We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So hip it hurts... your wallet”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #127 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Look, I know that it's fashion week. I know it's New York City (I grew up here), but the sheer amount of uncontrolled jerks and phony artsy snobs in ironic hats and Forever 21 tight dresses muscling up to the hotel bar was overwhelming. Here's the bigger problem: The hotel has a club on the roof... THAT ISN'T AFFILIATED WITH THE HOTEL. So, as a sub-contract, they don't have to answer to the hotel, the hotel's staff, or treat the guests with any modicum of respect... even at $500/night. I call B.S. I was invited by the promoter to go up to the "club" and it was... a 2000 square foot bar with soft lighting and bottle service. Got to admit, the DJ was decent, but the scene? Ridiculous. Everyone trying so hard. Next issue? The TINY rooms. Mine had oily hand prints on barely reachable parts of the bathroom. Ugh. Plus the water stains on the "gun metal" sink and toilet. Disgusting. I felt like I walked into a love hotel in Tokyo. Did I mention that it was $500/night?! My company was paying, but it's still insulting. The front desk did leave a Coppola split of Merlot and a note...nice touch. So points for that, but that's the only category they nailed. Finally... the NY Jets Offensive lineman they employ to "clean" the rooms...at 8am. I called the front desk to ask if there were renovations happening. Apparently their housekeeping likes to throw around the Ikea furniture... but refuse to actually clean the rooms. This happened both mornings BTW. So, if you're desperate to fit in with the not so "in" crowd and don't mind sleeping in an overpriced closet and don't care about getting sleep... this is the place for you! Dream? Ha. More like a nightmare.

Room Tip: Here's a tip - don't stay here. Check out the COOPER SQUARE HOTEL. Awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RealityCheck310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamdowntown, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear RealityCheck310,

I am terribly sorry that we didn’t live up to your expectations and we appreciate you taking the time to describe some of the ways in which we didn’t. We can and we will do better. With regards to the rooftop lounge, I can assure you that it operates in conjunction with the hotel and has a door policy that is similar to many popular lounges in the area. Marble Lane, Dream Beach and Romera do not have door policy and are always available for hotel guests.

Warm regards,
Michael Lindenbaum
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,366 - 3,372 of 3,681 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

Where do I begin?

After having stayed at possibly one of the worst hotels ever (which shall remain nameless.. for now, since I am still waiting to hear back from management after sending them an email documenting the horrendous stay), I used QuikBook to book the rest of my stay in NY at the Dream Downtown.

Upon arriving at the hotel, my boyfriend and I were kindly greeted by the bellman who took my luggage (the former hotel didn't even attempt to carry any of my luggage). I could already sense that this hotel was exponentially better. Between walking through the entrance to the front desk, EVERY single employee greeted me. Besides the fact that the front desk was insanely gorgeous.. every one of them.. the concierge informed me that I had been upgraded. That was beyond (although probably nothing special.. it was nice, anyway!). Excuse me for my "Rachel-Zoe-Vocabulary", I am a California girl. I digress. Because the other hotel had so many issues with the room keys (like not working at all), I was immediately impressed by the fact that the Dream Downtown's room keys worked effortlessly. Once in the room, I had to take a minute. My boyfriend and I were blown away... it was like a scene from Survivor where one team has just won lobster for their whole tribe after eating rice for the past month. We were astonished by the beautiful, future-esque decor. The bed was incredibly lush, I'd never slept so well. The chain shower curtain was unlike anything I've seen before, such a sexy touch! Love. The food from The Beach and Marble Restaurant were unreal and impeccable. I even called Room Service for something that wasn't on the menu, and they insisted on making it happen for me (UNREAL.) This hotel doesn't know the word "NO". I will without a doubt be staying at this hotel from now on. Do yourself a favor people, BOOK now!

Room Tip: They have engineers on staff 24/7... so if something doesn't work, one will show up at your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My boys and i had a beautiful time in New York. We really loved Dream Downtown we had a comfortable stay and the food was delicious. Everyone who worked at the hotel was very nice and knowledgeable. i had a great time in the swimming pool and i really enjoyed the bar. Thank you Dream Downtown for a marvelous time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amatulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I was traveling with my friend so it was a girls trip for fun outings, trendy restaurants, good food, tennis and night life. We found this hotel fit our life style very well. The staff is amazing, very friendly and welcoming. The lobby is inviting, with silver couches, interesting interior design and amazing scent in the air.

The rooms were a bit too small, even for two people. They did not provide an iron or an ironing board, once brought to our room, it seemed to take a huge chunk of our small real estate. The bathroom was "party-like" with silver toilets, faucets, sinks etc. And if you don't cleaning staff to disturb you in the morning, you can just push a button on the control box.

I definitely like the location of the hotel, close to all the entertainment. I liked the customer service and interior design.

I did not like the fact that I forgot to turn the "do not disturb" button off and we never had our room cleaned :(( which was extremely disappointing. Apparently, we were also supposed to have a room orientation, which never happened.

Other than that, 5 stars and will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anyacalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Cute hotel, lovely hotel bar, pool was wonderful, but very noisy room. Doors in the hallway have no springs and literally slammed closed all night long. Changed rooms and the same thing, slamming doors all freaking night long. Five nights of zero sleep. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Just fantastic since we came at the reception!
The hotel is brand new and has a fabulous outdoor pool.
Every employee is carful, helpful and really nice.
All the food is great, cocktails are fantastic.
The interior design is outstanding so it was a really cool place to stay for me as a designer.
The location is the best for you if you are looking for the best restaurants and bars.
Really wish to thank management of this hotel - they made my trip!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel is very hip and modern. We found the staff super friendly and nice. Room service and service was prompt and friendly. Only complaint was the room was a little noisy. Our room was on 11th floor, right under the 12th floor nightclub. We did call desk and they brought us some ear plugs which helped. The next day there was a nice bottle of wine with a hand~written apology for our troubles. A nice touch.
Just a note~ maybe request a lower room if you plan on not partying..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#152 of 471 in New York City
2,965 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#144 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#212 of 471 in New York City
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#184 of 471 in New York City
391 reviews
Manhattan
Royalton Park Avenue
Royalton Park Avenue
#94 of 471 in New York City
2,395 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#80 of 471 in New York City
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $220 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing