We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and experience”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #125 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Highly recommended. Extremely nice and helpful staff. Love the room :) .Very nice atmosphere.

The room was a good size and very comfortable. I go there early in the day and was able to check in earlier than check in time (Front desk called me when the room was ready).

Will definitely be back (I actually already have my next stay planned :).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68Pirate68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We like your plan! Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,571)
There are newer reviews for Dream Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,512 - 2,518 of 3,571 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Highly recommend the Dream Hotel, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, even gave us an upgrade which was incredible.
PHD is great in the evenings for sunset drinks, Marble Lane was great for dinner, and the pool parties there were a blast.
Great location, cool setting, and very comfortable beds!

Room Tip: Definitely go for an upgraded room you wont regret it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Mandy W

Thank you for the very kind words, we never get tired of hearing them. It’s official! We’re making a run on trip advisor right now…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent service and staff, it feels like home when I am there. Best roof top ever! with the best sliders in town. Great atmosphere, and the rooms are so comfortable. basically it is the perfect choice for NYC lovers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mostafazafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Mostafazafer

Can I give you a hug right now? Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a top notch hotel. The staff is extremely accommodating, particularly Katya at the front desk. The room was a nice size, and very comfortable. My wife left her phone in the room, and Jerry at security was extremely helpful in locating and holding it for her. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jz612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Jz612

Team effort all-around. Warms my heart. Thank you for taking the time to mention our staff by name. It’s a great day to be a Dream Team-er.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked into to the Dream for the least few days of our holiday in NYC. Great location and the staff on reception and concierge were really friendly. The place was packed for fashion week . Really disappointed with the size of the King room, tiny, tiny , tiny!
We stayed on the 10th floor , 2 under the nightclub , good the first night because we were there till late but then the next 2 nights well forget about sleeping before 4 am. A couple of the girls behind the bar in the nightclub could also learn about customer service from the staff downstairs, way too much attitude! Especially in a city where the staff depend on tips to make a living.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyPinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear PennyPinco
I’m sorry you didn’t have a restful night. That’s our primary purpose and we didn’t deliver. We take any complaints about the nightclub seriously and usually with one call to the Front Desk the music is lowered immediately. I will follow up on this issue as well as the attitude from our rooftop team at once. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our introduction to Dream Downtown was a bit intimidating as we arrived on a Saturday evening
when all the "Beautiful people" were getting ready to party. We had arrived after a long flight and were a bit overwhelmed. The pool area was wonderful, and a real bonus in New York. The pool staff co-ordinate the area very well and are most helpful.(Pool staff in other hotels should take lessons from them.)The beds were very comfortable .One problem was no storage for luggage , but we worked our way around it.
We had a fabulous view of the Empire State Building from our window.

Room Tip: We were advised to request a room on a middle floor. Bar on the roof, night club in the basement . W...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlvw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Rlvw25

In a few weeks our juice bar opens and with it our new store front that will help alleviate some of the traffic in the lobby. We love ‘beautiful people’ watching too! (If they would just stay on their side of the lobby it would be so much easier for all of us.) Thank you for your comments. We love and welcome all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was certainly intrigued with the over design aesthetic of the lobby and the outer design of the building. The pool is a wonderful addition but I did not use it. The customer service was wonderful. The room is incredibly small. There is absolutely no room. If you want to open the bathroom door,which is quite hard the only place you could place a bag is in the way. I was here on business and I could absolutely not get anything done in the room. If I was here vacationing, you shouldn't be in the room and if you are here for a romantic weekend, I would get claustraphobic. The rooftop bar is extraordinary and the people watching great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mymx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#208 of 468 in New York City
1,824 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#157 of 468 in New York City
654 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#149 of 468 in New York City
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 468 in New York City
632 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#88 of 468 in New York City
2,323 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#171 of 468 in New York City
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $286 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing