We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“bed bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolat Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chocolat Hostel
Ranked #446 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Shanghai
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“bed bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What to say? this place is extremely dirty, I caught bed bugs there. Just to be avoided! I am sure they are much cleaner hostels in NY for that price
To be fair it is not too badly located and they have board games available.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lpb_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    43
    26
    121
See reviews for
8
38
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kragujevac, Serbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three days in March 2010 for touristic reasons. Location of the hotel is not great, but it is on Manhattan, and almost on the Broadway street, so I could use subway. Columbia university and Central park are nearby.
The only reasons why I have chosen this hotel were its price and the location. It was really cheap, and I got almost exactly what I paid for. I paid for single room, and that was what I got. However, I did not know that the toilet seat is going to be in the same room, and with no doors separating it from the rest of the room. The showers were for the entire floor.
I cannot say that I had any problems with check-in and check-out, although receptionist were not very useful. I could use free Internet in very, very small lobby. If you need cheap room, only to sleep over, this is a good choice, but do not expect anything more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the frontdesk customer care to the rooms, RUN AWAY from this place.

I came, and nobody found my reservation, and the guy from frontdesk say that since i'm doing the "reservation" at the time that i'm making the check in, the price was different, i was leaving the building when he calls me and make the same price.

WORTHLESS, i should left and look for another place, since i just stayed for 1 day there, the worst day in my life.

When i was there, the elevator start to burn and all the building was evacuated, the place is a nightmare!

Room Tip: You should look some hotels or hostels at the broadway or amsterdam avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renato F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

God awful filthy.filthy isnt a strong enough word. They say upper east side but is actually Harlem. Pics are fake. Terrible front desk help. Tv did not work. No towels. Left and staued near 30 rock.at Affinia hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supahfirechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed there with my wife in March 2011. The guy at the front desk hates his job and lets you know that. We were travelling on to South America and had no printout of our connecting flight information. We were forced to use the antique computer in the lobby (and pay for that!) just to print out what we had showed him on our phone before. He then copied some data from that printout into his computer instead of copying it from the screen, which would have been MUCH faster and cheaper for us. We then found out that they had scr**** up our reservation and that there was no room with a double bed left. After almost TWO HOURS we ended up in a smelly, tiny room with a metal double story bed like those at army camps (or prison). The next day we were given a room with a double bed, and that was just it: a room with a double bed, NOTHING else. The cleanlyness of the place was OK for a hostel, but just about everything else was simply terrible. It's a two minute walk to the sub, so the location is OK.

Room Tip: Our tip to help travelers to choose a good room: go to another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick_VTRESORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I would never ever say in this hostel again. It was awful. We paid more money for 3 days than is realistic for a NYC hostel and when we got into the room it had a bunk bed and NOTHING ELSE> awful. When I went to complain, the manager was unavaliable, and they would not return the money.

Room Tip: don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Me and my traveling buddy booked the hostel through a travel agent, our only requests were that we did share a room with others.

The room was very basic, a bunk bed and a bin. The sheets on the bed were not thick at all, requested more and was handed two moth eaten blankets. We decided not to use these as we had read reviews on here about bed bugs so didn't want to introduce any insects to our seemingly beg bug free beds. Instead slept in jumper and trousers.

Common areas not a good a ones we had in LA (pool table, bar etc missing) and this meant meeting other travelers was not the easiest. (but when you are in NY there are plenty of other things to do.

Lots of people complaining of noisy pipes, bed bugs, cockroaches, filth and grime etc. We did not see much of these things. But in the bathroom the pipes were banging loudly and I'm sure some rooms have bed bugs. I could see this hostel potentially being a nightmare for some travelers, but luckily for us it was adequate and we were fine!

I wouldnt stay there again because it's just too unpredictable what your stay will be like, but if you don't mind roughing it out. This place is cheap and in a good spot!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 03begra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#365 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#288 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,389 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#424 of 475 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#230 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#374 of 475 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#315 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolat Hostel

Property: Chocolat Hostel
Address: 850 W End Ave, New York City, NY 10025-4916
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Chocolat Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chocolat Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chocolat Hotel New York City
West End Studios Hotel
West End Studios New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing