We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning customers...”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #115 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Returning customers...”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

So - been here a few times. Gave them my feedback multiple times, too. But still, there is not the slightest sign of recognition when I return.

For a luxurious place like the Dream it is quite bizarre, as it only takes a nano second to keep guest notes on record.

I normally book through Expedia because I travel a lot, and all my details are stored with them.
The Dream Downtown always wants me to book directly with them, but I don't see any incentive.
This time I've been in a very small room - though I've had 2 windows, 1 facing the Empire State Building. Went for the Queen sized bed. Had other, bigger rooms before.
But overall, it's always a nice interior.

Anyhow - location's great, with the Meatpacking in walking distance. I like the set-up of the rooms - and once you got used to the switches and heavy bathroom door - all is good.

The other fact: there are a lot of folks partying at the Dream Downtown - be prepared they are sort of clogging the elevator or hanging out in the lobby.

What I really like about the DD - the rooms are spotless clean! The room service/maintenance is fast and efficient, and staff generally is real friendly.

This time an airline lost my baggage, and the receptionist brought it immediately upstairs once it arrived. That's been great.

OK, there's a bit room of improvement still re customer retention. But - you never know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorro7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Zorro - Thank you for your great review. Even though you clearly ensure to review in incognito (as Zorro's should) I would GREATLY appreciate if you reached out to me at afischer@dreamdt.com and share your identity. This is of course no excuse for not acknowledging your return visits. A simple "Is this your first stay?" is usually part of the check-in, as the many reservation systems do not always match up new with older reservations. Rest-assured your review reminded our staff of this simple step so we recognize our much appreciated loyal guests. I hope to say hello the next time around. Viele Gruesse – Axel Fischer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,257
    703
    277
    124
    131
See reviews for
266
1,032
177
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I booked the Dream Hotel for a night as a treat for my 40th birthday. We had dinner with 3 other couples at their restaurant Marble Lane which was okay, definitely not amazing. After dinner we headed up to our room on the 7th floor. The room was fine but at 12:30am our neighbor was blasting music so loud there might as well have been a party in our room. We were tired so we thought we could sleep, my husband even went out and bought ear plugs so that we didn't have to ruin someone else's good time. Finally at 2am the we couldn't take it anymore, our bed was bouncing from the neighbors music, so we called the front desk. A little while later security arrived to ask our neighbor to turn his music down. He did for about 5 minutes. Then he decided to turn it right back up. So I called the front desk again -- this time our neighbor shut his music off. Then at 8:00am that morning (a Sunday, by the way) the cleaning people decide they need to vacuum right outside our door. I would have gotten more sleep if I had stayed home with my kids!?
I understand that this happens on occasion but the real indignity was when we complained to the Director of Guest Services. She basically told us there was nothing she could do as far as compensation because we had booked the hotel through an outside company. She offered to upgrade us should we decided to stay in the noisiest hotel I've ever been in again (NEVER). And that next time we're in the city we should stop by the hotel and she'd be glad to "buy us a round of drinks!!!" Ha! After spending a total of $1200 in your hotel that night you'd buy us a round of drinks?? Seriously?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel46637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Mel,

I am very sorry about the sleep deprived night here at Dream Downtown. While the music levels from the neighbor's room across yours were somewhat beyond our control (security intervened twice to resolve this), I do agree that we could have done better in response. This holds true especially after a housekeeper decided, against company policy, to vacuum the hallway at 8:45am.

We have purchased electric sweepers to silently keep our cool black hallway carpets in shape without disturbing or slumbering guests.

I encourage you to please reach out to me at 212 229 2559 and I will gladly discuss how we can make up for the short night.

Best regards

AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed in many luxury hotels and the Dream lived up to my expectations. Obviously not a family vacation hotel but I think that is obvious. Rooms are nice, not the biggest but standard for NYC boutique hotel. Staff was super nice. What really made it stand out was the knowledgeable concierge staff. All recommendations were spot on and they went above and beyond the call of duty. Literally put me on every single guest list in the meatpacking district without a complaint. When I decided to change my plans at the last minute got me the best table at Le Baron. Never had a problem with noise or getting into the hotels bars including PHD. They took care of their guest as best as possible. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielHAndersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rob and the team at the Dream were AMAZING. I give my highest thanks to Tom at concierge who went above and beyond to make the "moment" perfect for myself and my now Fiance. I also want to thank Daniel at the front desk for making check in and the "upgrade" so seamless and perfect. We will 100% be back at the Dream Downtown to stay and thank you so much for everything making such a stressful moment perfect.. Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to get away from our kids and have some fun in a city we love. We lived in NYC for over 10 years and were back to visit friends so we know how fun and loud the city can be. We were excited to stay at the DREAM being that it was a newer hotel in the Meatpacking (we usually stay at the Standard) but we wanted to try out a new place. What a mistake...We checked in and asked for a high floor away from the elevator so it would be more quiet and we got exactly that. The room is very modern and well decorated and the bed is amazingly comfortable. We went out that night and got back to our room about 1AM ready to turn in for the night. Well that was a joke because our room was right below the club so we could not get any sleep at all since the music was basically being played in our room. I tired the white noise machine and the ear plugs they provide (that should have been a clue) but nothing worked. I tried to call the front desk several times but no one answered so we decided to suck it up and try to sleep, but as soon as the club shut down at 4AM the party kept going in the rooms on the floor. I finally got through to the front desk at 5AM and they sent up security and promised to switch our room tomorrow. I thought finally I was going to get some sleep, but the clean up of the club started and all we heard were loud footsteps and furniture being moved overhead. We finally fell asleep at 7am and slept for a few hours, but it totally ruined our day. The fact that they would even check someone into that room without warning them is despicable. I stay in hotels at least once a week for work and I have never had a worse experience. The management was extremely nice and very sorry for the inconvenience. They did move us into the "quiet tower" the next night but there is no excuse for the previous night. We were very pleased with the room we had in the "quiet tower" until 1AM again when the 6 girls sharing a room next to us decided to go in and out until 4am. The walls are paper thin the doors slam every two minutes. You can hear everything in this hotel. The only people who will like this hotel is if you plan to party all night long and not sleep at all which is totally fine, but those are not ALL the people staying there. If you want to get any sleep at all DO NOT STAY HERE. It was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had in my life and I have stayed everywhere from The Four Seasons to a Days INN.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Angela Z,

It looks like you felt we deserved a double whammy after Vincent Z already posted a punishing review regarding the same reservation a few days prior. I hope to hear form either one of you and will appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay.

Best regards

AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Dream Downtown met all my expectations, it was fun and cool all the way through my stay. Eccellent staff and helpful, quick room service and all questions answered, not to forget the complimentary champagne. But this is the hotel to visit when you are in the "hip and cool mood" and looking for some fun and partylike environment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigurður B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment we walked in we couldn't get over the décor of the hotel. The modern, luxurious, dimly lit lobby was stunning and accompanied by kind, friendly, very attentive staff. We were in town for a birthday and the Dream made it special by providing complimentary cupcakes and a hand written birthday card.
The rooms were spacious and very clean. It helped greatly that the hotel is only a year old.
In the evenings there was a DJ in the lobby which greatly contributed to setting the mood for a fun night out in the city.
Every staff member from the housekeeping department to the management was respectful and provided each guest with first class service.
I look forward to visiting the Dream on my next visit to NYC!
p.s. the beds are sooo comfortable!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTraveller161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#161 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#210 of 468 in New York City
1,767 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#113 of 468 in New York City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#150 of 468 in New York City
2,782 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 468 in New York City
2,252 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing