We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Boutique Hotel in Times Square area NYC”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #66 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

So, this review is LONG overdue. My wife and I have stayed at the Muse around a dozen times and, despite trying other hotels, continue to use it as our "Gold Standard" in NYC

The Muse is whimsical inevery sense. The rooms are chic with classic Greek marble busts, lithographs of Tigers with Balerinas on tightropes and Fuzzy leopard print robes and slippers. Several years ago, they revamped the eating area and installed NIOS, an upscale wine bar and restaurant with the best location in Times Square - a half a block off Broadway on Little Brazil (46th). Next door are an Irish Pub, Cuban restaurants, a small indy style theater and 50 yards from everything that you can only imagine watching the ball drop. Shopping - from the M & M store to Sephora and the discount ticket booth (the only official one in the city) at the crux of 46th, 7th and Broadway. You really can't miss the red-lit stairs! Yet, once you enter the lobby of the Muse or your room, the building is audibly insulated from the hustle, bustle and noise of the city when you need it to be.

Some things to look for:
1) The executive suite sometimes "upgrades" during less busy times, totally worth it!

2) The happy hour free wine and tasties are a great pick me up prior to a night on the town

3) Beware the subway at 49th street - you cannot get from the Uptown side of the station to the Downtown side without going OUTSIDE and paying again on the other side of the street, so plan wisely and check the signs BEFORE you go into the station to board your train

4) DO walk around after 11 pm on the weekend and LOOK for the guy doing the spray paintings of the city scapes. He is the REAL DEAL and creates amazing skylines in under five minutes, charging $20 for the finished product. He will be the one with a crowd of 30 - 40 people using their smart phones to video his process. Its really cool.

5) Walk to Rockefeller center trying to arrive around 1:30 AM (yes, AM) on the North side (near J. Crew and Anthropologie) and watch the SNL cast and guest singers come out and depart in their limos and cars. (We saw the Black Keys one time, they just came out and walked away)

6) In the summer, get a room with an outdoor patio and sit in the sun, 15 floors up enjoying the sounds of the city and tanning on your chaise

7) Go to Serendipity 3 (try late at night, the wait can be 2 HOURS at other times and YES it is worth it!!!) and have the desert. Try a Frozen Hot Chocolate (see picture) or a Sundae.

Once at the Muse, you won't stay anywhere else for a weekend in NYC

Room Tip: Join Kimpton In-touch and earn free nights easily and quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TriMarJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,134 - 2,140 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

A modern clean friendly hotel right in the heart of times square. Rooms have lovely decor and furnishings. I got a free upgrade to a double double room which was very spacious. Some building work going on in the next block which started very early but very quiet during the night with no street noise. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank kathryn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Kathryn O,

So happy to hear you received a complimentary upgrade. Upgrades are always the best! Glad to hear your stay was pleasant. Looking forward to having you back!

Best Regards,

Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Terrific hotel for a family visit to NYC!! Small friendly scale boutique hotel, half a block from Times Square, very helpful staff. We adults liked the complimentary wine in the lobby each evening, and lobby coffee in the mornings. Beds and pillows were very nice, you could even say luxurious. When I called a few days before arrival to reconfirm and ask if early check-in was possible, they upgraded us to a larger room, for no extra charge. Very classy!

Room Tip: Ask for largest possible room if you're traveling as a family. It will seem like a normal size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eztravelerMedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Located in the heart of the theater district and Times Square but on a fairly quiet block-a perfect location Room was spacious and clean Hotel is eco friendly and the staff cheerful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JEJOIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Muse, except for the construction noise next door. We were awakened every morning at 7:00 am by the loudest sounds you can imagine! One of the days we were there if sounded like they were hurling rocks at our windows! I thought our windows were open, it was that loud! The Muse does offer earplugs and they do help. We were there in March of 2012. A Hyatt is being built behind The Muse, so check to see if it is completed when you make your decision, unless you can stand wearing earplugs to bed or are an early riser.
The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful in offering directions or suggestions. This hotel is about a half block away from Times Square, so we didn't have massive crowds or noise to contend with from that craziness! Our room was very clean and the size of a normal hotel room you would find in any other city. Bathroom was larger than normal and offered lots of counter space. Beds and pillows were very comfortable and clean.
Wifi is free if you sign up to be a Kimpton member, which is also free and offers a few perks; including $15.00 worth of free snacks from the room's snack area. We didn't realize that until we checked out. Would have gotten into those M&M's had we known they were free!! :) We did partake in the free coffee in the lobby each morning. They offered a coffeepot in our room if we wanted it.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the construction side. Stay in the front part of building. We discussed this with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Wonderville,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of The Muse and are grateful for your 4 star rating. I'm very sorry to hear the construction noise disturbed you. If you have any additional information to share about your experience please feel free to contact the hotel directly.

Best Regards,

Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I recently traveled to New York City to attend a trade show with five associates. We chose the Muse, (after staying for many years at another Times Square area boutique hotel) at the recommendation of a friend. To say that the Muse exceeded our expectations would be an understatement. From the moment that we arrived to the time that we left 5 days later, we received exceptional treatment. From the Bacchus room which we used for meetings to the nightly free wine reception, everything was first rate. The rooms were immaculate and large by Times Sq. boutique standards and the bathrooms clean and also larger than expected. The decor was tasteful and each request that we made of the staff during our five days at the property was handled quickly and professionally. After traveling to New York for over 30 years on business, I can say that we have found a home in The Muse. Take A Bow.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear John A,

Wow, thank you, thank you, thank you! We are estatic to hear that your experience at The Muse over-exceeded your expectations! We strive to make our guests feel "at home" and I couldn't be happier that we accomplished this for you. Can't wait to have you back!

Best Regards,

Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My first experience of NYC, was totally made from arriving at our hotel and have the bell boysd whisk our cases to the reception and then be greeted with smiling faces everywhere. FIrst impression of hotel was WOW. Absolutely beautiful in every detail, the bed and its wear were top class, lighting beautiful, decor to die for and bathroom stunning. Each evening between 5 & 6 they host a wine reception, we arrived at 6.30, but were promptly handed free drinks vouchers, then sampled the wines for the next 2 nights, beautiful. Only dines once in the onsite restaurant, on St Patricks day and although only a light bite, the meal was lovely. From leaving the hotel, turn left and before you know it WOW there it is, in the heart of times square, or alternaitvel turn right and one block over is FIfth Av and the Rockefella Centre (recommend visting Top of the Rock over Empire, as the views are on par, but you get the benefit of having your photo with the empire in background). Overall a fantastic break, and would definitely return to the Muse Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean_Scooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear SeanAllum,

Thank you for your glowing comments! I'm so glad we "WOWed" you at first sight and that you had such a special stay at The Muse. Looking forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,

Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#69 of 469 in New York City
4,075 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,410 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 469 in New York City
3,437 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#64 of 469 in New York City
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $240 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing