We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Winter Honeymoon in NYC”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #61 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Perfect Winter Honeymoon in NYC”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It took us a very long time to decide on a hotel in New York for our Honeymoon. The Muse won us over with its central location, beautiful Spa Suite and great traveller reviews. Upon arrival, we were not disappointed! When checking in the concierge, Preston, noticed we were on our honeymoon and congratulated us whole-heartedly before apologising for not noticing prior to arrival. We checked into our room and were delighted with the size and decor, and the spa was exceptional! After returning to the room following dinner we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and a handwritten note from Preston, once again congratulating us on our recent marriage. This truly epitomises our time at The Muse. It was personal, warm and welcoming. All staff, from the doorman to the desk clerks were fantastic.
The location is amazing, the hotel is beautiful, yet intimate, and the evening wine reception is a great bonus but it's the staff that made it memorable for us.
We'd love to go back and highly recommend it to anyone wanting a great, intimate stay in New York City.

Room Tip: The Spa Suite is worth the extra, particularly in the colder months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Alice C,

Thank you for your amazing review! We feel privileged to have shared such a special occasion with you! So glad you enjoyed the bubbly! Cheers to you both!

We hope to celebrate with you for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,050
    829
    186
    93
    38
See reviews for
702
1,260
118
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Muse several times, and each time is a wonderful experience. The rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff are always pleasant, friendly and accomodating and I have yet to see them get impatient. The fitness center could stand to be larger, it is small and in the basement, but otherwise this place is perfect!

Room Tip: If you a traveling with a family, it makes sense to get the corner rooms with double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear lisa b,

Thank you for your five star rating! And, even more thanks for your Kimpton loyalty!

It is incredible to see you continue to travel to Kimptons and have a wonderful experience!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I like Kimpton hotels but I wasn't expecting such a sweet hotel in Times Square. Good WIFI and wine in the evenings capped a comfortable room. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. And, of course, location, location, location. It is so convenient to walk to theaters and restaurant row. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lillyatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Lillyatl,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Glad you enjoyed the location and staff! It is amazing to read you found our hotel to be a gem in the middle of Times Square!

We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only had a short time in New York, and wanted to make the most of it. The Muse was the perfect selection since it is within walking distance of many key attractions. It also had unique decor and friendly customer service. Our room was surprisingly spacious and quiet for being in the center of the city. We couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: The Executive King room was very spacious, comfortable, quiet, and beautiful. It was a great value a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank salsalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear salsalisa,

Thank you for your five star rating! Even though you only had a short time with us, glad it was a wonderful time!

We hope to see you back soon... and for a longer time for you to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Location and hotel were great....it is steps from Times Square...it was noisy but I didn't hold it against the property because the construction is around the area and not hotel. Our room was a nice size with comfortable beds...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear uthorn,

Thank you for the positive review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our location in Times Square. We are sorry about the noise you experienced. On your next stay make sure to reach out to our team so we can locate a quieter room for you to enjoy.

We look forward to having you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spent out anniversary in NYC and were treated likely royalty by the hotel staff. Hotel is spotless, room was spotless & modern and fairly quiet. This hotel has outstanding customer service! Couple blocks off times square, so location is super convenient. Dinning room is so/so.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room so you minimize street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleLeaf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear MapleLeaf49,

What a sweet review! On your anniversary you should always be treated like a King and Queen! We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Admittedly I am a Kimpton lover so I probably already have a bias skewed toward to the good going in. That be said I stayed here back in May for a group of business meetings I planned for my company. Our group had an excellent experience overall and really loved the property, service and everything that came with it.

The location: The Muse is located in Times Sq but it's not right on the main strip which makes it a grey location because you are not right in the heart if all the craziness of Times Sq. However, 46th street is a little bit if a weird street because there are little stores and quick places to grab food located on the street right before getting to some type of school and the loading dock to a building. All of this makes for ways you could actually just walk or drive past the hotel if you didn't readily know where it was. It also made it hard at times to catch a cab because it wasn't a highly trafficked street.

The hotel: The minute you approach the hotel doors you are greeted with nothing but too class service form the bellman to the front desk attendants. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you feel welcomed and that you have everything you need. One interesting piece of information and must-see while there are the public bathrooms, just behind the front desk. The restroom has a theme of the 7 sins, so they are very interesting. Each "stall" is its own sin.

The rooms are really nice, definitely matches what you expect of Kimpton's. The beds have these huge tufted headboards, that I love and are so comfortable. I got some really awesome sleep while I was there. The bathrooms are pretty sizeable and dare I even say large for a boutique hotel and for a NY hotel in general. You can actually have 2 people in the bathroom at once and not bump into or be right on top of each other.

On the meetings & events side we had a really great event. The catering staff there is awesome. Definitely went the extra mile every time to make sure we had what we needed and things were to our liking. The catered food was really good, particularly this Shrimp Salad on a Cumcumber slice. It was the most refreshing and light but satisfying thing I've ever had. Our onsite Catering Manager Jeany was really amazing. She did everything she could to make sure our group's experience was a positive one. Even after departure the experience or service level was just as high. Working with Maria to reconcile our account, she was so responsive and willing to answer any questions I had.

The only thing I would say they are lacking is a true business center. They do have a computer for guests to use next to the front desk and they will print stuff out for you, so they do accommodate for that.

I will definitely be back for business or leisure, whichever happens first.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear PinkPrincess,

Thank you for your positive and thorough feedback. We are beyond delighted to hear that all of our staff were welcoming and of great assistance throughout your stay. Our bathrooms are definitely a must see and we love to hear our guests talk about it.

It is wonderful to know that your group had a great meeting and event while you were here. We will make sure to give our sales team a big pat on the back for the great work they put in to ensure a great experience.

We hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
4,029 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#25 of 466 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,400 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing