We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$297
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$187
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$166
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$173
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$375
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$305
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,385)
Filter reviews
3,385 results
Traveler rating
2,159
868
212
103
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,159
868
212
103
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarewine hourwine receptionnew yorkcomplimentary winethe theater districthalf blockmini barfront desk staffeach eveningperfect locationgreat boutiquecupcakesstreet noisebroadway showhotel restaurantby nyc standards
Filter
Updating list...
1,911 - 1,916 of 3,385 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want a good night of sleep, stay some where else. I loved this hotel but I swear they were tearing down the building across the street from me in the middle of the night. And it wasn't the time square noise or lights, it was dumpster collection every night I was there. It was horrible and I maybe got 3 hours of sleep the two nights I was there. And maybe you can ask for a room on the other side of the building but my room faced the street and it was horrible. I hate giving a bad review for something like this as this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in but I want to give you a warning if you want to get some sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Lauren A,

Thank you for your information. We apologize you had trouble with the street noise. Unfortunately, we can not control the construction or other activities throughout the night. I hope we can welcome you back and if so, if you reach out to the Hotel directly, we will make sure to block you on a high floor, facing the back of the building.

Thank you again for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times in about 6 years and it remains consistently good. When coming to NYC it is our preferred option. We go for the straightforward King Deluxe room - have never had a view - but we don't really mind. It is probably quieter than being on the street. The beds are super comfortable with great linen.
Love the hot chocolate service from 3pm and wine from 5pm. Staff are all without exception friendly and eager to please. Like others we were delayed returning to the UK because of storm Nemo. This is where the staff really shone...we were given a late checkout to 3pm (on a Saturday) so that we wouldn't have to sit at JFK for hours. A car was booked by the concierge to take us to JFK so that we didn't have to worry about hailing a cab in the snow. (Cost was probably $10 more than taking a regular taxi); Cheryl on the front desk printed our boarding passes and delivered them to me by hand! I can't praise them enough. My only quibble: breakfast could be a bit more exciting - but then if there isn't snow stopping you there are a ton of places to go for breakfast nearby - so it really is a very minor moan. My tip: Join Kimpton Hotels and as a member you get free wifi for your entire stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear JAP25,

Thank you so much for your five star post!
We are so happy you continue to visit us and enjoy our Hotel staff.

We look forward to seeing you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

my wife and I were on our way home from aruba and I had booked the Muse. We are in NYC quite often and have stayed in at least 12 different hotels, from the Plaza to the Waldorf but were pleasantly surprised with this place. The staff were very accommodating, the wine bar is very nice and if you sign up for their program the wifi is free, nice touch plus lots a plus's for the signup. Room was more the adequate, bathroom a little weak but overall very great value.

Room Tip: well worth every penny, didn't have much of a view but great value.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellsey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear wellsey60,

Thank you for your post! We are happy you visited the Muse and found the overall experience very nice. We hope to be your hotel of choice the next time you travel to the Big Apple!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a very nice hotel to consider if you are visiting the midtown area for business or pleasure. It is a mid-sized property – only about 200 rooms on 19 floors – but is situated on a quiet street (at least as quiet as NYC can be). Shocking really – as Times Square is about a block away! We were on the 10th floor and had no noise complaints. The front desk staff were pleasant. The rooms are reasonably sized and the bathroom was quite large. Nice television, tons of channels. Really comfortable bed. As with most NYC properties, the room service costs were incredibly high and our room was relatively expensive – but it was a work trip. There is an attached bar / restaurant called Nios that was nice for a drink. All and all we would say this is quality choice if you can get it at the right price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Simbet,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed the location... just steps away from Times Square to enjoy broadway shows and more (and didn't experience too much noise!) We hope to see you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Half a block from times sq, reasonably priced boutique hotel, free wine hour,friendly knowledgeable staff, great beds,...what more could you ask? I was tempted not to write this review so it wouldn't get too popular but decided that would not be fair. Storm Nemo made us stay another night..they gave it to us at our existing rate (it normally is higher on Sat nights). We were not much on the Surrealist art in the room, but at least they were unobtrusive and could be easily ignored.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear xia,

Thank you for your wonderful post!
We are glad you didn't resist and wrote about your great stay. We love to have potential guests see the great treatment they will receive at the Muse! We are so happy you enjoyed the staff and wine hour.

We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews