We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place!”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #133 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

NYC is so full of various areas containing hotels, but I will not return to this hotel. It is trying to be waaaaaaay tooooo hip! DJ in the lobby is annoying, the top floor space is a good idea but did not come to fruition. Guys at the front door are terrific, front desk blase, various concierge staff do their best, wifi connection is totally not dependable. Food inventive--but service was non-caring and "limp".

Room Tip: A hotel for single's looking for action; per attitude from all levels of hotel staff. They thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,749 - 2,755 of 3,636 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were extremely dissatisfied with the level of customer service we received upon entry - the front desk people were talking amongst each other and didn't acknowledge us at all, the penthouse lounge staff were stiff and had sour attitudes. Drinks and food entirely overpriced and room was very small. Would never stay here again, felt very uncomfortable in every manner!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karimah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at this property. It's a cool place, but even though we're only in our mid-40s, we've decided we're too old for this place. Apparently, the place has become quite a huge party scene for the 20-something "bridge and tunnel" crowds, coming from the burbs to stay for the weekend. They go to the hotel lobby or club around midnight, return about 3am. Talking, yelling and laughing all through the halls, and congregating there, as well. They continue their party when they return to their room. Not that you can sleep while they're away at the club, though. The bass from the DJ thumps until 2:30 or 3:00. Literally, reverberating through the walls. We were asked at check-in if we wanted a more spacious room, or a "quiet" room. I can't imagine how loud the spacious room would have been!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildrice311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is in line with other "quirky", "trendy" style hotels, much like a SLS or similar property. Funky artwork throughout the common areas and VERY dark in most of the common congregation areas. Not sure why this place has to be so dark?
The parking situation, like many areas in NYC is horrible. They have a valet person working out front but you have to park in the street and then you get charged $50 a day parking with no in or out privlidges...this is NYC! I wanst so sure about handing over my keys to a guy that was dressed so casualy in the middle of a street in NYC but I crossed my fingers, did it and ended up getting my car back at the end of my stay.
The rooms...this is where it gets a bit strange. Lots of mirrored and opaque surfaces in the room. Since most of the outward facing windows are round you get a big porthole for your window. The wall/headrest was also full of hundreds of holes (on purpose). The lights are very industrial style and if you can figure out how to turn them on and off you have one up on me. There are buttons and touchpads on the phone/control panel...what happened to plain light switches that were easy to figure out? The bathroom was big and spacious. This hotel has the biggest shower area I have ever experienced. The shower curtain was a steel mesh material lined with the standard plastic. I was so looking forward to a long, hot shower in this huge area but was soooo disappointed the next morning when I turned on the control and realized there was very little water pressure. What a waste of such a great area and opportunity! The rest of the bathroom is just as industrial as the steel mesh curtain. Lots of stainless steel. Good size and absorbent towels as well...just not any extras...seem to skimp on the numers of towels and washcloths. I don'd need amny but it is nice to have the option.
The bed very comfortable. Being oh so trendy. the bed is very low to the ground. This doesnt bother me but for some traditionalist this might be an issue as it is quite low and it is a platform bed, no box spring like most hotels these days.
The television was sufficient and the WiFi was free, at least for me so this was a bonus that I usually end up paying for at other high end hotels.
Not a bad place to stay if you dont mind being "trendy" and dont mind paying quite a bit for this experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dleslievol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pros: Great location (2 mins walk to Chelsea Market, the subway, the West Village & Meatpacking District), one of the nicest set of bed linens I've slept on, new and hip decor, clean rooms that were decent sized by NYC standards, friendly & professional staff, room was spacious by city standards, one-of-a-kind swimming pool, allows dogs (although it must not be left in the room unaccompanied, which if you ask me, defeats the whole point - doesn't it make sense to allow dogs to stay in the room unaccompanied if they are crated??).

Cons: For what is clearly a party hotel, the soundproofing could be improved (we were able to hear everything in the hallway, including shouting and slamming of doors), the power outlets are so low on the wall (where it almost touched the floor) that our charger cable was barely long enough to allow our phones to sit on the desk (the outlet on the side of the desk wasn't easily visible and I didn't even see it until I was checking out), there was no place to put the amenities (eg. shampoo, soap, etc.) inside the shower - I guess you're supposed to put it on the ground, but this seems inconvenient for anyone taller than 4 feet.

This hotel has been open for 2 years and everything is chic and new. From the decor to the clientele in the lobby, this is clearly a hip party destination - I would recommend this hotel if this is the kind of place you are looking for. Overall, my experience was positive. I do have to say it was pretty expensive and more than what I would want to pay if it were out of my own pocket (fortunately it was paid for by the company this time).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Dream Downtown Meatpacking District. Top hotel, great service, clean rooms, lovely decor, well looked after. I have been to NY at least 20 times and stayed at many hotels and this one is definately the best especially for those who want a lively place to stay. There is a DJ in the lobby which is open plan with the bar, restaurant (with amazing food and service) and reception also a nightclub so if you dont get into it you can chill out in the lobby. We travelled with 2 teenagers so it was ideal as we could sit and have a drink in the lobby whilst the girls went back and forth to the nightclub.
Very young and trendy there and even though there is a nightclub on the 12th floor we had a nice quiet sleep on 8th floor. Definately a place for those with older kids, teenagers, young couples and groups. Also in the best area of Manhattan, great bars restaurants and shopping nearby. La Bottega is a nice italian and good prices, just arround the corner from the hotel just one minute walk.
Cant wait to go back there, wont be staying anywhere else. XXX

Room Tip: Stay on 8th or 9th room if you want quiet. Try to ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJR733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at the Dream Downtown hotel during my work trip. I originally chose the hotel due to the location (Chelsea, right next to Meat Packing district). I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

I've been staying at the Standard and Gansevoort Hotels before, which are similar in style; boutique and trendy hotels with good locations. However I think the Dream Downtown is better than either and is also more affordable.

The staff was really welcoming and attentive the whole time. Especially as I was leaving, the door men took care of handling my (very) heavy luggage and getting a taxi from me in the rain, while I could wait inside and stay dry.

The rooms are a good size and I especially loved the big bathroom and the Etro toiletries.

Special mention that there is a heated pool for the hotel guests! Big plus for a NY hotel!

The hotel offers great options to dine and drink with a lively bar and club as well as a Brasserie style restaurant and a Japanese one. There are so many great restaurants around the hotel that it is hard to choose one.

Due to the location of the hotel ( right between 8th and 9th avenue) it is super easy to get around. I never had a problem getting a cab and the nearest subway stop is just at the end of the street the hotel is on with all the western lines stopping there. You can easily walk to the Meatpacking district and West Village and even SoHo.

One of the best things about the hotel is that the Highline and the Hudson River Park are right around the corner. It's so lovely to have a stroll or run and enjoy the scenic views of Hudson or catch some sun.

I would recommend this hotel for people traveling for work or on a city trip, especially singles and younger couples. I do not think that more elderly couples would enjoy the hotel due to the lively atmosphere and I would certainly NOT advise families to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor so you will have a view of the city. There are also several rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 470 in New York City
2,926 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 470 in New York City
676 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#218 of 470 in New York City
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#183 of 470 in New York City
345 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 470 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 470 in New York City
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $250 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing