We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #134 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Fun Hotel and Great Location! Walking distance to the Chelsea Market and great shopping. Roof top pool is a blast! The service from Bell Captain Vaughan Davis is amazing! Cannot say enough about him. He made our stay extra special and was so helpful! Dream is lucky to have him on board. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Lucky we are indeed. Thank you for the shout out! Regards - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,994 - 3,000 of 3,624 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

You can't stand with visiting NYC as a boring tourist ? This hotel will change your vision of the city !
In a few words:
Good location close to most of the bars and clubs in Meatpacking. Great and fashion place, cool and cosy rooms, Nice and young guests, the staff is also extremely kind .
Was a perfect staying there.
We really had a great time !! and we'll be back for sure !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Ruben - we thought that all agreed already that NYC is exiting - but we just brought it to another level! Thank you for your review! Please make sure you contact us directly when you come back to NYC. Best regards - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Dream Downtown is a great hotel if you want to hole up in a fun place with parties by night and a fun crowd by the pool by day. Don't take Children, Grandparents, nervous equines etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 959Hugod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nites in May and was pleasantly surprised that such a tendy and stylish hotel was also very comfortable. The rooftop bar is really lovely albeit overpriced but hey, you're paying for the view, right? Rooms are small but comfy. Great staff too. Loved staying on the west side of town...nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ababychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Martin A,

Carly and Nathalie are sending their regards. Thank you very much for keep coming back AND taking the time to share your love. We appreciate this very much and look forward to seeing you soon! With best regards AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I'm usually pretty conservative with my opinions. But Dream deserves a review way over of the ordinary.
I have spent over 35 nights at the Dream over the past 12 months. It is an active choice - and there are darn good reasons.

Although there is a large hotel, and has managed the feat to read their guest individual needs. Gym, Pool, Wifi access with no hassle, ability to print less fun corporate reports.

I have really appreciated Nathalies all efforts in her role as concierge. Strange mission to find rare Kabbalah bracelets, arrange a hair cut within two hours at Bumble & Bumble or organize a table at Momofuku the same day.

Carly is another favorite at the hotel which is also making great efforts to read how to get life to work in hotels without feeling like a boring business traveler. Here you will be a guest. If you understand the difference? So I can honestly recommend Dream for those who want to get that little extra out of their stay in NYC....It's actually okay rates for both private travelers and those who have a business card in his pocket.

/Martin
Stockholm, SWEDEN

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinSt0ckh0lm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Elizabeth E,

Thank you for your great review! We DEF hope to give you a warm welcome you back (minus the rain). Best regards AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I usually stay at the Standard in Meatpacking when I travel for work b/c it is close to my office and also a great place to get drinks before/after dinner. I decided to try the Dream this trip, and had SUCH a wonderful experience. The service was impeccable, from the doors being opened for me every time I entered or departed, the gentleman helping me get a taxi running down the street in the pouring RAIN to find one that would take me, to the absolutely wonderful and polite people at the front desk. While there is the expected 'scene' atmosphere, you can also get a good night sleep if you need it as I requested on an unfortunate Friday night when my flight was cancelled. Thank you, Dream Downtown, and I can't wait to bring my business with you again!

Room Tip: If you need a good sleep and are not into the club scene for your trip, go for the rooms on the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I travel a lot for business. NYC is a common destination for meetings. I have probably stayed in close to thirty different hotels in the city but Dream by far is my favorite. Their staff is amazing and very helpful. The rooms are really nice and cozy. The pool is great for relaxing. Then there is the roof top bar which is a great spot at night. I highly recommend this hotel if you are a 20-40 succesful something.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NealRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#153 of 469 in New York City
669 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#164 of 469 in New York City
2,905 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#222 of 469 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#188 of 469 in New York City
309 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#92 of 469 in New York City
2,364 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#80 of 469 in New York City
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $261 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing