We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel steps from Times Square”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #65 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We travel to NYC often, and this was our first time staying at the Muse. When I booked through Hotwire, I had no idea the Muse would be the hotel. The rate was under $210, so given NYC prices this was excellent. We're also Kimpton members. Upon arrival, we were told that we'd been upgraded to a suite. For only two people, we had so much space--two TV's, amazingly comfortable king bed, and wonderful amenities. There were only two down sides--the view from our room was terrible (looking directly onto the building next to the hotel, no sunlight whatsoever), and there were a few spots of mold on the tub's caulking. The rest of the suite and bathroom were extremely clean.

The wine reception from 5-6 pm was nice, and each morning coffee and tea were served in lobby. The water, lemonade, and ice tea in the lobby were also refreshing and appreciated.

The TVs had more channel selections than I've ever experienced at any hotel, but I imagine few come to NYC to watch TV. We ordered room service for breakfast one morning, and it was deliciious and delivered on time. One night we had drinks in the adjoining restaurant bar (Nios), and the atmosphere was wonderful.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theatremom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear theatremom,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your warm comments! We appreciate the five star rating... so glad we were able to complimentary upgrade you to our executive suite. Although, these rooms face the back of the building, the room does face away from street noise, which is rare to find in Times Square.

We are overjoyed to see you participated in the wine reception and the refreshments throughout the day!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,223)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Muse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,586 - 1,592 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having stayed a two California Kimptons (The Argonaut in San Francisco and the one in San Diego) i have very high expectations for any Kimpton. The Muse in NYC has the advantage of a great location being just a block off Broadway and a few blocks from Times Square and it is a very good hotel. The reason for the less than expected perfection? We are InTouch members. We had ordered chilled champagne and a cheese plate for our room on arrival (fully expecting to pay for these). Instead, and i believe it was well intended, we got a bottle of red wine and a cheese plate gratis. There was a bug in the cheese plate. After bringing this to the attention of management they addressed it immediately and gave us a free dinner. But for a Kimpton this shuold not have happened in the first place, especially at $458/ night. The mattress was soft and lumpy to boot.

Room Tip: The spa suite was very nice; a little more room and a very deep spa tub to enjoy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Chris J,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed a handful of Kimptons. We appreciate the loyalty. We apologize we were unable to provide a perfect experience for you. We will make sure to pay closer attention to amenity requests... I am relieved to see our Restaurant manager was able to provide a nice experience in Nios for you. We hope you continue to enjoy all of our Kimpton properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great hotel and great location! Great staff, very nice. We love Kimpton hotels as they are different than your typical hotels. The décor is usually more modern than say a Marriot or Hilton. Good size rooms for New York City. Become a Kimpton member, there are some pretty cool perks!

Room Tip: Its New York, so to find a room that's quiet seems like a waste of time. It's just loud!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Monby,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

We are glad you found our decor modern and unique!

We also appreciate your positive feedback about our staff...we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Muse was a wonderful hotel--great location, beautiful rooms, and the nicest, most helpful staff I've ever encountered. It felt like home! Would definitely stay here again --hopefully soon! We were traveling for both business and pleasure, and our needs were met in both categories.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Kathy B,

Thank you for your five star review!

We are so happy you enjoyed your most recent stay with us.
It is beyond amazing to hear we made you feel at home!

We hope to be your continued home away from home each time you visit NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I am a huge Kimpton fan, staying at close to 10 of their different properties. At every single property I've visited the hotel was hip, cool, clean and the staff was beyond welcoming.

The Muse just fell short. The rooms were not that stylish, welcoming or interesting. The bathrooms had the appearance of being cleaned daily, but never deep cleaned (mold in the shower), and the staff appeared indifferent to our existence.

This hotel is not bad.. but lacked the Kimpton touch that I have come to expect.

Room Tip: Large rooms and free wifi.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkarolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear mkarolian,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your loyalty to Kimpton Hotels. We are glad to see your overall experience at various locations are wonderful.

We do apologize you did not find our property to meet the standards you expected. We hope to have the chance to speak with you further about your experience. I welcome you to reach out to the Hotel directly so we can address your concerns and hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

We hope to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location - close to Time Square and the Theatre District. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the evening Happy Hour was a nice treat and the rooms were great. Rolando and Ivana were extremely accommodating, courteous and kind. The recommendations for restaurants, directions to venues and responsiveness to requests was unmatched and greatly appreciated. This hotel is a gem!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Maureen K,

Thank you for your five star review.

We are so excited to see our concierge team was extremely helpful and friendly!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have stayed at The Muse many times over the years when in New York for business. It is small and "trendy" but welcoming and friendly. It is always busy due to its great location just off of Times Square on one side and Sixth Avenue on the other. The staff has always been friendly and responsive to requests. I recommend asking for rooms ending with "13," such as 1013. They tend to be bigger with king beds, quieter and have a fold out sofa bed -- good if you're bringing two kids.

The small bar/restaurant makes a good breakfast and the service has always been fast.

Room Tip: Choose rooms ending in "13." They are bigger, quieter and have fold out sofa beds.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_of_Five_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Family_of_Five_DC,

Thank you for your five star rating!!

We are so happy you found our hotel to be a hidden gem in the busy Time Square area!

It is also wonderful to have the opportunity to continuously welcome you back to the Muse Family.

Thank you for your compliments about out "13" line... this line is our Executive Suite room type. This room provides a very comfortable setting with a living room area and separate king bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#70 of 468 in New York City
4,054 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,389 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 468 in New York City
3,421 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $259 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing