feel the effects. Work out facility was good and the hotel was close enough to Central Park for decent running. When I called the hotel ahead of time to give them our Kimpton number, I did mention that we were visiting for my husbands birthday/NYC Marathon. They said they would "do something special" for him. That never happened - even after a couple of reminders. Not a crisis, but my only disappointment.

Please don't increase your hotel rates based on the great TripAdvisor reviews :)

Room Tip: King beds are very comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Brenda A,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so happy we were able to welcome you to the Big Apple. Although, so close to busy Times Square, we glad to see you had a quiet and relaxing visit.

We are so sorry we missed celebrating for your husbands birthday. We will make sure to make it up to him next time.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,048
    828
    186
    93
    38
See reviews for
700
1,259
118
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Muse many times and the experiences always exceed my expectations. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I have made special requests and have always gotten what I have asked for. The manager is so nice. The staff are so friendly and helpful, from the doormen to the front desk staff to housekeeping.
On one of my trips I left some personal items in the safe in my room. I was afraid I would never see them again. I called and talked with security. He FedExed them to me and I had it the next day, all intact. I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel.
The location is great too.

Room Tip: I request rooms on higher floors to avoid any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fdm189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Fdm189,

Thank you for your amazing review! We are ecstatic to see after you many times traveling to us, we have continued to exceed your expectations.

We are always eager to assist, even after you depart the Hotel. We are happy to see we were able to locate your items and send them back to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My stay at the Muse was awesome. First, Ariella, the concierge, reached out to me prior to my arrival to offer assistnace with any arrangements that I might need. Upon arrival, the Muse staff was spectacular. From greeting me like a VIP upon check-in (Barbara), to putting me in a beautiful room, to answering all of my travel questions about navigating New York (Valets), to excellent room service experiences (Kat and Ryan). Location, Location, Location….wow…this hotel is steps from Time Square. I can’t wait to come back! Be sure to book a suite....1801 has a breathtaking roof top view.

Room Tip: Room 1801 is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear lcostin,

Thank you for your five star rating!

WOW! Award winning service?! That's what we like to see!

We are so pleased to see our customer service and care during your trip exceeded your expectations!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

From the moment we got out of our cab, we were really made to feel at home!
Great lobby, great staff, room size -small but good for NYC, bed - SO comfortable! We asked for an extra fridge to be delivered to keep fresh juice etc, and by the time we had returned from brunch it was there.
On the day we decided to go to Woodbury Commons Outlet Park, Barabra Los on the front desk, booked our tickets and explained what we needed to do to get there - she made everything so simple.
We loved the evening drinks and found it to be a nice way to chat to our fellow guests at the end of a busy day or at the start of a fun filled NYC evening.

Thank you to all at the Muse, for making us not want to leave!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front do pick up a little noise - but ear plugs keep the noise away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear emmat13,

Thank you for your five star rating! We are so excited to see you we made you feel home away from home.

We loved having you join us for our wine reception. (It's the best hour of the day!!)

We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel remains my first choice in New York - the rooms are comfortable, front desk helpful and the doorman goes out of his way to assist. If you like boutique atmosphere, this hotel is one of best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muntinlupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Muntinlupa,

We love to read we are the FIRST CHOICE in NYC!

We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Clean rooms and great service - if you request it, they will deliver. I asked for a room in the back with a very early check-in and it was ready and waiting. Everything was just as it should be. Nothing was broken or dirty and staff was helpful when it came to arranging transportation. Location by Times Square give you quick access to most of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyetard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear eyetard,

Thank you for your fantastic review!! We are so happy you found the service and rooms fantastic!

We hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Muse hotel many times over the past 6 - 8 years and, well folks, we have nothing to say but great things about the hotel and especially about the staff who are friendly, helpful and nice people.

Room Tip: Naturally, the higher the rooms, the quieter the room but it was not a problem.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel practices environmentally friendly habits, room garbage is sorted daily.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Ed M,

WOW! Joining us for over six years?! We love to see that! Thank YOU for your loyalty and visiting us year after year. We are so happy to welcome you back each and every time.

We look forward to seeing you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#75 of 467 in New York City
4,023 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
3,396 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing