We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Concierge”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #125 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here last week. Easy and fast check in, best part of Manhattan to stay in.Tom, at the concierge desk, was an amazing host and helped with everything I needed. He told me the best spots to see in New York and made sure I was on the list for the clubs I wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,820 - 2,826 of 3,595 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed @ this hotel for 3 nights for my girlfriends birthday. What a fabulous hotel. LOVE the DJ spinning as we checked in. The bartenders on the main floor were fantastic. Phd on the roof is a great time also. Stunning views of the city! Huge thank you to the bell hop who walked us down the street to Budakan in the pouring rain with a umbrella over our head. (wish I could remember his name ) My only complaint of the hotel is the walls are paper thin. We unfortunately were next to a couple with children who woke up quite early. Nothing like sponge bob blairing @ 7am when you just got in @ 5am : / You could hear the people in the next room sneeze or cough. So please bring ear plugs when staying at this hotel. Besides that the location of this hotel is PERFECT! So close to everything!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Fierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

an amazing place, very well located,trendy and fashion, wonderful...but what happens with this hotel? why isn't it at TOPTEN NY? the staff is a little bit cold...when I arrrived, from Brazil, where I live, I could feel that I didn't belong...I mean, I should not be there, it was just for celebrities and pop stars... my 1st impression improved after a wonderful meal at Marble Lane, where I had wonderful scallops, I can't fprget the taste! and the waiters were very attencious and polited.
I like the nightlife, and I could visit the PHD and the bar downstairs, that was overcrowded and the staff was very rude... fortunately a nice boy from front desk helped me while I was in internet in the reception area, his name is Patrick (an african american guy), and I could change my 1st impression. I hope to come back to Dream Downtown,but I really think the staff could try to make the guests feeling that " yes, I'm in a friendly place, I belong" , and I see that manager is always answering the reviews here, he does care about! my tip is : make your team laugh and smile more, and treat everybody like an important person!

Room Tip: lower floors are protect against noise, I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear LuMatos – thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel so much. Be assured that your impressions of our rooftop’s PHD (we think you might actually visited the Electric Rooms in our cellar) are being addressed. Both clubs continue to be amongst NYC’s hottest nightlife spots and get very busy – but that is not an excuse to forget our service culture. We hope to see you again! Regards – AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

To begin, the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. I was pleasantly surprised as to the size of the room for the money. I Loved the ultra-modern / chic rooms and I did not want to take my robe off. Will probably purchase one my next visit which will be very soon.
Had a great meal at Marble Lane, the steakhouse in the lobby as well. My server was great.
Tom Brady

Room Tip: I stayed in 318 and found it perfect. Can't say much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I seem to always have the same gripe with boutique hotels. Dream is truly beautifully designed. Everything appears very well thought out, and then you get a closer look. Light switches impossible to figure out, bathroom sinks that defy explanation, poor craftsmanship. This is an expensive hotel, I expected perfection. The pros: delicious bed, super comfortable, free WiFi, great TV with premium channels. The cons: stained rug (I mean, really stained), bathroom outlet didn't work, there's only 1 outlet at the desk, 2 of the lamps didn't work, and the stainless bathroom sink truly makes no sense at all. The restaurant staff was very nice, the food we had was incredibly salty, which could be due to the chef on duty that night. The staff were average - not terribly hospitable and not a smile on anyone's face except for the morning doorman.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCAnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear RCAnyc,

We appreciate the kudos for our design - and are aware of the challenges from pushing the envelope! Our interior designers, famed Handel Architects, favor “form follows function” but occasionally we might have missed the mark. We continue to tweak some of the more progressive design approaches, e.g. lighting controls, and at some point will make our stainless steel sinks (!) work flawlessly.

I apologize for the condition of the rug – by nature they look a little patchy – as they are patched designer rugs – but we are in the midst of having them taken off property to be deep cleaned one by one by a specialist.

We loved your reference to our “delicious beds” – beautiful choice of words!

Again thank you for your feedback. Best regards - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Clearly this hotel operates more as a nightclub/night-life business... The rooms are fun in a clubby/love-hotel kind of way: shiny silver curtains, hello! We stayed here for one night and it was definitely a 'memorable' experience. We even had a great view of all the penthouse parties in the hotel tower across from us, it felt like everyone was at the hotel to party except us. at night the lobby becomes overrun with revealers trying to get to the various bars and party locations in the hotel [we couldn't keep track of them all]. This was our first experience of ever staying at a hotel where all we could hear all night was the sounds of porn being watched in the next room, LOUDLY. quite an experience and one that we would never want to repeat nor inflict on anyone. be warned!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYC-TRAV-FAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear NYC TRAV DAM - we wish it would have been all “good” memorable, Afer all your review started off so nicely. Evidently we did not manage to find you the peace and quiet that you were seeking after “losing track” of our many outlets. I am sorry for the unwelcome soundtrack from your neighboring room. Assuming it originated from the TV we have adjusted all TV’s maximum sound level to avoid this in the future. If the noise did not originate from the TV, but had natural causes beyond our control, we would have gladly offered a room with more “restrained” neighbors. My apologies again for this experience. With best regards – Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The pros:

Great location nears many attractions and great restaurants
Provide great nightlife with good drinks and great music

The cons:

Snooty and unprofessional staff
Room cleanliness is questionable
Loud music until late hours
Uncomfortable bed

If they improve their service, I'd stay here again. If not, this hotel doesn't offer good enough service for the value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thuy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Thuy N,

Thank you for your review. We would certainly love to have you back ! In the meantime we work on the shortfalls you mentioned.

I would greatly appreciate if you reached out to me at afischer@dreamdt.com to briefly talk about the staff concerns you mentioned. While cleanliness concerns are rarley being raise I apologize that we missed the mark during your stay. As for the beds however, if I may say, our Tripadvisor community finds they are all the rave. For those of us that prefer a firmer bed we are happy to remove the featherbed!.

Again – I look forward to a personal chat ! With best regards - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
662 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#212 of 469 in New York City
1,835 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#158 of 469 in New York City
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#85 of 469 in New York City
643 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#87 of 469 in New York City
2,342 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#183 of 469 in New York City
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $277 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing