We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay in a nightclub...”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #127 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Clearly this hotel operates more as a nightclub/night-life business... The rooms are fun in a clubby/love-hotel kind of way: shiny silver curtains, hello! We stayed here for one night and it was definitely a 'memorable' experience. We even had a great view of all the penthouse parties in the hotel tower across from us, it felt like everyone was at the hotel to party except us. at night the lobby becomes overrun with revealers trying to get to the various bars and party locations in the hotel [we couldn't keep track of them all]. This was our first experience of ever staying at a hotel where all we could hear all night was the sounds of porn being watched in the next room, LOUDLY. quite an experience and one that we would never want to repeat nor inflict on anyone. be warned!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYC-TRAV-FAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear NYC TRAV DAM - we wish it would have been all “good” memorable, Afer all your review started off so nicely. Evidently we did not manage to find you the peace and quiet that you were seeking after “losing track” of our many outlets. I am sorry for the unwelcome soundtrack from your neighboring room. Assuming it originated from the TV we have adjusted all TV’s maximum sound level to avoid this in the future. If the noise did not originate from the TV, but had natural causes beyond our control, we would have gladly offered a room with more “restrained” neighbors. My apologies again for this experience. With best regards – Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,826 - 2,832 of 3,596 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

The pros:

Great location nears many attractions and great restaurants
Provide great nightlife with good drinks and great music

The cons:

Snooty and unprofessional staff
Room cleanliness is questionable
Loud music until late hours
Uncomfortable bed

If they improve their service, I'd stay here again. If not, this hotel doesn't offer good enough service for the value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thuy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Thuy N,

Thank you for your review. We would certainly love to have you back ! In the meantime we work on the shortfalls you mentioned.

I would greatly appreciate if you reached out to me at afischer@dreamdt.com to briefly talk about the staff concerns you mentioned. While cleanliness concerns are rarley being raise I apologize that we missed the mark during your stay. As for the beds however, if I may say, our Tripadvisor community finds they are all the rave. For those of us that prefer a firmer bed we are happy to remove the featherbed!.

Again – I look forward to a personal chat ! With best regards - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff here is the big drawback of staying here. The front desk staff acted like they were doing me a favor by allowing me to stay here. Not to mention the totally pompous way they inform you that even as a hotel guest you don't have access to the rooftop bar after 9:30. The room itself, for the price, was laughable. The tiniest room I've ever seen for $425. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was horrible. The sink makes no sense, and the button to flush the toilet is BEHIND the toilet. Who designed this mess?? Obviously not anyone who ever thought they'd have to actually stay there. Zero room to walk around and store my suitcase. The touchscreen lights are nice in theory but they rarely work.

I waited for my bag for an entire hour. I called down two times and was assured the bellman was "rushing" it up to my room. I called a third time and said that I would report the bag stolen if it wasn't sent up to me asap and what do you know-three minutes later there was a knock at my door.

The night time staff-aka the car sized bouncers-were there last straw. They treat hotel guests like criminals who are trespassing on the property. I was stopped twice on my way to the elevators and rudely asked where I thought I was going and then asked me to show my "Dream card" (*eyeroll*). Apparently they don't care if you're paying for a $425 broom closet if you're not going to also spend $1000 on a $40 bottle of vodka.

The next morning when I checked out there were $200 worth of mini bar charges. When I informed them of the charges I DID actually make, it was met with a dirty look and a "we'll know either way." Yeah. You will. And you'll know that I didn't make those charges.

I will never stay here again nor will I recommend it. A nightmare from start to finish. If you want to stay at a place that values their nightclub over their hotel and hotel guests then stay here. Just don't expect to move around much in your room. Go to the London and book a one bedroom suite for $399 and actually stay in a place of luxury where the staff will do anything to please the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orangeskittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Orangeskittle,

Thank you for your review. We were trying to determine when and where your stay occurred but could not without a name – we would greatly appreciated if you reached out to us! In the meantime let me address your concerns.

Upfront I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Aside from some design issues it seems we rubbed you the wrong way on a number of occasions.

Our unique sinks have seen their share of criticism on Tripadvisor – I stopped defending it. As for the toilet flush button is behind the toilet on the wall because the tank is neatly tucked inside the wall as more and more common in modern baths.

I am sorry you were disappointed about the room size for the money. It seems your stay occurred during the highest occupancy weeks of the entire year and rates were generally very high in all of New York City. Our rates of course also fluctuate between 12 room types of various sizes up to our Presidential Suite.

Even on busy days your luggage should have been delivered promptly after check in. Certainly should you not have to make repeated phone calls. I apologize for the delay. Again I hope to hear back from you so I can determine when this service laps occurred.

As for the minibar charges – we have an automatic system and maybe the items were moved or somehow else the motion trigger was activated. This is not out of ill intent but rather the result of modern technology. We immediately removed the charges when the mistake became apparent.

I understand that the door policy of our extremely popular PHD club did upset you somewhat. We do indeed inform our guests about the door policy upon check in, not to be “pompous”, but to avoid later disappointment should access be denied. By allowing priority access to PHD before 9:30pm we can help some guests getting around the doormen experience, which is, as common as it is in NYC, not always appreciated. Also our late night lobby security tries really just to direct patrons as local visitors sometimes use the wrong elevators to get to our rooftop bar – we merely want to assist but it is not always appreciated. We will be more diplomatic!

Again - I would greatly appreciate if you contacted me directly at afischer@dreamdt.com to have an opportunity to personally discuss your stay with you.

With best regards

AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The lobby was lovely. We stayed here during the Christmas. The room is small. It's kind of a 'party hotel', which was noisy. Location was not great but ok. Clean and welcoming hotel overall. But will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elise317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Elise - I am glad you are finally catching up with your reviews!

Thank you for pointing out our fantastic lobby - this year's x-mas decoration will be even more spectacular (hin - the 9ft polar bear is getting company).

The hotel is still lifestyle oriented and our lounges are as popular as ever. That adds its own soundtrack but we certainly strive to be sensitive to our guests concern for a quite environment - at least in their guest rooms.

As for location - it’s usually seen as really convenient right between The Meatpacking District and Chelsea (Art galleries, unique shopping, the Highline & Hudson River, Chelsea Market, amazing restaurants etc.). Now - if Times Square and 5th Ave are more desirable - the subway is on our block and midtown only minutes away (2 tops).

Should we not see you again - we wish you again Happy Holidays! Best regards – AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My room was lovely -- large with excellent views of the city, nicely decorated. Great sense of style. The atmosphere was chic and fun, staff was very nice. I'm planning on staying there again soon! Great vibe for a fun weekend in the city. Also loved the location -- close to all the shops, restaurants, and clubs I wanted to go to!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate32070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

"Dotted" hotel in meatpacker district (first time I stay in the area).
Good room (30 sqm + approx. 10 sqm bathroom). Nice, clean and welcoming room and bath, but sink was clogged.
Excellent bed
Wonderful pool (you can swim above the reception) and good fitness area.
Other points on my check-list: iron, fast and good wireless internet, stuffed but expensive mini bar, a small work desk and big flat screen TV (I seldom se TV).
Check out the PHD bar on the roof.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leif Håvar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had the misfortune of staying at this hotel in september this year and to say I was disappointed would be a complete understatement. The staff were so RUDE! We would open the doors for the door men, the front desk staff were unaccommodating, pretentious and rude, management was no better. The only positive experience we had was one lovely lady at concierge. Apart from this it was really atrocious. I agree with the previous comment- our draws would not open, the rooms looked tired and old, the music was so loud at ridiculous hours (4am). Highly recommend against staying here... i definitely will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lexi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Lexi R,

We are really trying to figure out what happened back in September that earned us a “disgusting” headline. I hope you will give me an opportunity to discuss your stay as it is beyond me that out of all things the entire staff treated you rudely. Having a room exposed to one of our nightlife venues may be frustrating but should receive only an understanding and accommodating response from any of our staff. I will greatly appreciate if you emailed me at afischer@dreamdt.com to discuss what went wrong.

Thank you - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 469 in New York City
663 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#213 of 469 in New York City
1,836 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#156 of 469 in New York City
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#84 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#88 of 469 in New York City
2,342 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#187 of 469 in New York City
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $275 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing