We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #47 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We typically like to stay in other areas than Times Square, but when we take relatives to NYC and Times Square is a must for them, we try to stay at the Muse.
Its a boutique hotel that is steps from the main Times Square area. The hotel is very clean, although the rooms, as with the rest of Manhattan, can be pretty tight. However, space aside, bed is comfortable, room and bathrooms clean, towels are plush, and they have happy hour in the lobby where they serve wine and some light snacks. There's a convenience store next door if you need snacks or water, and a chinese restaurant with pretty decent food, including soup dumplings (you can get better in China Town, but hey, still not bad at all).
Their lobby bathrooms are also pretty cute--each stall has its own theme (i.e. one stall would have 'Envy' as the theme and be decorated in green all over)...its just a fun hotel with a bit of personality and a convenient location.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sweet P,

Thank you for your five star review! We are so glad to see you brought the family to stay with us! We are sorry to see the rooms were a bit tight, but if you reach out to our reservation team or the hotel directly, we would be happy to suggest other room type options. We are glad to see you enjoyed the hotel overall- even the funky lobby bathrooms! We love to see that you found our Hotel fun with a bit of personality! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,947
    793
    172
    88
    36
See reviews for
657
1,194
110
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I really enjoy staying at the Muse. I am a pretty frequent traveler to NYC and I really appreciate being made to feel like I am a member of the family when I stay there. The staff is unfailingly polite and friendly and always greets guests when they head out in the morning and return for the day. During my last trip to NYC, I was booked into another Kimpton Hotel because the Muse was full, but I walked passed the Muse in the morning on my way to a meeting and stopped in to see if any rooms had opened up. Barbara, the concierge, went the extra mile to see if my reservation could be switched. She was successful and seemed genuinely pleased that she could help. The hotel itself is in great shape. Some rooms are larger than others, but they are all comfortable and well equipped. Nios serves good food and is a comfortable place to grab a bite and a drink at the end of a long day. All in all, it is great to find a place in a busy city that makes it easy to relax and makes one feel so welcome. I look forward to future visits to the Muse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMonster19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear GreenMonster19,

Thank you for your five star rating! We are so happy you consider the Muse a "home away from home". (Phew!)...We are so glad we were able to accommodate you during your last trip! We hope to to continue to provide you with a warm and welcoming environment. Thank you for your support and loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalon, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

As this was our first trip to New York and with a 5 year wait (due to personal circumstances) we wanted it to be perfect. I did a lot of research on the internet and have to say was ecstatic at the results. Although we booked the holiday through Virgin Atlantic I found the hotel website on the internet and took advantage of becoming an "In Touch" member and also lots more info. The hotel was simply the best. The staff, the decor, the wine hour! Our room was plenty big enough with 2 double beds situated at the front on the hotel on the 12th floor with no problems with noise at all. It was to be a shopping, shows and wine bar trip for Mum and I and the location of The Muse proved perfect for all of three. Thanks to Sam Goldberg and ALL the team who made us feel very welcome. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay again some day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannaM790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear SuzannaM790,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We love to see five star ratings- it lets us know we are doing everything we can to make your experience the best it can be! We are thrilled to see a trip that was a long time coming was a great success! We hope we have the chance to see you back soon! Thank you for joining our loyalty program! We hope you enjoyed all the complimentary perks included in the membership!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a Long weekend away. The location is great, the amenities more than we need and the staff were always more than helpful and cheerful. I would definitely stay again. Room was a bit tight on space but that didn't bother us, it was comfortable with the king sized bed and enough space to move around.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Lauren R,

Thank you for time taking the time to write about us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are glad to see our staff was so helpful as well.

Next time you plan to visit us, we would be happy to explain additional room types that you may be interested in. We look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent 5 days here as a family of 5. My husband and I shared a king suite (1113)with our 11 yr old on a sofabed in a small lounge area and our 2 sons in 1114 a room with 2 queen beds next door. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds very comfortable. We didn't try breakfast as we tried several diners nearby. The location of the hotel is 30 seconds from Times Square but you would never think that from inside your room. We walked everywhere during our visit and found the location excellent. Thoroughly rrecommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Nicola W,

Wow! Thank you for your five star rating! We love to welcome families to the Hotel and hope to provide a great experience for everyone! We are so glad everyone enjoyed the visit. We hope next time you stay with us, you have the chance to try our great restaurant, Nios! (But, there are great restaurants to try in the area as well!) Thank you for thoroughly recommending!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for a week at the Muse Hotel in New York City which was a great experience. The hotel is in an excellent location right in the hub of Times Square and close to the subway.

Staff were helpful and friendly at all times [bellmen were great]. Stayed on the 11th floor [room 1112] and suprising quiet despite being so close to Times Square.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high foor , ask for a room to the back .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collinview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear collinview,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad to see our bellmen and staff were accommodating during your week long stay! We hope you enjoyed NYC and the half- block walk to Times Square from the Hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have been staying at the Muse Hotel in NY for several years now, and its become my favorite hotel in the city, from the moment I arrive I am greeted by very warm and friendly people, including the bellmen and the nice people at the registration, who always recognize adn remember me time and time again. The rooms are spacious for a boutique hotel and easy to get to and from, the bar/restaurant is relaxing and welcoming at anytime of day and night. The rennovations that were done over the past few years to the restaurant have really increased the value of staying at the Muse. Yes, its convienent to my company offices but there is no place I would rather stay in NY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Paul F,

Thank you for your five star rating! We are so happy to see you continuously enjoy your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#55 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,814 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#48 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#36 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,199 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#35 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: The Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing