We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning and very cool design! OMG the bed!”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #108 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning and very cool design! OMG the bed!”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I recently stayed and really enjoyed it. I had a very lovely dinner at the bar downstairs. My bartender was excellent .. great drink suggestion and conversation. The room was fantastic! Clean, great decor and the BED!!! OMG! I melted! It made it very very difficult to get up for my flight!!! I would definitely recommend this to co-workers and friends! ENJOY!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,249
    698
    272
    123
    129
See reviews for
264
1,027
174
1,069
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Had an Excellent!! at the Dream Hotel Downtown NYC... I had a very full and hectic business schedule while in NYC... non-stop really and it was great coming back to the hotel. The ambiance of the hotel is very calming and the calibre of the staff is very high. Nothing was an issue and nothing was missed ... means everything when I had no time for delay and was too tired to worry about where I was staying. Would reccomend this hotel without a doubt... Big thanks to all of the staff and Vaughn, Bell Captain. Regards, Phillip Roark.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a few of the rooms and all have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I had a wonderful experience. The was the concierge was the best I have ever had at any hotel...recommended several shows and helped me to get excellent tickets...very gracious. The restaurant has the top breakfast in NYC no question (blueberry pancakes to die for) with a tranquil atmosphere for the morning hour. The rooftop terrace bar is...well just amazing.

Room Tip: Arrange for a delux room facing the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thayer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed in the Dream Downtown over New Years and found that it is a fantastic hotel, offering urban beauty and a wonderful staff. The staff is friendly and welcoming making my stay at the Dream very accomidating. The room was clean and had a great metropolitan feel! The dining and nightlife surrounding the hotel are just a cherry on top making the Dream Downtown a great hotel to stay at! I would deffinately recommend staying here to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We staying for 2 nights and it was amazing - high tech room that was super clean and new feeling. We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived, and were impressed with the main floor lobby and bar area. The staff is super nice and trendy and you'll enjoy the overall vibe. We stay at many nice hotels around the world on a regular basis, and this place is top of our list for New York. Also, they have a very cool bar/club on the top floor that's you should check out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTrav1740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and could not believe how gorgeous this hotel was. The rooms were spacious compared to other hotels we have stayed in in NYC and the views were amazing. The rooms were clean and the service was great! We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

had a great stay there and really enjoyed the warm atmosphere. the bar at the rooftop is fabulous and you do not find that many outdoor pools including a real beach in downtown like they have. try the steak in the restaurant! room management system is great and perfect to use and the design of the bathrooms is unique.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north have an amzaing view on the empire state building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#87 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing