We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique in a convenient location”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #66 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Muse is a nice boutique situated just off of Times Square on 46th Street between 6th and 7th. The staff is friendly, but the location, though convenient, is unfortunately located on a street that seems a bit seedy.

Vacant building across the street, looking to be refurbished. Cheap cafes close by. Not easy to catch a cab outside of the hotel, but easy to catch one if you walk a very short distance to 6th.

The hotel has free tea and coffee in the morning, but they ran out each of the two days that we were there.

The lobby is very nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are small, but this is Midtown. However, they are clean, comfortable and well appointed. Not much of a view.

The location is a block from the Theaters and some very good restaurants within walking distance (Del Frisco's, Bobby Flay's Bar Amercain).

All in all, the hotel is worth the price, safe and comfortable. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mliccar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear mliccar,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our area in the Theater District. We apologize you did not find the venues around us to meet to your satisfaction. The concierge team will be more than happy to suggest great, local spots the next time you visit!
We are glad you found the Hotel to be worth the price, safe, and comfortable!! We can't wait to have you return. Please reach out to the hotel directly so we can block you in a room more to your liking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,756 of 3,247 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in room 515. We had requested a quiet room and while we did not get the garbage trucks in the middle of the night we did have a squeaky construction elevator which went up and down all day long a few metres from our bedroom window. There was also, occasionally a strange cooking smell which came through the ventilation system. However, apart from those things the hotel was pretty good. Our room was very comfortable, good bed and powerful shower. The reception staff were very helpful as were the doormen. We found the bar staff rather brusque and unwelcoming and the breakfast was not particularly inviting. The fruit salad for which they charged $7 was unsinspiring with virtually all the fruit very under-ripe. We only had breakfast there once, going instead to Europa on the street corner for a much more economical and varied breakfast. It is in a good position, near Times Square and the theatre district. I would recommend it despite my criticisms!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Adele D,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate everything you have mentioned and will make sure to follow up on all the concerns you wrote. I am glad you found our Hotel to be comfortable and hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Thank you for complimenting our front desk and door staff! We are glad they were all so helpful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had stayed at the Kimpton property on the East Side, and decided to stay at the Muse because of our plan to see a show over the weekend. The Muse is similar to other Kimpton properties - modern art deco, dark colors, interesting sculptures in lobby. It is a smaller hotel and you will not be crushed in crowds of other guests as I saw in the nearby Marriott. The front desk staff was efficient and cheerful when we checked in on Friday late afternoon, and checkout was equally efficient. Our corner king room was similar to other Kimpton properties - well maintained, a nice size bathroom, comfortable bed, feather pillows, and an ipod dock in the radio. We had a ninth floor corner room, and except for a Saturday morning garbage pickup we neither experienced street noise nor noise from other guests. I took advantage of Kimpton's spring rates to get the larger corner king room, and it was fine for the two of us but we hardly were in the room. The adjoining restaurant/bar was somewhat full when we went for drinks on Friday night and empty Saturday night late. We did not try the food but we did thoroughly sampled the adult beverages. The Muse is a half block from Times Square, and it is an easy walk to any theater. Cabs are plentiful on Broadway, but not many turn down 46th to go by the hotel. The crowds of tourists get left behind on Broadway when turning up 46th to get to the hotel. The hotel is far enough from heavy traffic to avoid the noise and vibration. Overall, I would come again

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to avoid street noise, and wait for a Kimpton special to get discounted rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medve99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Medve99,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad you were able to experience our restaurant, Nios, as well!

Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Located on West 46th and Broadway it's a great location right in the middle of all the action, no taxi necessary.
Everyone was on top of their game, the customer service was impeccable, and what you would expect from Kimpton properties.
They ensured that every one in my party, from our 5 year to our 14 year old Chihuahua were very comfortable.
Though room service could get a little pricey with all the extra fees, the pancakes are OUT OF THIS WORLD...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxidiataltys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear taxidiataltys,

Thank you for your great review! We are so happy to see you found our service to be impeccable! We truly aim to make every guests visit special! We are also glad that our puppy program was to your satisfaction! We look forward to welcoming your entire family back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have stayed at Kimpton hotels in Boston and the west coast, but for some reason hadn't looked at their options when staying previously in New York. I was hoping, from our previous great experiences with Kimpton, that this would be a little more spacious than some of the smaller and much more expensive options we've stayed in before. I was pleasantly surprised to be proved right!

Through their loyalty In Touch programme (highly recommended) we got a very reasonably priced upgrade so had a lovely room with a large bathroom and very comfortable king sized bed. Normally you have to sacrifice space for a central location but not with this hotel. The rooms are a high standard and have all amenities that you need. The hotel is located on W46th and Broadway so very good for getting around mid-town NY on foot. It really makes such a difference not to be having to walk miles to get anywhere so I would definitely stay here again.

The only downsides were that the lovely evening wine reception that all Kimptons offer takes place in the lobby - admittedly it was a cold weekend in early March but there is a draught that blows through every time the front door opens which definitely takes the edge off it! The air con in our room was quite noisy but those were really the only negatives we had on an otherwise great stay. We also got a late check-out which was so helpful before our evening flight back and really added to our final day in the city.

As with all previous experiences of Kimptons, the staff are terrific, helpful and efficient. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Join the In Touch programme and ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear ASWh,

Thank you for your amazing five star rating! We are so excited you decided to stay with us and really enjoyed your time! We also would like to thank you for being an InTouch member! (aren't the perks great?!) We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for recently for 5 nights in an Executive King Room. Overall, it was a mostly positive stay but there were a few times where I thought the service was lacking.

I arrived early to check in (about 12pm) and was curtly told the room was not yet ready and to "come back around 3 o'clock". Okay, fair enough, they took our bags and off we went. On the evening prior to check-out, I called to see if I could request a late checkout of 1pm (that's one hour). I was told that no late check-outs were being offered. Given that I had just stayed 5 nights, I didn't think it was pushing it to ask for a one hour late check-out and was surprised at how prompt they were to reject it. All that makes me suspect that their housekeeping staff are stretched to the limit. These suspicions were further endorsed by the cleaning of the rooms. On the first morning, I left around 8am and came back about 3pm and the room still wasn't cleaned. Another day, we had used the "do not disturb" sign and then requested fresh towels from housekeeping. The lady came to our room and made quite a fuss (though I couldn't quite understand what she was saying) about being called up. On another day, one of the "fresh" towels on it had a pretty obvious stain. Finally on the housekeeping issue, I noticed they don't change the bedsheets. Most hotels give you the option whether to change the bedsheets or not.

Noise from outside was also an issue. I had requested a quiet room but found it very difficult to sleep (even with ear plugs) on the first two nights. It improved after that.

The bathroom in my room had writing all over one wall, it looked like markings that had been made by a plumber / builder. It doesn't interfere but I would expect a hotel that charges over $200 per night for that room to get that cleaned up.

Other than that, I have a few positive things to say about the hotel.

They were helpful in arranging transport for me a couple of times.

The front desk staff for the most part are very friendly and welcome guests back to the hotel.

The lobby, elevators and other common areas that I saw are spotlessly clean and very elegant looking.

Great neighbourhood with a lot of restaurant and shopping choices nearby.

There are a lot of choices of places to stay in New York, so I'm not sure if I would necessarily return to any hotel I'd been to before, but this is certainly a good bet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_outcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear the out_cast,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the noise and dissatsifaction with your room. I welcome you to reach out to the Hotel directly, so we can block you for a better suited room for you next time. Thank you again for reaching out to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stay here for business regularly. Best hotel for the value one could ask for in the heart of midtown.

Top notch staff.
Great location.
Nice amenities.
Inner Circle Rewards Program.
Consistently excellent value.
Gymn could be a bit bigger, but they make the most of the space!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dc1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Dc1210,

Thank you for your 5- star review! We are so pleased you enjoy our hotel. Thank you for your loyalty as an Inner Circle Member, as well! We hope to continue to provide top notch service to you. I welcome you to reach out to the front desk and we can provide additional information about other gym facilities in our immediate area. Thank you, again, for your loyalty and wonderful feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#70 of 469 in New York City
4,072 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,406 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,436 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#63 of 469 in New York City
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $239 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing