We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at The Muse”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #66 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Myself and 3 girl friends visited The Muse in November. From the outset, the reception staff, particularly Marc, the concierge, were most helpful and friendly. A mix up with our room (no fault of the hotel) was dealt with immediately and to our satisfaction and the bell staff were most accommodating too.

In the lobby they serve complementary coffee in the morning, hot chocolate in the afternoon and wine at 5:00 which, after a long day of sight seeing, was a most welcome addition.

The hotel was extremely well situated, just off Times Square, but there was little noise. The rooms were large and the beds very comfortable.

I will be travelling to New York in the future and will definately be staying at The Muse again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GECEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear GECEscape,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Muse during your visit to the Big Apple!
We are pleased to see your friends and you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for the "shout out" to our concierge and bell staff. They will be very happy to see this posting! Also, I see there was a mix up with your room; we are relieved it was dealt with efficiently. We hope the next time you visit, it will be seamless!

We can't wait to see you back! Please reach out to us before your next arrival, so we can all welcome you back!

Thank you for your support!

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,867 - 1,873 of 3,251 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Recently my wife and I, along with her brother and his wife, spent two great nights at The Muse Hotel. From the greeting we received from the bellmen to the great friendly service at the registration desk, the stay could not have been better.

This is a small hotel with all the services of larger hotels and a hotel that all employees make you feel welcome. Rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. I highly recommend The Muse.

Room Tip: Four rooms on the 14th floor have balcones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed in New York 4 times previously, but this is by far the best hotel we have used.

1) Great location - just off Times Square, but noise isn't a problem. We stayed in a front facing room, room 1403, and the slight street noise caused us no distraction

2) Good rooms - very good size for New York, and really well decorated

3) Wonderful service - after checking in, every member of staff remembered my sons name and greeted him every day with a 'good morning Jacob'. It's little touches like that that make a difference

4) Look out for Einstein - he is in the foyer!!!!

We are looking at NYC again in a couple of years, and we know where we will be staying - The Muse Hotel

Thanks again, Mark, Natalie and Jacob

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-B-Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Muse for 4 nights for a business trip, based on reviews here, and its proximity to places I had to be for work, which were all about a 10 min walk. The location is fantastic. Staff was friendly and helpful, wifi is free (if signing up for kimpton hotel whatnot), there is good free coffee in the morning, and happy hour with free wine in the lobby from 5-6. I spent most of a cold day outside and got back to the hotel about 10 minutes after 6, when the wine was put away, but was given a glass anyway, which was welcome! Decor wise, it might be looking slightly worn around the edges, and the yoga channel didn't work, but all in all, I would totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the 17th floor - I could hear garbage trucks very early the first morning, but otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travler019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Travler09,

Thank you for your comments! We thank you for your loyalty and are ecstatic you were able to enjoy all the membership perks!

We apologize for the yoga channel not working. Next time, please contact the front desk and we will have engineering look into the issue. We will make sure to have this working properly for you next time.

Have a wonderful holiday season and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is the second year we have stayed at the Muse. The staff went out of their way to help in any way they could. The hot chocolate in the afternoon was a great way to warm up after a day out in the cold. The wine bar was a nice to start to evening before dinner. The hotel is close to 7th and Broadway so it is within walking distance to plays, shopping and just sight seeing. The subway was close by also.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gadabout68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We originally booked for the very busy Marriott Marquis, but after staying at a Kimpton Hotel in Minneapolis, decided to try a quieter hotel in NY. It turned out to be a good decision, from half price parking for our hybrid car to a welcoming, friendly staff, to a nicely appointed, clean and quiet room, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. In the lobby they serve complementary coffee in the morning, hot chocolate in the afternoon and wine at 5:00. They even offered free wrapping of Xmas presents from 6 - 7.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Michael B,

We are so happy you chose to stay with us during your trip to NYC. We are glad our staff was warm and friendly and you enjoyed all the amenities of the Hotel.

We are happy you are following the Kimpton Hotels around the country- The Grand Hotel in Minneapolis is amazing! Keep travelling!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

All the best,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

In September I held an event in NYC and booked 17 rooms at The Muse. Everyone was amazingly helpful with all the details and I can't say enough good things about the entire staff! One word of caution, and this is not negative, just a heads up, you will be charged a flat rate for the door/bell staff. If you want to give them something extra that's great, but you are paying for their service.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Cheryl S,

Thank you for you wonderful feedback- we are thrilled your group and you enjoyed your trip to the Muse! We hope to see you back soon.

Also, as you stated, group bookings are contracted and porterage fees do apply for 10 or more room blocks. These fees do not apply for leisure travel and non group bookings.

Happy Holidays and hope to see you back next year!

Best,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#68 of 469 in New York City
4,075 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,410 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,437 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 469 in New York City
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $236 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing