We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy stay at the Dream Downtown”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #127 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our stay at the Dream Downtown was superior in every way. The staff couldn't have been more professional, anticipating every need with friendly courtesy. The room was beautiful, the bed awesome. Views from the rooftop lounge are outstanding. Be sure to make time for dinner at the Marble Lane restaurant in the lobby; possibly one of the best meals I've had in NY. The cocktails are absolutely outrageous!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,231 - 3,237 of 3,673 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel! The location is amazing, the room is super and has some neat technological features. The WiFi is free which is a very nice change for a hotel of this caliber. The bed is amazingly comfortable! The staff is accommodating and knowledgable. The overall design of the hotel (exterior, lobby, halls, rooms, etc.) is gorgeous.
The bathroom sink is interesting but odd and the lobby gets fairly loud in the evenings with a DJ spinning music. But overall such a great place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stopazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I travel to New York all the time for business, this trip was more of a hybrid mixture of business and pleasure. I came across the Dream Downtown and decided to try it out, the second I stepped out of my cab I was greeted by the doorman who instantly offered to to assist with my bags. The lobby area is certainly breathtaking, as I approached the reception area the gentlemen behind the desk Daniel greeted me by name very nice touch! I arrived around 5pm and my room wasn't ready he quickly apologized for the inconvenience and assured me the room would be ready in the next few minutes, he offered me a complimentary drink at the lobby bar while I waited which was also an amazing display of customer service. I waited in the garden area near the lobby within minutes the gentlemen approached me with my keys and directed me to my elevator bank. The entire stay was very pleasant the beds are amazingly soft and comfy the staff goes above and beyond for your every need I have already recommended this place to a few friends and I plan on being back within the upcoming months.

Also, if you eat at the steakhouse in the lobby try the sliders they're to die for also ask for a room in the south tower if you want a little more peace. The club upstairs is the place to be in New York, I encourage you to let the doorman know you are a hotel guest it seems to make it slightly easier to get it.

Room Tip: If you are in the north building ask for a mid level floor, if not stay in the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a great spot. Excellent service. Friendly and courteous staff. Rooftop bar is great and location is primo. Other than the rooms being a little small which is characteristic of NYC everything else about this place makes up for it! Especially helpful and friendly concierge and front desk. I have stayed here twice and have also stayed at Gansevoort and Standard.I believe this to be a better vlaue and I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Small rooms but very attentive & helpful staff.

Be Careful of the club doormen - it is a mediocre club but the doormen tried to extort $1600 from us for admission the second night we were there. Definitely not worth it. This was a very poor reflection on the hotel. We will definitely go elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRCOX1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Best hotel I've stayed at in the city! Beautiful and a fab location in Chelsea.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The staff is incredible. Hotel is chic and the lobby is always a great time to start off your night. With clubs upstairs and downstairs there is no need to leave the hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micahstjamesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#153 of 471 in New York City
2,962 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#139 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#210 of 471 in New York City
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#181 of 471 in New York City
388 reviews
Manhattan
Royalton Park Avenue
Royalton Park Avenue
#90 of 471 in New York City
2,395 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#74 of 471 in New York City
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $218 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing