We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Service & Be aware of late charges after you leave”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #66 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were billed after we left for Socks (?) & mini bar costs (these were covered by $15 Kimpton Voucher we got on arrival)

Good Points - Good size Room, Reception area very nice, free Internet, $15 Kimpton mini bar voucher , very central location.

Bad points - Room cold & noisy(outside noise) , staff not particularly friendly (check out staff were actually very unprofessional, even my teenage daughter commented on this)

I preferred the Sofitel (stayed there twice) so if choosing between them Sofitel gets my vote.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear D T,

Thank you for your constructive criticism. We appreciate your feedback! If you choose to return to the Muse, I welcome you to reach out to our property directly and we will place a note in your reservation to block you on a high floor and away from the street noise- to avoid any outside noise to the best of our ability.

Also, we will pay closer attention in regards to your experience with the front desk. I promise you this is a rarity and I hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you next time.

Best,

Samantha Goldberg
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,929 - 1,935 of 3,281 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Let me start off by saying, I LOVE Kimpton. Their attention to detail, reasonable prices, fabulous style, and customer service are second to none. My friend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Muse during a recent girls trip to NYC. This is by-far my favorite property in the city. The location is great - near shopping, restaurants, Grand Central, and the subway. It's quiet, but still lively. Our room, a king deluxe, had HUGE windows, tons of space, and great decor. We even lived decadently and had a masseuse come to our room. The lobby is beautiful, the doormen cheery, and the staff friendly. We even check in five hours early with no problem. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amhanstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Muse during our recent girls trip to NYC. I am a loyal Kimpton fan and was not let down. From the moment we checked in, we fell in love. Our room, a kind deluxe, had great furnishings, huge windows, and fabulous Kimpton style. We loved the bed and the gorgeous bathroom. Our room was on a corner and had a long hallway separating the bathroom from the bedroom so you didn't feel cramped at all. The "Raid the Mini Bar" promo was great as well. The lobby is inviting and location-wise, you can't beat it. Literally steps from Times Square and a very short walk to Radio City-Rockefeller Plaza. And yes, they have THE bathrobes waiting for you when you arrive :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amhanstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Ms. Amhanstein!

Thank you for your wonderful posting! We are so happy you enjoyed your girls weekend with us. Hope you ladies can rock the animal print robes again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Samantha Goldberg
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have been to NY several times with my mom for a mother daughter vacation. This was our first visit to The Muse and we could not have been more pleased. The room was huge by NY standards and had cute furniture. The bathroom was fine, nothing special. The best feature was a balcony. We are talking more like a patio with two large lounge chairs and a table with four chairs. In addition, they have a free wine happy hour and free coffee in the morning. Even though we were only half a block off of Time Square there was no street noise to keep us awake. The price was no more than other full service hotels in town either. I do not think I will stay anywhere else.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ychick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I came for a week of Broadway shows, sightseeing, fine dining and shopping and could not have chosen a better hotel. Located less than two blocks from Times Square and walking distance to Broadway. Room smallish by Texas standards, but very clean more than adequate for the little time we spent there. Bathroom larger and very nice. Most outstanding was the service - from the bellhops to the service personnel to the concierge we were always greeted with a smile. I can not imagine such a personal touch at one of the large, luxury hotels. When we return we will certainly try and stay here.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jcatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent two nights at The Muse and had a wonderful time there......our room was very nice and the decor was very boutiquey...all done in black and white and grey............very chic!
It was a special weekend for us....wedding anniversary as well as a BIG birthday for my husband. We were treated to a very nice bottle of Prosecco and chocolates compliments of the Concierge team......thank you once again....it was very thoughtful!
The Muse is so well located......in the theater district......Time Square.....great restaurants......could not be better! We would definitely stay there again.......

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our second stay at this boutique hotel and it was just as lovely the
second time. The rooms are very clean, roomy and comfortable. The staff
were very helpful with smiles all around. It was also nice to just step out your
door and be near Times Square, shopping, theaters. Perfect location and at
the end of a busy day - great to come home to this hotel to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 470 in New York City
3,487 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 470 in New York City
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 470 in New York City
4,117 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#72 of 470 in New York City
2,511 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#68 of 470 in New York City
6,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $218 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing