We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #98 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cusco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Big rooms for New York standards (got the King room), professional and friendly staff, cool decor and crowd, excellent location and - to top it off - an excellent price to quality ratio... what else can you ask for?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusCUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,233
    692
    267
    121
    127
See reviews for
259
1,018
171
1,058
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I basically live in hotels for work, in everything from the Holiday Inn to the Four Seasons and everything in between. This hotel is one of the coolest i have ever stayed in. The decor, staff, location,vibe everything about it I loved. It also didn't hurt that it was fashion week and the place was packed with the most amazing looking women I have ever seen. And most importantly the bed was super comfortable and the room was quiet in the event that you actually wanted to sleep. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I travel to NYC from Boston 2x+ per month. I stumbled upon Dream Downtown last year rather randomly on a recommendation from a DJ who spins at a club downstairs from Dream. I dug the vibe and feel of the place. Then I met Vaughn Davis - whom I call the Captain of the Belles - because he helped me send my iPad's music throughout the room a few months ago. I had been back a number of times staying at other hotels when last week I was randomly in NYC, needed to spend a night, and drove right up to the door and asked for Vaughn. He took care of me. I spent another night. Now I am renting out some suites this year. I plan to make Dream Downtown my destination worldwide when I travel as the brand expands internationally. I also want to call out David Sparks, the night manager. I was a bit jet-lagged and had no desire to drop names. David Sparks went out of his way to be 100% cool, helpful, and awesome. I also enjoyed the service personality from Jen and Aito at the Front Desk. Finally, I think Safira is going to take off - and Stephanie, Amanda, and Anna are ready for the success coming there way. Thanks Dream! See you in 10 days!

Room Tip: Ask for Capitan Vaughn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joooddaaahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I travel to NYC quite a bit for work. Through my travels I've had the benefit of staying at some of NYC's top and trendiest hotels. I booked The Dream for the first time in Nov/2011. It's now my hotel of choice when I'm in NY. Everything about this hotel is like a dream come true. They've honestly thought of ever little detail with this place. From the doorman welcoming you and calling ahead to the front desk so they can get your check in started, and the resident dj spinning some of the most random mashups I've heard to the enormous polar bear that hangs out around Christmas time, the ambiance and decor makes you feel like your living in a dream. The rooms are stylist yet comfortable - and huge by NY standards. The service and staff are second to none. Everyone at the hotel is friendly and go above and beyond to ensure your stay is beyond your wildest dreams. And the food... whether your dinning in or heading down to Marble Land the food is absolutely fantastic. I've tried everything on the menu and would recommend any item (the lobster cobb and mac and cheese are particular favorites). But be sure not to fill up to much on the food, you'll want to head up to the rooftop for a cocktail or 2 at phd to finish off the night.

If you could dream it, this hotel is what it would look like. I would recommend The Dream Downtown to anyone visiting NYC with an appreciation for beautiful design, fantastic food and great service.

Room Tip: king rooms with a walkout to the pool are usually bigger in size. walkouts are definitely convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Super modern hotel, perfect location on Manhattan, quality and awesome food! Marble Lane is the best place to eat!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedebeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

best hotel I ever stayed in new york, the food is awesome, best location, near chelsea marketing, near union square, theres a apple around and marvelous restaurants. U can walk the night and meet wonderfull places. the Highline is near. I love the room, and the bed is the best i ever saw, they have a noise proof window, and the room is very charming. I can assure you going to love the Dream Downtown,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielRequiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed at the Dream on a spur of the moment trip with my girlfriends and it was just waht the doctor ordered. The upbeat vibe hugs you right as you enter the lobby and the design is easy on the eyes to say the least!

The porthole windows are fun, view form top lounge incredible and staff super helpful and attentive- VAUGHN DAVIS, the bell captain always pointed us in the right direction with fun places to eat, drink and shake our booties. Only drawback- we had so much fun we never made it back to spend much time in those amazing beds!

all in all just a "DREAM"ie experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlkchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing