We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Couldn't ask for a better location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #47 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

loved this hotel! It's within 1/2 a block of times square and just a couple blocks from all the broadway shows. We stayed in a large balcony room the first night and then switched to an executive suite the following two nights. There was no in room coffee and thier coffee service in the lobby did not start until 6:30am which was off putting for those of us who have to get up early to catch a plane. Be sure to look over your bill when you check out. I found they charged me for both restaurant and room service that I did not order. When I disputed the charges they made no qualms with removing the charges which lead to me to believe this may be a regular practice of thiers. Other than those two things the rooms were great the beds were comfortable the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: try to get a balcony room the view is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonbaby728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,868
    762
    165
    84
    35
See reviews for
625
1,143
105
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

5/4/12 to 14/4/12. what did I think Hotel reception gives a good impression. The accomodation Delux very clean but very dark and extremly warm with out having the air con turned on all the time and the noise, you would have though you were sleeping in a sauna the room tempreture was 76 all the time.

The mini bar was full up but did not use because it was very expensive we only had a bottle of water and that cost over $7, everything you used came at a cost.

We had continental breakfast which was good untill other guest started to reserve tables and we stopped going because we did not want to sit a bar to eat. ( we were not coming to breakfast late between 7.30 & 8.30am the latetst.

The hotel was very central to all locations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abc056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, MO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Were we not getting such a great military discount, I would have asked for a different room. It was one of the smallest I've ever stayed in! That being said, the room was very nice, the bed awesome, and the staff accommodated our request to be adjacent to the couple with which we were traveling. AND, as they knew this was a celebratory trip, a bottle of sparkling wine and fruit plate was in both our rooms upon arrival. The guys at the door -David in particular-are awesome. Helpful and congenial, they went out of their way to help at every opportunity. The lobby is a bit small and lacks seating that invites lingering. The bar is the same. The wine reception is a nice idea, but the wine is terrible. A real mix of guests, which is always interesting, one easy block off Times Square and most theaters. I would stay here again....in a larger room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stMisplacedYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's hard to find good value hotels in NYC. This hotel is really a gem - great prices (approx $250 a night for the single queen when we stayed), very clean, views of the city from the higher floors, dog friendly, and excellent location just a block away from Times Square!

The decor is modern and trendy, they have a wine hour every day for free, and the staff is really helpful (spent 20 minutes trying to flag us a cab at 4 in the morning). Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Checked in after 20 odd hours flying. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and had us checked in no time. Mike the friendly porter had us and our luggage to our room in no time.
Prior to arriving I had signed up for their free loyalty program and listed on my profile that we wanted a quiet room. We were placed on the ninth floor away from any traffic noise.
Their loyalty program includes free wi fi and a "raid the mini bar" well not a full raid...just $15 value so we get to have one and a half drinks!
The rooms are a decent size and unlike some hotels, the bathroom had plenty of room.
Nice to see a King size bed rather than just a Queen...And NO bed bugs. The air conditioning is a bit noisy but with the temperature 25 degrees above average we didn't mind.
For anyone wanting an hotel that is less than 100 meters from Times Square, this is the place.
Well done Kimpton Hotels.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

i chose this hotel because its location only half a block away from times square! -we got to see Nick Jonas a few meters away from the hotel and he was part of our objective in the trip- and of course its atmosphere. The decoration and ambience is very cool and cosy. I chose a package that included a welcome bottle of sparkling white wine, a plate of fresh fruit and muffins and my kids, husband and i just loved it. It was together with a handwritten note from the general manager welcoming us to the muse and Manhattan. The room was very large and so was the bathroom. Also loved their amenities. Its a pity i never knew there was a wine hour in the lobby i would have enjoyed it as well.

Room Tip: i was told the back rooms are larger and more quiet. despite of having a construction in the back, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulu E, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! Good job on achieving the objective of finding THE star you were searching for in New York! I’m excited to see you enjoyed the package, we love setting up an amenity to welcome you after you’ve been travelling all day! I’m so sorry you didn’t know about wine hour while you stayed with us, we would have loved to pour you a glass while you sit back and relax. We will have to plan it for next time, I hope we get to welcome you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Muse Hotel is the second Kimpton Hotel we have stayed at in NYC. We had a King Deluxe room on the 11th floor. You can't beat the location. Less than a block away from times square. Our view was less than flattering in room 1102 but who cares.We were in NYC to eat, shop and be out in NYC, not to sit in our room.Our bathroom was roomy and the shower had great water pressure. Bed was very comfortable.There is a fanastic Scottish Pub and restaurant next door that has great food. We will definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Go higher if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeepgal31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,682 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,610 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,772 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#36 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: The Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing