We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was expecting a little more for $539/night”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
del mar, ca
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I was expecting a little more for $539/night”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is very nice and the staff was friendly, but for that price....the room was small, nowhere in the bathroom to put toiletries and our view was of an ugly building accross the street. No real complaints, but I look elsewhere for a better price next time. They also don't have coffee makers in the rooms. I mentioned it when we were checking out.......she said I could have asked for one. Maybe they could have mentioned that when we ordered only a pot of coffee from room service for $15.50 plus tip two mornings in a row.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsnolan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear dsnolan4,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to see you found our staff to be friendly.

We do apologize you were unsatisfied with your room and amenities. There are a variety of complimentary amenities available to you during your stay- including a coffee maker. The list of amenities is located in the bathroom for you to choose from throughout your stay. We do value your support and hope you would consider visiting us again.

I welcome you to reach out to us directly at 212-485-2400 if you do plan to see us again, so we can ensure all amenities and expectations are met even before your arrival! We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    814
    179
    90
    38
See reviews for
684
1,238
115
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Muse on the first leg of our honeymoon. The muse is a modern hotel and we found the staff very friendly and the daily free wine hour was a fantastic extra.

The Muse is just round the corner from Times Square which brings its advantages and disadvantages. This was our first trip to New York and wanted the ability to walk to the main attractions which meant this hotel was fantastic for us

The main negative was how noisy the air con in the room was. This is probably something to be looked at because it did wake us up in the night a couple of times but it didn't ruin the hotel or holiday

Room Tip: We had a room to the side and found that it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear EnglishHolidays,

Thank you for your review...we are so happy to have the opportunity to welcome your husband and you to NYC. We are glad to see your overall visit with us was great- location is very important and we are glad you found the area to be perfect for your trip.

We apologize about the noise your experienced from the air con- we will make sure to focus on this during our daily room inspections to ensure the noise level does disrupt our guests stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and is perfectly located. Convenient to Times Square as well as the theaters. The rooms and the bathrooms are large and have everything you need. The staff is great. They have coffee available in the morning as well as the New York Times. Late in the afternoon they had live music (Friday night) in the lobby/bar area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJfromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear DJfromTX,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are thrilled to see you found our hotel beautiful and perfectly located! I see by the reference of live music- you were with us during Cinco de Mayo! Our Mariachi Band at wine hour was a hit! So glad to see you enjoyed it... we love celebrating all occasions; hopefully we can see you back during another fun event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My first visit to NY May 2012. We were recommended the Muse as it is centrally located and a good starting point when you are first time visitors in the city. The Muse is VERY central. The staff is very attentive and helpful. They gave us great tips for restaurants, bars and rooftop terraces which we tried out. There was free coffee in the morning and wine tasting in the afternoon. The bar was great. Before arrival we contacted the hotel to ask of they could sign on some parcels that we wanted delivered to the hotel - and that was no problem. Our hotel room was small, however, I think it's quite an OK size for a NY hotel room. We had a room facing the street and it was a bit noisy, so if you're a lightsleeper ask for a room facing the other side, or bring earplugs. The room was a bit more worn than I expected, but the overall experience made up for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivi4020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Sivi4020,

Thank you for your review. We are feel truly privileged to be the hotel of choice for your first time to NYC. We are so pleased to see our staff was attentive in assisting you with inquiries you had during your visit. Our hotel is centrally located to Times Square- which is an attraction every first time visitor to NYC should see! However, at times, it may be noisy... we will be happy to block you for a room facing the back of our building the next you travel to us. We hope there is a second trip in the works!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at The Muse, where family members - including 5 and 8 -yr.old grandsons - joined in celebrating my birthday and sightseeing in NYC. The hotel's location - just steps away from Times Square - made theaters, shops, and a number of restaurants/eateries easily accessible but provided sufficient quiet for quality sleeping. Rooms are large and well appointed. We arrived in the midst of their Cinco de Mayo festivities and found the wine receptions held on subsequent evenings equally enjoyable. Staff members were accommodating, helpful but never intrusive. Housekeeping staff returned very late one evening to clean the room, when we left earlier in the day and failed to remove the door sign asking for privacy. Long list of items available for delivery, "in case you forgot" or needed them. Our request for a coffee maker was addressed quickly, even though there was coffee set up in the lobby each morning. All in all -- an excellent stay in an outstanding location!

Room Tip: Corner room with king sized bed was excellent.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel provides opportunity to participate in environmentally-friendly recycling. Guest can determine frequency of changing bed linens and towels.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibraryLady1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear LibraryLady1962,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your 5 night stay with us! We hope you had a fabulous birthday celebration in the Big Apple!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at The Muse hotel this past weekend with my partner and I have to say it was a GREAT experience. While located in the epicenter of Times Square, this hotel still sits somewhat off the beaten path so travelers can still get a feel for being in the midst of it all, but can retreat to this little oasis on 46th between Broadway and 6th. The staff were amazing and there at your beckoning call. From the bellhop to the concierge everyone was respectful, helpful and super responsive to our needs. The rooms were very clean with a modern look and feel. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keera03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Keera03,

Thank you for your five star rating! We love to see our staff was wonderful!!
We thank you for your support as well and look forward to welcoming all of your friends and you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in March/April 2013 for my girlfriend's 21st birthday and we couldn't have had a better time.

The hotel is in an excellent location and is only 1/2 a block from the thick of Times Square. Being set back off Times Square makes it great if you want to avoid the hectic crowds too as you can easily head the opposite way down the street and make a quick getaway.

By NYC standards the room was enormous. Much bigger than any hotels I've stayed at before on previous trips. And there was plenty of room for all our luggage (our overall trip was 4 weeks long) and shopping we got through.

The in-room TV's also had the widest array of cable TV channels I've seen in a hotel. There was no need to pay for movies because something was always on for free. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel was also a massive bonus.

The hotel had a hosted wine reception each evening we were there and a nice little bar beside the lobby. We had room service for breakfast one morning and although pricey it was of great quality.

The staff were tremendous and catered to our every need, including having a taxi ready when we checked out at 5:30AM for our early flight out of JFK.

Would definitely stay here again. In fact, I don't think we would stay anywhere else. We had an absolute 5 star experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimNCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear TimNCass,

WOW! Thank you for your incredible five star review! We are so happy you had such a fantastic 7-night stay with us. It is great to see your girlfriend had such a wonderful birthday celebration at the Muse!

We can't wait to see you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing