We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel in NYC!”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #66 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

In September I held an event in NYC and booked 17 rooms at The Muse. Everyone was amazingly helpful with all the details and I can't say enough good things about the entire staff! One word of caution, and this is not negative, just a heads up, you will be charged a flat rate for the door/bell staff. If you want to give them something extra that's great, but you are paying for their service.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Cheryl S,

Thank you for you wonderful feedback- we are thrilled your group and you enjoyed your trip to the Muse! We hope to see you back soon.

Also, as you stated, group bookings are contracted and porterage fees do apply for 10 or more room blocks. These fees do not apply for leisure travel and non group bookings.

Happy Holidays and hope to see you back next year!

Best,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,892 - 1,898 of 3,272 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Superb hotel, rooms very comfortable, great position (just off Times Square), Irish bar and Scottish bar next door (great atmosphere) Staff more than helpful especially Linda. Helped with advice on trips and booked trips for us. Continental breakfasts were good and a free wine and beer hour every night was novel. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Our party of 6 had a great break in New York and this hotel made our break even more special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear BCR60,

We are thrilled to see your party and you had a great stay with us! We hope to see you back soon to celebrate more special occasions with us!

Best,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Location, decore and most important the staff were amazing. The bed however was painful. We had adjoining rooms and the kids beds on the double room were great. Ours sagged so bad I used a pillow to keep from falling out of the bed. Next day when I asked them to please do something I saw that under the mattress they were using a sheet of plywood so I guess I wasn't the first to experience this pain. The other disgusting part was the filth under the mattress pad, not sure when that was last changed or cleaned but not acceptable. The manager was very accomidating when I showed her the pictures. They did move a mattress from another room that was unfortunately in a similar condition. I do like everything at this hotel but a Holiday Inn would provide a better sleep. Too bad.

Room Tip: Check the the cleanliness under the sheets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear yreme,

We appreciate all the feedback you have provided. We are glad you were very satisfied with the location, decor, and staff. We hope you took advantage of the theater district!

However, I am sorry to see you did not have a very comfortable stay in regards to your bed. I promise you this is a rarity and the housekeeping department regularly changes mattresses that could be defective. When guests request a firmer mattress, we do provide other solutions, including a wood plank to create a firmer experience. We want you have the most relaxing and comfortable stay possible. Engineering and housekeeping follow up on all complaints about bedding and other issues. I am glad to see a manager assisted you with your concerns. We will make sure to stay abreast to similiar feedback such as yours to ensure your stay and all guests are very comfortable in all respects of their stay.

We hope to have the chance to create a more comfortable experience for you next time. Please reach out to me personally if you decide to return!

Personally,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is a beautiful peaceful sanctuary only half a block from the madness and bustle from Times Square.

The rooms are gorgeous, beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in whilst at a hotel! The bathroom has a huge mirror and magnifying mirror perfect for making yourself beautiful in the morning.

There is complimentary coffee in the lobby area every morning perfect to take with you when you venture out or nip down in the morning to get your day started. Every evening there is a wine reception which is a lovely little extra.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but we did have room service and it was scrumptious especially the deserts. Although this hotel is in such a wonderful location the decision of where to eat can be the most difficult as there are so many places!

There are a couple of subway stations just around the corner and it is really easy to use, plus they are much faster than a taxi.

The staff here are great, really friendly and helpful. Barbara on the front desk helped us book our helicopter trip ( which I would recommend ) and she was always very cheerful. Ronaldo also helped us sort a few of our problems out, which was greatly appreciated.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, you really couldn't find a better location, the price is also reasonable and it is such a lovely boutique hotel, I really hope I will be able to go back and visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Constance E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel has the most incredible customer service. It is a lovely boutique hotel right off of Times Square. It is reasonably priced and a great value. An evening wine reception daily and free morning coffee at reasonable hours. We returned to the hotel with some gifts and were informed that they would wrap them at no charge. They are friendly, even remembering your name. Marc was especially helpful. The rooms are decent sized, with good sized bathrooms. The beds were excellent.

I very highly recommend The Muse.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We wanted to thank you for an exceptional experience at The Muse Hotel in NYC.

My fiance called The Muse Hotel to schedule dinner reservations through hotel concierge for Thanksgiving evening. During the conversation, he mentioned to Barbara that we were newly engaged. Barbara, Lauren, and Ivana went to great lengths to ensure that not only did we have a nice stay but had the room waiting with an extravagant engagement gift package. This was above and beyond, and very much appreciated. In hearing the ladies genuine spirit and excitement for us through the phone and in person, shows that the Muse hiring process hires only the best in customer service and dedication. These ladies are the reason we will return soon. The hotel was wonderful, we had a great time but it is the genuine personalities that will keep our loyalties.

Thank you for a wonderful Holiday weekend.

Warmest Regards,
Erin and Bobby

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin_n_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear erin_n_bobby,

Thank you for your incredible feedback. We are thrilled Ivana, Barbara, and Lauren were able to make you feel even more special during such a special occasion already.

We are so happy to see you will be back! The Muse Team will be waiting for your arrival!

Best,

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 469 in New York City
3,472 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#71 of 469 in New York City
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
2,428 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#74 of 469 in New York City
2,433 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $228 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing