We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new york weekend”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #86 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

stayed at this hotel after a cruise .. it was absolutely fab .. from the moment we arrived to the time we left, can only be described as first class! the rooms were well decorated and very clean... the bonus was,when we arrived there was free bottled beer and wine in the lobby for a couple of hours each night.. good way to start the evening!
this hotel is extremely well located for all the sight seeing new York has to offer, times square was literally a few steps away, the staff are very attentive and just could do enough for, from organising airport transfers , to general information on the area!
if I go back to this beautiful bur crazy city.. I know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larnick25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear larnick25,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a nice review!

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for calling us fab! We think you are pretty fab yourself! We are so pleased to know you were able to enjoy our wine reception in the evening.

We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 3,336 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The Muse was the perfect "home" while visiting NYC. It is clean, safe and the staff is outstanding. The bed was so comfortable. The sounds of the city made the experience so enjoyable for me. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwatsonnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear pwatsonnc,

Thank You for the GREAT FIVE star review!

We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to have our guests feel like this is their home and we are so happy to know you felt this way! We look forward to having you return ‘home’ again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I travel frequently for business and stay in many different hotels.There is one hotel that always stands out far above the rest - The Muse Hotel In NYC. Part of the reason I enjoy the hotel is it's location - right in the heart of Times Square. The main reason I look forward to my stay is the fantastic staff at the hotel. They do everything possible to accommodate me and make my stay enjoyable. I have had great interactions with everyone at the front door to the desk to room service and management. The rooms are clean, comfortable and trendy and the evening wine reception is always a treat. I am looking forward to my next trip to the city and my stay at the Muse.

Room Tip: Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwhitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear gwhitam,

Thank you for the AWESOME review!

We are so pleased that you keep coming back to stay with us and we appreciate your loyalty!
Thank you for personally mentioning our staff as giving you exemplary service during each one of your stays.

We look forward to having you stay with us many more times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is not a 4star Hotel. The only nice thing in this hotel is the decoration of the restaurant and the lobby. Bathroom unacceptable as the slippers and bathrobes. Rooms had no boiler for coffee nor tea and we had to wait 40min for a cup of coffee in the morning from the room service. Breakfast was the poorest I have ever seen, we ordered an omelet for which we paid 23$ and last but not least the manager in charge was very rude.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHIPPINGAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear SHIPPINGAthens,

Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel décor.

We are sorry to hear that the breakfast did not meet your standards and we have shared your concerns with the restaurant managers. Please know we do have coffee makers and tea kettle available complimentary upon request and would love to ensure one of these if you choose to return.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back and roll out the red carpet and show you a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My daughter and l have just returned home from 2 weeks in the USA, five nights of which we stayed at the Muse in NY. What a great boutique hotel, located half a block from Times Square. We were upgraded to a lovely room on the 17th floor with 2 double beds and a sitting area and bath! Also a handwritten card, chocolates,fruit and water welcoming us to the hotel. Free internet is great and wine hour between 5-6 most enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, we also had a lovely meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyBongers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear JennyBongers,

Thank you for your five star rating!! We are so happy you visited us for two weeks! You were definitely a long way from home... but I am glad to see we made you feel comfortable and relaxed throughout your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a visit to New York City and the Muse hotel. We celebrated our first anniversary here and it was nothing short of wonderful. Our hotel room was ready for us when we arrived and later we were greeted outside our room door with a wonderful bottle of champagne with a Congratulations card. It is in a great location where everything is easily accessible. I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer less street noise, but overall a very quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren081388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Lauren081388,

Thank you for your five star review! We are so happy we could be part of your wonderful celebration!

Thank you for your high recommendation. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location is the best aspect of this hotel. It is situated about 20 seconds from Times Square and within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions (except ground zero and Statue of Liberty in which can be reached cheaply by a cab). The hotel itself is very clean and always felt safe as there were always security guards around. Staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms we stayed in were brilliant and the beds were by far the best I've ever experienced in a hotel! Really could not fault this hotel, it was perfect for our first time in the Big Apple!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Jack G,

It is such a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Big Apple for the first time! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your entire stay! We hope this is the first of many trips to NYC and the Muse Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#49 of 473 in New York City
3,540 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#25 of 473 in New York City
2,473 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 473 in New York City
4,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 473 in New York City
3,931 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 473 in New York City
6,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#62 Business Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $215 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing