We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #49 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Great Boutique Hotel. Great Service, Beautiful Rooms. Very Helpful Staff.

I went with my girlfriend for a girl’s weekend in New York. It was my first to New York. We were greeted by the receptionist with a warm welcome and the suggestion that we have a free glass of wine (as it was cocktail hour) while our bags were taken to our room. The hotel staff had a lot of great suggestions for places to shop, eat (especially their recommendation for great Cheese Cake locations). Our stay was quiet, the beds and pillows were amazing. I didn’t want to get out of bed. The rooms were very clean.

The hotel is a minute walk from the centre of Times Square. It was amazing to be able to walk out side the hotel and be in the middle of all the action. There was a variety store next door for all your extra needs. Good distance to restaurants for drinks before a show and dinner after. Within walking distance to Theater District. Not difficult to get a cab for when you wish to venture out into the city.

We loved the hotel so much we are planning a bachelorette party there next July 2012.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a boutique style hotel, close to Times Square with a Sex in the City feel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessica f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,969
    799
    173
    89
    36
See reviews for
662
1,209
112
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Muse is a very nice hotel and is brilliantly located on 46th Street between 6th and 7th Aves literally less than 50 metres from the heart of Times Square.

We had negotiated an upgrade to an Executive King room and this was on the 19th and top floor of the hotel. We found the room to be very quiet but I can imagine a room on a lower floor might not block out the noise of the city as much. Our room was very nice even though it was relatively small compared to the Helix in Washington DC (another Kimpton Hotel).

The hotel services are always good with free Wi-Fi if you sign up to be a Kimpton member and the free wine hour in the hotel lobby between 5 and 6pm. They also have free filter coffee in the morning again down in the lobby. This is good but there is no coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms, which can be a bit of a pain.

The best thing about the Muse has to be the location. Straight away you are right in the middle of all the action with bus tours, taxis and the subway all less than a five minute walk from the hotel. This was our first time in New York so being so central was great but also somewhat manic with the hustle and bustle of the city hitting you as soon as you head out the front doors.

The service from the staff was generally very good although the Nios restaurant could do with some improvement in this area. It was not terrible but it certainly was not fantastic - at one point I had to chase up the staff to give back my credit card after paying for some drinks. Just a small mistake but perhaps typical of what we found at the restaurant.

Overall we were impressed with the Muse and continue to enjoy what the Kimpton brand has to offer.

If you have never been to New York and want to be in the heart of the tourist attractions in Times Square, then the location of the Muse could not be better!

Room Tip: We had an Executive King on the 19th floor (top floor). Noise was minimal considering how close it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location and staff looking out to help out at every step. A half block from Times Square, but noise was not a problem. The rooms are small but you are in New York and don't spend much time in the room. Walking distance ot all the major attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Housatonic, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had a perfect weekend at The Muse! Perfect access for our Broadway show plans and handicapped accessible Times Square subway. Very clean and comfortable room with great beds. Walking distance to everything. Love the Kimpton Hotels!

Room Tip: 46th Street can be a bit noisy with trucks and such, so if you are a light sleeper get a room off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sausalito, california
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Lovely hotel - great service at front desk, valets, housekeeping. The service in the bar was very slow and not very sharp.... would ak for things and they'd forget them and then never come back. Also, the room we had was very very noisy... we're in mid-town - construction and late night partying - even wth closed windows - we had to use ear plugs. Great business hotel but wouldn't stay here for r and r....

Room Tip: A quiet room - don't know if there are any~
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheledonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I met friends in NYC for the weekend. The location of the hotel was ideal, walking distance to many of the major sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. From the valet to the front desk staff, and even the housekeeping, I was met by individuals who were eager to do what it takes to make my stay a pleasant one. They were very accomodating in getting our rooms close to eachother. Just after I checked in I saw a housekeeper in the hallway who approached me and asked if there was anything she could do to make my stay more comfortable. Unsolicited offers of service...not something you see often enough these days. I was impressed. They do an hour of wine service in the lobby each evening...another nice touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Times Square region on NYC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obriggs, Manager at The Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Kelli D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for recommending our hotel to others. I'm so glad our team impressed you with the high level of service we deliver to our guests, and that you enjoyed some of our hotel amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We spent a week in New York attending Broadway shows and we wanted to stay at a smaller hotel in the Theater District. The Muse met that criterion and we had a wonderful experience. The staff was outstanding and made our stay a memorable one. The room was very comfortable, and it felt like being at home. We'll definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedywheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#53 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#50 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: The Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing