We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Hotel, Great Vibe”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #127 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed at the Dream recently and was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance and atmosphere at the hotel. Very hip and cool with a perpetual buzz around the hotel especially in the evenings. The food at the Marble Lane in the lobby was great and so were the drinks. The rooms are modern, with a cool view to the pool, which incidentally has a glass bottom looking down into the lobby !!
Another feature of the hotel is the popular rooftop lounge called PHD,- now this is a tricky one, hotel guests are allowed until 10pm, then the lounge is shut and cleaned and entry back into the lounge is at the discretion of the Door Manger only. So you could be staying here but not enter PHD ever !! I don't really have a problem with that as long as you are "polite" about your entrance policy, being in hospitality i assume that would be a priority criteria, however that's not the case here. The Door Managers are unnecessarily rude and have a laughable attitude, that probably comes from the lack of global travel,exposure,ignorance,instruction or simply just trying too hard to maintain "exclusivity".
I have stayed at similar hotels in NYC, Gansevoort, Mercer, Standard etc and have been to the finest clubs bars lounges all over the world and in NYC, including the Boom Boom Room or The Box in the UK, people have "always" been courteous and respectful can't say the same for the Dream.
All in all it was a good stay and happy to stay there again! Do check out the Sliders in the lobby bar !!

P.S. i did get up to PHD post midnight (using some VIP muscle) and it was an eventful night, the NYC skyline from PHD is magnificent.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infinity968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Infinity,

Again, so close to a perfect stay. Perhaps the PH-D door staff’s demeanor was affected by the Knicks recent loss to the Indiana Pacers in the playoffs. Nonetheless, you are 100% right. It’s our business to express ourselves politely and with consideration and for not doing so, I apologize. I will undoubtedly share this posting with the PH-D door staff and work towards improving the way we communicate our policies. We appreciate the honest feedback.

Kind Regards,

Michael Lindenbaum
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,743 - 2,749 of 3,681 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

In summary, a gorgeous hotel; incredible service; great location. Expensive, but compared to many other hotels I have stayed at in NY that were tiny, dirty and dark, this was a good value. Beautiful room. Comfortable bed. The lobby has a unique architectural feature -- hint: look up. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was that it was a bit noisy in my 2nd floor room (from the street) although it did quiet later. Nearby is the Chelsea market, the High Line, the east Village, some great restaurants, and 2 independent bookstores.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Richmond,

Virginia is for lovers! And we love you back Virginia! A soundproofing initiative is taking place starting in July. To our friendly Trip Advisor readers and posters, we are working on it! We await your return!

Kind Regards,

Michael Lindenbaum
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Dream has been my "go to" hotel in Chelsea for a while now and I don't see changing any time soon. From the greeting by the door man to the helpful front desk team, they have made some great hires and put a premium on service. The rooms are clean, well laid out and comfortable. They also pull in a fun hip crowd which adds to the overall experience. Love the Dream!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedsouder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I can not align with the merely positive reviews on Dream Hotel downtown.
The hotel has a busy, more club-like atmosphere and it attracts a young trendy crowd but definitely not business travellers who wish to stay in an quieter, relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are small, good bed though, however the lighting system in the room is annoying and I extremely disliked the smell of the washrooms at the lobby floor, where you have breakfast as well. It is definitely not a luxury hotel and you will hear the music from the pool or the roofdeck during the night in your room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JR1Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear JR1Amsterdam,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate our guest's need for peace and quiet, whether travelling on business or leisure. The vast majority of our guests are actually business travelers. They may however have an elevated taste for excitement, which at Dream Downtown we really handle well.

Please know that the moment a guest expresses concerns regarding unwanted background music we will make every effort to find the quietest rooms possible and with 315 rooms we have plenty of flexibility.

Thank you again for your feedback. With best regards – AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just returned from my second stay here. I was almost hesitant to return -- my first visit was great and some of the newer reviews had me worried. Just as with my past stay, I was welcomed at the taxi, the front desk and given a very nice room away from the rooftop bar, which must be the source of noise complaints. The beds here are the most comfortable I've ever slept in. There was a glitch w/my bathroom door, which was addressed. The staff is professional and friendly. Had a good meal in the Marble Lane restaurant and nice bar area for a meeting. The location is fabulous in terms of the neighborhood, local shops and restaurants and subway access. The social scene appears quite vibrant - just people watching for me but enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briggsadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at the Dream Downtown for two nights, on business. Best hotel experience of my life! The staff was friendly, helpful and professional at every turn, making sure that I always had what I needed. The rooms are spacious (for Manhattan), and the bed... wow. Cozy, comfy mattress with the softest sheets ever! The fitness center was great, and I spent two afternoons (too short!) relaxing poolside. Pool food was yummy and reasonably priced for the portions (higher prices, but big portions) - I had the chilaquiles with salad. Overall, the experience was luxurious and relaxing, and the staff was wonderful; I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are looking for a trendy hotel, in a happening neighborhood, this is the hotel for you. For a New York hotel, the rooms were pretty spacious. There was plenty of room to maneuver. The bathroom had a speaker that played music or whatever was on the television. The beds were like clouds. I honestly felt like I was sleeping on clouds. They were seriously the softest beds I have ever slept on in my entire life.

From what I can gather during my stay, this is strictly a party hotel, or better yet, a club and pool that has a hotel.

As for the service, while I was checking in, the staff at the front desk were like talking mannequins with no feelings. They weren't bothersome, rude or impolite, but it wasn't exactly the welcoming feeling you'd get at a hotel. The check out process was quick and the staff during that time, worked so fast like they wanted you out. I suppose that isn't so bad if you have to catch a flight, or trying to skip town.

There is a club above currently called PHD Lounge or something to the likes of that. Guests be warned, even if you are staying at the hotel, they'll make you go outside and wait in line to be cherry picked by a pretentious door man. That was one night. Another night, they just let my friend and I head right up stairs. I do remember hearing one say there was a cover charge to get in but I guess that didn't apply to us that night.

Overall, I would stay here again, just based on location and the design of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dngrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#152 of 471 in New York City
2,965 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#144 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#212 of 471 in New York City
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#184 of 471 in New York City
391 reviews
Manhattan
Royalton Park Avenue
Royalton Park Avenue
#94 of 471 in New York City
2,395 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#80 of 471 in New York City
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $220 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing