We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #62 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stay 4 nights in in January after attending a NYE wedding.

Beautiful hotel, and friendly staff. Room was upgraded, so we got a beautiful Suite and Balcony. Staff we helpful but not overpowering.

Had a bit of a nightmare at check-out as card had been charge more that quoted when book, which put me over credit limit. liuckily the transaction went through and I was able to have the error amended with Credit Card company.

Worth double checking final price at check-in.

Overall great experience and luxurious stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flage101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,222)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Muse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,973 - 1,979 of 3,222 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

It is a very pretty small boutique hotel right off Times Square. Since it is down the street, we did not have any noise issues. The staff is wonderful. The daily wine reception is a nice treat. The location is amazing. The rooms are a good size and very clean. I will be back!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbellhuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulu E, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Tinkerbellhuggins we're excited to welcome you be back!!!!!!!!!! We are looking forward to another quiet and wine-filled visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We checked in to The Muse on June 22 and left on June 26th. It was my husband, me and our daugter (14) and son (11). We were there for my 50th birthday. First, the hotel location was excellent. We walked to Rockefeller Center, Times Square, The Intrepid, Wall Street, Central Park - almost everywhere we wanted to go. The rooms were very nice and clean and comfortable. (No - absolutely NO bed bugs.) Since it was my birthday, the hotel sent up a very nice bottle of champagne and some cupcakes. The staff was very welcoming and accomodating. After our busy days, it was like coming home to familiar smiling faces.

I really need to share a story concerning my son. We went to the Mets / Yankees game on June 22nd. My son (a Yankee fan) tried to get a ball from the players and ballboys after every inning. Finally, after the game, he caught a ball tossed up from a ballboy. A grown man tried to pull the ball out of his hands, my son pulled back and then the man yanked it from him. My son was in tears and upset all the way back to the hotel. I told Barbara, the concierge, what had happened. Upon retuning to our room the next night, we found a foam "Yankees #1 Finger", a Yankees baseball cap and a Yankees world series commemorative ball in the room with a note from Barbara. Our son was so excited, he screamed and jumped up and down. It turned a very bad incident into a happy memorable event. It also created a lifelong Yankees fan in my son and a lifelong Kimpton hotels fan in me.

I would highly reccomend this hotel or any other Kimptoon hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulu E, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Hello Cathy M,

I'm wiping the tears from my eyes and giving Barbara a big hug. That is awful about what happened at the game, but karma stepped in and your son now has a foam finger, a Yankee cap, a World Series commemorative ball and a huge smile on his face. Ha! We are looking forward to you next stay, hope it's soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

In a time of corporations feeling compelled to nickel and dime customers and implement cost-cutting measures, the Muse is a welcome change. From the complimentary coffee, iced coffee, and tea in the morning, juice in the afternoon, and wine/beer reception in the evening, we felt we were actually getting the most bang for our buck in this NYC hotel.

The staff was friendly, accommodating, and efficient. Need to check out at 1 p.m.? No problem. Forget some toiletries, a straightening iron, collar stays? No problem. They will even print your boarding pass and deliver to your room if you want. Only caveat: we did have one bellman offer to get us a car for $65 because he claimed it was difficult to get a cab. Not true. While a cab will drop you off at 46th and 6th on arriving due to Times Square congestion issues, getting a cab to leave is easy and multiple staff members offered to hail one for us but we had prior arrangements (that didn't cost $65).

The location is ideal for exploring Times Square, Central Park, 5th Avenue, catching a Broadway show, or for hopping on a subway to anywhere in the city.

The noise level was somewhat high but this is NYC. I live in a downtown environment so I wasn't phased much by it. The hotel does provide earplugs.

Our room was small but it was laid out well and suited us perfectly. The bed was very comfortable and the furnishings were nice. The bathroom was fairly large.

The gym was small but very well-equipped with new cardio equipment and a nice selection of free weights. Filtered water, towels, and headphones were available.

Tip: Make sure you join the Kimpton In Touch program before you go. It is free and you get free wireless internet (which worked great in the room) as well as a $15 mini bar credit.

I wish all hotel chains were like this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RadWife73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We are staying here for two nights. It's pretty pricey but within steps of Times Square and Rock Center. I reserved a corner king bedded room and was upgraded to a suite at no cost. The clerk did warn me that I might hear construction noises early, but it's 830 am and I don't hear anything yet. Walk in is a large bathroom, one sink, bidet and tub shower. Followed by couch, chair, sitting area with flat screen tv, Next room a large bedroom with chaise lounge chair, desk, king bed, another tv on wall. Very spacious. We just visited my daughters studio apt on 91st and Broadway and our room at The Muse looks spalacios compared to the studio. I was very comfortable sleeping last night. The mattress felt firm and comfy. Faults: a in room a/c unit instead of central air- makes more noise than I like. The lighting in bathroom is fluorescent or similar and makes you look harsh. Girls like softer warmer lighting in bathrooms to put makeup on. There is a slight odor in room. Not exactly sure what it's from. Almost like a water spill and carpet smells a little sour. I believe that you can have pets here and that might contribute to an odor. We have stayed at the Hilton several streets away, and I would much rather upgrade and stay at The Muse for a boutique hotel experience. Coffee tea bar in lobbey in am, afternoon wine at 5pm, fresh fruited water during the day. The lobby is small and cozy. The employees are very smiley and friendly. All in all a very nice stay in NYC. Now off to Broadway!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryla_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wow! This was the best hotel experience we've ever had. It's hard to pinpoint what makes it so but the entire stay seemed absolutely effortless. The hotel ambiance was relaxing from the moment we arrived. The staff is extremely pleasant and handles EVERYTHING quickly and efficiently - and always with a genuine smile. It may be strange to say so, but the thing that struck me most was how everything just worked. We were on the 16th floor and doubt that we ever waited on an elevator for more than 30 seconds, and every trip up or down was speedy and never crowded (even on the weekend). Our room was probably a typical New York hotel room, but we never felt cramped at all as all the space was usable. The bed and bedding was as comfortable as any we've ever slept in and we slept great every night. As for service, we just mentioned in passing that we were celebrating our anniversary at check-in and a half hour later a knock on our door brought champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with congratulations. There was a construction site across the street, that never bothered us, but we found a nice note with apologies for the noise along with a set of complimentary earplugs. We seemed to always return from our daily excursions during happy hour in the lobby, and the cold beer or glass of wine was a welcome perk. We had serious concerns about our first trip to NYC but the Muse made them all seem silly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougM760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay. I requested a quiet floor with ajoining rooms and the hotel delivered. We had two ajoining rooms on the twelth floor. We had stayed here in 2004 and were very happy with our stay again in 2012. Lots of hot water with great pressue, good daily room cleaning, fast elevator service, polite and curtious service from staff.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room with your reservations as I did. This is a small hotel (appx 200 rooms) so ther...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 468 in New York City
4,052 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 468 in New York City
3,421 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $260 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing